Missing MIDI output after Instrument track disabled/enabled

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
xonix
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2018 2:02 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Missing MIDI output after Instrument track disabled/enabled

Post by xonix » Mon Feb 11, 2019 8:23 pm

I am having an issue where MIDI tracks have a missing output when the corresponding instrument track they are being sent to is disabled and enabled.

1. Create an empty project
2. Add an instrument track and load a VSTi ( I have tested this with both EW Play 64-bit and Kontakt 5 64-bit )
3. Load patches into the VSTi (say 4 EW Play string articulations)
4. Create 4 MIDI tracks
5. Set the channel of each MIDI track to correspond with the 4 patches loaded (i.e. 1, 2, 3, 4)
6. Add a second instrument track and load a second instance of EW Play
7. Disable the first instance of Play.
8. Enable the first instance of Play.
==> In the mix window the MIDI tracks will say 'Missing:01 Play'

Just to note that if there is only a single instance of Play or Kontakt and you disable/enable that instrument track, the MIDI tracks 'find' their routing to the VSTi patches with no problem. The problem occurs when there is more than one instance of the same VSTi then the MIDI routing is 'lost'.

Cubase Pro 9.5.41 - Build 287 - Oct24 2018

Windows 10, 64-bit
Intel i7 5930K
32GB RAM
NVIDIA GTX 1080
Kontakt 5 v5.8.1
EW Play v6.0.2

Kind regards,
Dale
Cubase 9.5 Pro
Dorico Pro 2
Windows 10 Pro, i7 5930K, 32GB RAM, NVIDIA GTX 1080

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 16984
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing MIDI output after Instrument track disabled/enabled

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:27 am

Hi,

If the 2nd Instrument is not involved, then it works as expected. But I can confirm your description.

Reported to Steinberg CAN-21034.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Nicos Kev
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 15, 2019 10:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing MIDI output after Instrument track disabled/enabled

Post by Nicos Kev » Wed May 15, 2019 10:37 pm

Hello
I have the same exact same Issue here and I'm in cubase pro 10.0.20 Build 187
Impossible for every midi track associated with an Instrument track to recover their output after disabling/enabling the related instrument track.
I was so happy to built a bigmockup and then saving memory by disabling every temporary not needed instruments Butwith taht issue... I'm so disapointed... :cry: :cry:

Running A Mac OS Sierra MacPro 10.12.6
2 x 2,93 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon

Thanks for having reported it in Cubase 9.5, Should I also report it for the v10 ?

Best
Nicolas

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 16984
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Missing MIDI output after Instrument track disabled/enabled

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu May 16, 2019 11:12 am

Hi,

Yes, this has not been fixed.

The issue is present only if you use multiple instances of one VSTi in the project. So for example if you use HALion 6 two-times in the project. If only one instance of the VSTi is present, then it works as expected.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests