Page 1 of 2

Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 7:53 pm
by suntower
If you have multiple CPRs open and you close one, the next one automatically activates.

MADDENING!

When I have several CPRs open at once and I close one I OFTEN may want to choose to open ANOTHER CPR that is NOT from among the ones I currently have open.

So I have to wait for Cubase to load up the next underlying CPR.... which in my case may take several minutes. I say again...

MADDENING!

This is the kind of teeny, tiny change that -should- be attended to in a .0x release.

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 11:03 pm
by dmbaer
What, you don't trust Cubase to know *exactly* which CPR you want to work on next?

Seriously, there's no justification in any sane world for this design decision. If one uses heavy-duty Kontakt instrumentation, load times can be excruciating. Please fix this immediately, Steinberg,

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Posted: Thu May 18, 2017 11:09 pm
by suntower
Sadly, I was fired right before the mind-reading beta cycle back in 2005. :D

---JC

dmbaer wrote:What, you don't trust Cubase to know *exactly* which CPR you want to work on next?

Seriously, there's no justification in any sane world for this design decision. If one uses heavy-duty Kontakt instrumentation, load times can be excruciating. Please fix this immediately, Steinberg,

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 2:41 am
by Prock
My annual +1 for this ;)

Regards 8-)

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Posted: Fri May 19, 2017 3:07 am
by suntower
And what REALLY makes me APOPLECTIC? I'm about 100% sure it would take the dev 5 minutes to implement this feature. I mean what's to do.

if ( pref )
load_project() // current code behaviour
else
// do_nothing

... I mean... WHAT'S TO DO?

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Posted: Sat May 20, 2017 12:52 am
by Stephen57
+1

It would be more helpful to have a preference option to 1) do nothing and let me select which project to make active, 2) activate the last opened project. I agree. Not activating the previously active project would be a better default.

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Posted: Sun May 21, 2017 12:07 pm
by Svengali
+1

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Posted: Sun May 21, 2017 5:15 pm
by Evertone
+1
This would be nice!

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Pro

Posted: Mon May 22, 2017 12:10 am
by profezeus
Absolutely +1

Such an option would be really convenient.
I lost a lot of time because of this.

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:18 pm
by RichardTownsend
+1

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 7:29 pm
by alexis
+1

I think the workaround is to never close a project, just keep opening new ones? I can't imagine that ends well during long sessions, however ...

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:19 am
by djw
+1

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 5:33 pm
by mozizo
+1

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2017 10:56 pm
by In_Stereo
+1

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 1:05 am
by DTS Recording Studio
+1

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Sat Jul 29, 2017 7:07 am
by peakae
+1

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 3:55 am
by Outspan
+1

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Sun Aug 06, 2017 2:09 pm
by dbh
+1 drives me nuts too..

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:17 pm
by john charles
+1

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 6:39 pm
by grossecoulisse
+1 2019

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 4:32 pm
by mitchiemasha
This is the single most annoying thing that makes me want to die every time it happens. People complain about accidentally clicking the loop on and off but it's nothing compared to closing a project and forgetting you had another one loaded or even worse, it reverts to the 1 you didn't want. The sense of dread, the NOOO! as you await the load bar you had no desire to finish.

PLEASE STEINBERG REMOVE THE AUTO ACTIVATION OF UNDERLYING PROJECT.

Make it do nothing... we can then simply click the activation or x, of what ever we require.

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 7:16 pm
by suntower
The -really- frustrating thing?

There is a backlog of about 50 requests like this... requests that a decent developer could knock out in a couple of days... that go untouched for TEN YEARS.

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:52 pm
by profezeus
Just want to quote a post I've written in another thread (hope it helps somehow):

"Yes, this is annoying but I use a workaround for this.
I always start Cubase/Nuendo with a blank project than open all other loaded projects that I’m actually working on. Whenever I close any project, I don't need to think about which will be activated next, the blank project gets activated automatically in a second, then I can choose which other loaded project I want to activate.
It always defaults to the first blank project.
This can save you a lot of time."

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 2:31 am
by mitchiemasha
What about if multiple have been opened? Does it always revert to the first empty project? I can't see me doing it but that's genius.

Re: Annual Request: Do NOT Activate Project When Closing Project

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:50 pm
by profezeus
Yes, it always reverts to the first empty project. It does not matter how many projects are open at the same time.