Lua Midi Insert Effect

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
User avatar
InLightTone
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 3:39 am
Contact:

Lua Midi Insert Effect

Post by InLightTone » Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:21 am

Please consider embedding the Lua scripting language for creating midi generating processors based on Halion 6 as a Midi Insert plugin. Let the user be able to create a GUI similar to what can be done in Halion 6.

The code is already written, just need to strip out the parts that are not applicable. Would greatly enhance Cubase as users create their own midi plugins...

dmbaer
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Lua Midi Insert Effect

Post by dmbaer » Mon Feb 20, 2017 12:27 am

An inspired idea!

+1 for sure.
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 4-core hyper-threaded; 8M RAM; Dual hard drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 7 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 7.5 64-bit (and SONAR X2 64-bit)
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used

bendy303
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2017 4:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Lua Midi Insert Effect

Post by bendy303 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 1:27 pm

+1 yes I have wanted this for ages. The logical editor does not allow variables. Lua script would be brilliant.

dmbaer
Member
Posts: 308
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Lua Midi Insert Effect

Post by dmbaer » Sun Nov 04, 2018 8:45 pm

+1 definitely.
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 4-core hyper-threaded; 8M RAM; Dual hard drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 7 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 7.5 64-bit (and SONAR X2 64-bit)
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2098
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Lua Midi Insert Effect

Post by HowlingUlf » Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:23 am

+1 yeah!
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

tepa
Junior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Lua Midi Insert Effect

Post by tepa » Wed Nov 07, 2018 10:03 pm

Many Cubendo midi plug-in haven't been improved with new features for very long time, since SX version :))
I really hope to see something going on in the midi (plugin/routing/mapping-macro) area.

+1
Nuendo 8 (last version) / Cubase 9 / Win Pro 10 / i7-4770 3.4Ghz / Ram 16G DDR3 / RME UFX / RME FF800 / PowerCore / UAD 2 (1 Octo & 1 Quad) / SSD / nVIDIA

Larioso
Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Lua Midi Insert Effect

Post by Larioso » Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:11 am

+1

My last hope getting this in Cubase was Plug'n Script by BlueCatAudio, but they were not interested, 2015, making a VST-MA version, or what it's called the architecture Cubase use.

I talked to Waves why they don't make midi plugins as well, as their audio based - no go it seems so far.

Not sure if Transformer generate Lua script then, and run - from that dialog?
I've used such wizards for communcation programs that worked like that - generating a script they later run.

Even a host in Cubase, like Transformer - but with VST slots to insert the widely spread VST midi plugins - like Insert Piz stuff.
Windows 7 Pro - Intel i7-860 2.8GHz 16 GB - Cubase Pro 9.5 latest - RME HDSP 9632 + AI4S + Audient ASP 800 - Nvidia GT730

User avatar
InLightTone
Junior Member
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 3:39 am
Contact:

Re: Lua Midi Insert Effect

Post by InLightTone » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:05 am

Logic is using JavaScript, that would do as well. Thanks for digging this up guys!

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest