Yamaha 01v Remote Device with Cubase 9 Pro

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
terminalbliss
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Feb 02, 2013 12:24 am
Contact:

Yamaha 01v Remote Device with Cubase 9 Pro

Post by terminalbliss »

I can't get my Yamaha 01v to work as a remote device with Cubase 9 Pro. I did this in a previous version. I'm on the correct "REMOTE" page of the mixer, when I go into Cubase - Device Setup I select the + Icon under remote devices and select the Yamaha 01v. I select the midi in and out, and it is gray with no options below the Midi In and Output.

If I try to set-up the Generic Remote and select the midi channels for the 01v, still no luck. Does anyone have this working?

Is it just a feature that went away for the 01v with the upgrades for Cubase, or is there same template to import to make it work?


Thanks for any help and advice in advance.

User avatar
IanForrest
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha 01v Remote Device with Cubase 9 Pro

Post by IanForrest »

Hi, I have an 01v96i and its working fine for me. I am pretty sure there is a pdf that explains getting the 01v to work with cubase.
you do need to setup a number of things on the 01v. so the remote target should be set to cubase. Daw should be set to USB 1 & 2,
studio manager (which doesnt work) should be set to usb 3.
thats about it.
I can probably email you my yammy setup file if you are still having trouble.
I use the user defined keys as remote control for cubase.

Regards
Ian
Cubase 9.0.2.0, Yamaha 01v96i, AI controller, NordWave, Korg M1, crappy novation launchkey 49. Various old stuff.
Windows 10 64bit. Cubase User since V3? on atari ST1040.

El Professor
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:58 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha 01v Remote Device with Cubase 9 Pro

Post by El Professor »

I know this is an old post, but I have an 01V (not 96) and would like to use it as a control surface if possible with Cubase 10.5
Are you still doing that with your setup?
You mentioned a pdf, I'd love to get that link to that file if possible on how to setup both Cubase and Yamaha 01v.
LG
Hi, I have an 01v96i and its working fine for me. I am pretty sure there is a pdf that explains getting the 01v to work with cubase.
you do need to setup a number of things on the 01v. so the remote target should be set to cubase. Daw should be set to USB 1 & 2,
studio manager (which doesnt work) should be set to usb 3.
thats about it.
I can probably email you my yammy setup file if you are still having trouble.
I use the user defined keys as remote control for cubase.

Regards
Ian
*Software:
Cubase 10.5 using Mac OS 10.13.6 (High Sierra)
Dorico 3.5 using Mac OS 10.13.6 (High Sierra)

*Computer Hardware:
2017 iMacPro 2.5 GHz Intel Xeon W 14 cores, 128 Gb RAM, Radeon Pro Vega 64 16GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13.
2008 MacPro 2.8 GHz 8 cores w/High Sierra 10.13.6 + El Capitan 10.11.6
+52 gigs RAM + dual monitors ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB card)

MIDI & Audio DAW gear, partial listing:
PreSonus 2626 Thunderbolt 3 audio I/O (8 mic pres)
MOTU 424 PCI with MOTU 2408 audio interfaces (Mark II and Mark III)
Motu Midi Timepieces (USB and networked 2nd one)
M-Audio Axiom 49 under KK Audio Studio Desk
Kurtweil K2000 on side wing of desk, along with a ...
Yamaha S90 - 88 key weighted keyboard

* Laptop and portables
2011 MacBook Pro 17" OS X 10.11.6 (El Capitan)
ProSonus AudioBox USB interface
*Mac iPadPro 9.7" with Cubasis

- Hope to learn and be experimenting with Lemur and other touch controller sofware

st10ss
Member
Posts: 677
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:04 pm
Location: Nuremberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Yamaha 01v Remote Device with Cubase 9 Pro

Post by st10ss »

does the 01V have an USB port? i don't think so
and it has no remote control layer

the only way to get it working would be a MIDI setup
but this is not a real remote control
Steffen
DAW: Nuendo, Cubase, Wavelab
Plugins: Fabfilter, UAD, Eventide, Waves, Voxengo, SIR, Native Instruments
Desks: A&H dLive (Live Sound), A&H QU16 (Live Sound), Yamaha DM1000(Home Studio)
i5 6400, 16GB RAM, Win10Pro 2004

El Professor
Junior Member
Posts: 135
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:58 am
Contact:

Re: Yamaha 01v Remote Device with Cubase 9 Pro

Post by El Professor »

Yes, it would be via MIDI. I found the doc on Steinberg support pages at their website.

Under the pdf called: Remote Control Devices
Yamaha 01V

The Yamaha 01V can remote control your application.
Before you can initiate remote control operation, the 01V must be set up in the following way:

• MIDI Parameter Change and Receive must be enabled.

• MIDI Control Change and Receive must be disabled.

• Device ID/MIDI Channel Receive must be set to“1”.

• Loca lControl should be set to“Off”.


As soon as Local Control is set to “Off”, remote control is enabled.

The 01V remote operation of your application is very straightforward, with (almost) every parameter having the equivalent parameter controller in the 01V mixer.
The current status of all controllable parameters is fed back to the 01V and indicated on the panel, using the motorized faders, indicators, etc.
(for this to work, you need a two-way MIDI connection between the 01V and the program).

To facilitate 32 channel remote control, two separate con- trol “Layouts” are used, each controlling 16 mixer channels.
The “Memory” button on the 01V is used to switch between VST layout 1 and 2.
Page 1 displays VST Layout 1, and page 2 VST Layout 2.

The following parameters are remote controllable for channels 1–32 in the mixer:

! The value ranges for the parameters in the 01V may not match the ranges for the corresponding parameters in all cases.


• Fader level, mute and pan.

01V controls for these parameters control the equivalent program parameters.

• Effect sends1–6.

01V Aux 1–4 control effect send 1–4, 01V effect 1 and 2 control effect send 5 and 6.

• EQ Frequency, Gain and Q (4bands).

01V controls for these parameters control the equivalent program pa- rameters.

• Stereo Master Volume.
The 01V control for this parameter controls the equivalent program pa- rameter.

• Send effects master volume 1–4 are controlled by 01V Aux Master 1–4.
Send effects master 5 and 6 are con- trolled by 01V effect master 1 and 2.

With Layout 1 the 01V controls the following channels:

• Channel 1–12,13/14 and 15/16 will control channels 1–14.

• 01V Return1 and 2 will control channels 15 and 16. With Layout 2 the 01V controls the following channels:

• Channel 1–12, 13/14 and 15/16 will control channels 17–30.

• 01V Return 1 and 2 will control channels 31 and 32.
*Software:
Cubase 10.5 using Mac OS 10.13.6 (High Sierra)
Dorico 3.5 using Mac OS 10.13.6 (High Sierra)

*Computer Hardware:
2017 iMacPro 2.5 GHz Intel Xeon W 14 cores, 128 Gb RAM, Radeon Pro Vega 64 16GB RAM, High Sierra 10.13.
2008 MacPro 2.8 GHz 8 cores w/High Sierra 10.13.6 + El Capitan 10.11.6
+52 gigs RAM + dual monitors ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB card)

MIDI & Audio DAW gear, partial listing:
PreSonus 2626 Thunderbolt 3 audio I/O (8 mic pres)
MOTU 424 PCI with MOTU 2408 audio interfaces (Mark II and Mark III)
Motu Midi Timepieces (USB and networked 2nd one)
M-Audio Axiom 49 under KK Audio Studio Desk
Kurtweil K2000 on side wing of desk, along with a ...
Yamaha S90 - 88 key weighted keyboard

* Laptop and portables
2011 MacBook Pro 17" OS X 10.11.6 (El Capitan)
ProSonus AudioBox USB interface
*Mac iPadPro 9.7" with Cubasis

- Hope to learn and be experimenting with Lemur and other touch controller sofware

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests