DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Geppastro
Member
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Geppastro »

Thanks Steve, and sorry you're right, just found that on the online help but you arrived first! THAT'S great!!!
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 16 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 10 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10.5 v10.5.20 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

Geppastro
Member
Posts: 253
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Geppastro »

Did I say great? no: GREAT!!!
Paolo (Cubase user since 1995 -> Cubase Audio on Atari Falcon)
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 16 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 10 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 10.5 v10.5.20 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.50 (64 bit).

User avatar
skillet
Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Mon May 19, 2014 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by skillet »

macOS 10.14.6 | Mac Pro (Late 2013) | Processor: 3.5 Ghz 6-Core Intel Xeon E5 | Memory: 32 GB 1866 Mhz DDR3 ECC

Cubase 10.5.20 | Nuendo 10.2 | WaveLab Pro 10 | Pro Tools 20.3 | Logic 10.4.8

Audio Interface: Steinberg UR44 | MIDI Interface:MOTU MIDI Timepiece AV; MIDIMan 1x1 | MIDI Keyboard: Alesis QS8.2; Kork Nano Key | Control Surface: MCU (Mackie Control Universal); Korg Nano Kontrol; PreSonus FaderPort; Shuttle Pro 2; CC 121; FD Fader Controller; Softube Console 1

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3969
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Prock »

I guess we didn't have to wait for H... to freeze over for this one (seemed like it though :lol: ). This is a great improvement.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth »

Metronome programmability is great. But Cubase *still* doesn't understand the beat value is 1/4D in compound time sigs.
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.6 | Cubase 10.0.10 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by -steve- »

StrangeDaysOnEarth wrote:
Sat Mar 17, 2018 12:55 pm
Metronome programmability is great. But Cubase *still* doesn't understand the beat value is 1/4D in compound time sigs.
It does. Did you turn on Use Metronome Click Pattern for grid line? https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... rns_c.html

What were you expecting that's not happening?

(edit: Whether one considers the 4th beat in 12/8 as the 9th 8th note, or 4th dotted 1/4 is a matter of perspective. And Cubase does still see it as beat 9. But that is what what it is, no?)
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth »

No it doesn't. It's not about the grid. It's about the metronome *tempo* relating to 1/4D representing the beat in a compound time signature. Cubase still uses 1/4 as beat value for tempo calculation, regardless of how the grid is set.
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.6 | Cubase 10.0.10 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by -steve- »

That's true. The tempo is shown as relating to the quarter note in the transport. As a workaround you can use the Score Editor to calc the tempo based on other values.
Attachments
sig.gif
(257.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth »

Thanks Steve, I do multiply by 2/3. But Cubase should just deal with it really. Studio One, for example, deals with it correctly. It might seem minor but in my view music theory should be core to any DAW. It's taken this long to get a workable metronome, nine versions (more with the .5's)! But hey, I'm happy we finally got that!
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.6 | Cubase 10.0.10 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by -steve- »

StrangeDaysOnEarth wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:12 am
Thanks Steve, I do multiply by 2/3. But Cubase should just deal with it really. Studio One, for example, deals with it correctly. It might seem minor but in my view music theory should be core to any DAW. It's taken this long to get a workable metronome, nine versions (more with the .5's)! But hey, I'm happy we finally got that!
How does Studio One do it, exactly, can you explain, or do you happen to know of an article or video that demonstrates? I had a look at the time sig and metronome sections in their docs and don't see any mention of automatically showing compound time sigs' tempo differently. And if it's automatic, how do they supply the option to "turn it off" for when 6/8, 9/8, and 12/8 are not meant as compound sigs.

That said, a nice feature in Cubendo would be that the little quarter note icon in the transport be transformed into a pop-up menu wherein one could choose any note value upon which to compute the tempo.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
StrangeDaysOnEarth
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 9:36 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by StrangeDaysOnEarth »

Hi Steve, Studio One simply calculates the tempo off the dotted crotchet when using a compound time signature. Not sure about 'turning it off'. It would be very uncommon for 6/8 or 12/8 to be hybrid, more so the 9/8. Like you say, the best solution is to have the option. Options are always good. But music theory default says it's compound and beat = 1/4D.
website: www.strangedays.earth
soundcloud: www.soundcloud.com/strangedaysonearth
facebook: www.facebook.com/strangedaysonearth
itunes: www.itunes.apple.com/strangedaysonearth

| iMac 5K 27" 4.2GHz i7, 24GB RAM, 1TB SSD | LaCie RAID |
| Mac OSX.13.6 | Cubase 10.0.10 | Wavelab Pro 9.0.3 | Halion 5.1.1 |
| CMC-TP | CMC-QC | Steinberg UR22 | RME FF400 | MOTU Midi Express 128 |

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1891
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: DONE! User defined beat: Grid,Compound time,odd meter,Click

Post by Stephen57 »

-steve- wrote:
Thu Apr 19, 2018 3:46 pm

That said, a nice feature in Cubendo would be that the little quarter note icon in the transport be transformed into a pop-up menu wherein one could choose any note value upon which to compute the tempo.
That would be amazing.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest