Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply

CC Automation Lanes to appear directly over the audio and midi tracks, like in Pro Tools?

Yes
16
64%
No
6
24%
It doesn't matter
3
12%
 
Total votes: 25

Thurisaz
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by Thurisaz » Sun Nov 19, 2017 3:39 pm

Steinberg team, please bring us this way of editing automation! :-) It would save so much space on the Timeline, especially if we have multiple automation lanes on a single track... Take an example from Pro Tools. Pro Tools has the best way to edit The clip/event Volume data in the various places over the event without need of slicing them just to change the volume.
Greetings and success! :-)

Image




jaredf
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by jaredf » Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:44 pm

oh please no. I hate this in the daws that have it.
-Jared

X99 5820
32gb Ram
RME Babyface Pro
Neumann KH310s

compositor
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by compositor » Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:07 pm

jaredf wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:44 pm
oh please no. I hate this in the daws that have it.
Knowing SB, they will implement it as a choice.

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by Starsprinkler » Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:49 pm

Make it optional in that case.
Last edited by Starsprinkler on Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Thurisaz
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by Thurisaz » Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:36 pm

Of course this option has to be as choice, like it is in Pro Tools. There is Hide/Show button for the Volume on the left-down corner of the clip/event. In the track menu is included drop-down list to choose which CC data to appear over the clip/event. There are automation lanes which appear below the track, if you prefer to use them. I use both ways. :-)
jaredf wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:44 pm
oh please no. I hate this in the daws that have it.
Jared, it's obvious that you don't have an experience with Pro Tools and this way of editing clip/event Volume and CC Data, otherwise you would never say that. ;-) Spend some more time with PT and you would find how this makes the workflow faster and the life easier.
I challenge you to make a try to edit vocal to sound good in Cubase, and do the same in Pro Tools. ;-) You will do it much faster, better and more precise in PT... keep in mind that you would need to edit manually almost every single wave form in the clip/event... ;-)
Greetings :-)

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3417
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by Prock » Tue Nov 21, 2017 1:44 am

Yes... if optional.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

jaredf
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 11:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by jaredf » Tue Nov 21, 2017 2:29 am

Thurisaz wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:36 pm
Of course this option has to be as choice, like it is in Pro Tools. There is Hide/Show button for the Volume on the left-down corner of the clip/event. In the track menu is included drop-down list to choose which CC data to appear over the clip/event. There are automation lanes which appear below the track, if you prefer to use them. I use both ways. :-)
jaredf wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:44 pm
oh please no. I hate this in the daws that have it.
Jared, it's obvious that you don't have an experience with Pro Tools and this way of editing clip/event Volume and CC Data, otherwise you would never say that. ;-) Spend some more time with PT and you would find how this makes the workflow faster and the life easier.
I challenge you to make a try to edit vocal to sound good in Cubase, and do the same in Pro Tools. ;-) You will do it much faster, better and more precise in PT... keep in mind that you would need to edit manually almost every single wave form in the clip/event... ;-)
Greetings :-)
Actually I do, and I hated this. I also hate how studio one does this.
-Jared

X99 5820
32gb Ram
RME Babyface Pro
Neumann KH310s

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 222
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by Starsprinkler » Thu Nov 23, 2017 6:32 am

Thurisaz wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:36 pm
Of course this option has to be as choice, like it is in Pro Tools. There is Hide/Show button for the Volume on the left-down corner of the clip/event. In the track menu is included drop-down list to choose which CC data to appear over the clip/event. There are automation lanes which appear below the track, if you prefer to use them. I use both ways. :-)
Ok, sounds good, then go for it.
There are some requests I think should have higher priority, but anyway:
+1 8-)

Thurisaz
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by Thurisaz » Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:53 am

Starsprinkler, it's the best way to edit Volume data. It's normal the line for clip/event volume to be in the middle of the track, when it's in 0.0dB and to have option to hide it when you don't need it. In Cubase it's on the top of the event and if you decide to lower the volume level the line cannot be hidden when the mouse is over the track, if you need to make the event louder the line is useless. Another bad thing is that you have to slice the track if you need to edit the volume in some parts of the track. In Pro Tools you don't need to slice in order to make clip/event volume automation.
Well the main idea behind Pro Tools is to be audio recording, editing, mixing and mastering DAW, and it's much better than Cubase in this part, while Cubase is much more advanced for working with virtual instruments. :-)

User avatar
liljefelt
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by liljefelt » Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:08 pm

As an option: +1
Forcing it: -1
Cubase Pro v9.5.10 | RME HDSP9632 AIO | Win 10 (1703) | Strictly x64.

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1580
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by mozizo » Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:35 pm

+1 as an option
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro


JBF
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 12:26 am
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by JBF » Thu Dec 28, 2017 11:56 am

As an option: +1
Forcing it: -1
Win8.1/64bit / Core i7-3930K 6*3,20 GHz /GA-X79-UP4/4*16 gb/AMD Radeon HD 6670 > Cubase 9.0.4 Pro

Evertone
Member
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by Evertone » Thu Dec 28, 2017 6:31 pm

+1 as option
Cubase Pro 10
iMac i7 - High Sierra 10.13.6 - 16gb

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1223
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Dec 29, 2017 3:10 am

+1, without a single doubt. It's another highly useful/speed-enhancing thing I miss from my PT days. And make it optional for those that don't want it, just like it's optional in PT. Cubase is a click-fest compared to most other DAWs I've used or tried, and also wastes space where it doesn't need to -- and this is one of quite a few ways speed, visual efficiency and workflow could be very usefully improved (and of course as an option, not to be used if one doesn't want to for whatever reason).
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Thurisaz
Junior Member
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Mar 16, 2014 1:43 am
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by Thurisaz » Tue Jan 02, 2018 9:47 pm

I use Pro Tools as primary DAW for mixing and sound editing because it provides faster and more comfortable workflow... Cubase is my primary for composing and arranging.
I hope Steinberg guys will take this in mind :-)


-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8503
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by -steve- » Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:51 pm

Quick question- Do those who are plus-one-ing know about the Automation pref, "Show Data on Track"?
Image
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
HP Spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.13

sonic74
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by sonic74 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 10:57 pm

-steve- wrote:
Sun Dec 16, 2018 5:51 pm
Quick question- Do those who are plus-one-ing know about the Automation pref, "Show Data on Track"?
Image
This doesn't show the automation on the main track, you still have to see another track. Am I missing something? The main idea is to have less space invaded by automation.
Back to good old Cubase 9.5 / intel 5960x @ 4GHz / asus x99 deluxe / 64gb ddr4 @ 3000MHz / vst connect pro / vsl ensemble pro 5 / korg nanokontrol2 / spl 2control / behringer bcf-2000 / lynx aes-16e / lynx aurora 16vt / uad quad / neumann kh310 / genelec 8050a / too many plugins

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8503
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by -steve- » Wed Dec 19, 2018 11:20 pm

I'm asking a question, nothing else.
Cubase Pro, Nuendo, and Dorico Pro; latest versions
Windows Pro 10 | i7-3770k | GA-77x-UD5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid
HP Spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb
Macbook Pro 2011 | Mac OS 10.13

sonic74
Member
Posts: 318
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2013 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Poll about the CC Automation lanes to appear over the audio and midi tracks when editing in the Timeline

Post by sonic74 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 11:46 pm

Ok, I thought this was the solution.
Back to good old Cubase 9.5 / intel 5960x @ 4GHz / asus x99 deluxe / 64gb ddr4 @ 3000MHz / vst connect pro / vsl ensemble pro 5 / korg nanokontrol2 / spl 2control / behringer bcf-2000 / lynx aes-16e / lynx aurora 16vt / uad quad / neumann kh310 / genelec 8050a / too many plugins

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests