Cubase Artist 9.5 can't record at all

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
Beertroll
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:13 pm
Contact:

Cubase Artist 9.5 can't record at all

Post by Beertroll »

My Cubase has worked almost perfectly for the last year, but lately I ran into a problem. The metronome doesn't work, recorded midi doesn't play properly (plays only the first note weirdly, and after that goes silent), and I can't record audio at all because of audio error saying "too many tracks recording", even though I'm just recording one track. Also, whenever I open a project, the audio doesn't play at all.

I have checked all the connections, which are fine, because I've used the same settings for a long time now and I haven't changed them. What could be the problem?

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25262
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Artist 9.5 can't record at all

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

Try to increase your Audio Device Buffer Size, please.

If you are on Windows, could you test your system by using LatencyMon utility, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Beertroll
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Artist 9.5 can't record at all

Post by Beertroll »

Hey, thanks for answer but it didn't work. I recorded a video of the problem:

https://youtu.be/e2dIBQnDeKg

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25262
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Artist 9.5 can't record at all

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

What kind of instrument do you use, please?

Did you have any other Cubase installed? Are there multiple Cubase preferences folders here:
Cubase Preferences folders are:
Mac: ~/Library/Preferences/Cubase X
Win: %appData% Steinberg/Cubase X_64

If yes, could you try to move all these Cubase X folders to the desktop, start Cubase after and try it out again, please?

Could you try to reinstall Cubase, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Beertroll
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:13 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Artist 9.5 can't record at all

Post by Beertroll »

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Mon Oct 19, 2020 6:31 pm
Hi,

What kind of instrument do you use, please?

Did you have any other Cubase installed? Are there multiple Cubase preferences folders here:
Cubase Preferences folders are:
Mac: ~/Library/Preferences/Cubase X
Win: %appData% Steinberg/Cubase X_64

If yes, could you try to move all these Cubase X folders to the desktop, start Cubase after and try it out again, please?

Could you try to reinstall Cubase, please?
I don't think it's about the instruments or folders, I have had these settings for a year and there hasn't been any problem. I'm thinking of reinstalling Cubase though

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25262
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Artist 9.5 can't record at all

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi,

It might help too.

But the complete preferences trash might fix it too.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests