To Be Released Q1 2019 - Please add ARA integration

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
john charles
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2013 1:32 am
Location: Paris
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by john charles » Tue Oct 02, 2018 4:59 pm

austinhaynesmusic wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 5:26 am
Well, Ara 2 is implemented in Logic now and here is an example of Melodyne working with Logic: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wEOKXFBLS0

This really needs to happen with Cubase. Steinberg, please add this into Cubase 10. This can't be neglected and needs to be implemented to show that Cubase is just if not more capable than the other DAWs. Cubase has great features but ignoring ARA 2 would be a big mistake IMO.
Steinberg it's 2018, please wake up. I'm seriously considering not upgrading to Cubase 10 if ARA isn't included in it.

Scrummy
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 8:39 pm
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by Scrummy » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:24 pm

Long time Cubase user (SX2 I believe, and worked in a studio that used VST32 back in the day), as well as a long time Melodyne Studio user. ARA integration just makes sense, and being that most other DAW's are supporting it, it would be somewhat foolish to think it won't affect sales on the next version. Like HowlingULF said, I'm not going anywhere (at least not yet), but I also am just one user... Just do it, and thanks in advance....
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Intel Hexacore I7 based custom built DAW (by me) with 16gb RAM. RME Raydat interface.

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by Weasel » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:52 am

Besides Cubase 9.5, I have a copy of Logic Pro X. Cubase has been my primary DAW for over 20 years. A couple of days ago, Apple upgraded Logic and today I received an email from Celemony announcing the upgrade for Melodyne...specifically bullet-pointing ARA 2 as the centerpiece of the upgrade. Installation took seconds. Launched Logic and tested.

Using Melodyne in Cubase has always been a PITA....as it was in Logic...up until this afternoon.

What a joy to edit polyphonically in Melodyne and not have to leave the interface to run the transport....or wait around for a transfer or comping live. Trust me....it’s a huge improvement in workflow.

Seriously, Steinberg.....put it in C10. It’s a win win because it will advance the standard and more developers will take advantage of it and you’ll maintain or increase your market share. In business, the best idea wins.
DualQuadCore 2.66 MacPro/32gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.5 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by mroekalea » Wed Oct 03, 2018 7:46 am

Worst case is the "S.I.L.E.N.C.E.", in some cases it has power Steiny!
But in this case you are just showing ARROGANCE!

Quit that and join our Cubase community ;-) and work with us!
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2097
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by HowlingUlf » Wed Oct 03, 2018 8:18 am

I don't remember exactly since I don't have ProTools but not so few years ago there were some features that just about all major DAWs had at the time, except ProTools. Some people scoffed at them saying "how can you even use ProTools?". Eventually, Digidesign/Avid came around and fixed it but the conventional wisdom was for some time that ProTools didn't have support for this and that. Just an example but you know ...

Don't let ARA be such a ball and chain. Be pragmatic about it and everybody will love you except the trolls.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

tarbey
New Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 10:11 am
Contact:

ARA Audio Random Access

Post by tarbey » Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:24 pm

ARA Audio Random Access for use with Melodyne

Arnesaks
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:58 am
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by Arnesaks » Thu Oct 04, 2018 7:09 pm

+1 for ARA2!

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3227
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: ARA Audio Random Access

Post by raino » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:09 pm

tarbey wrote:
Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:24 pm
ARA Audio Random Access for use with Melodyne
If you'd have just taken a moment & glanced at the TOP posts in this forum you have seen there are already 2 threads asking for this. They are up to 10 pages long by now.

This new thread adds exactly what to the request...? ;)
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.10, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 665
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by Winter Rat » Sat Oct 06, 2018 1:19 pm

Yes guys, today your choice is not big: either you implement ARA or make VariAudio as cool as Melodyne is AND introduce all the features that Revoice offers.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2097
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by HowlingUlf » Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:51 am

Winter Rat wrote:
Sat Oct 06, 2018 1:19 pm
Yes guys, today your choice is not big: either you implement ARA or make VariAudio as cool as Melodyne is AND introduce all the features that Revoice offers.
Yeah, either way ...

... wait??? what's Revoice? Did I miss something??? :shock:
Yes, I did but now I've googled and youtubed it and apparently Revoice Pro 4 is out and it's ... ARA2 compatible!
Let's say two more "spectacular audio products" are released and adopt the ARA standard.
And that's the direction the future is going.
Jump aboard or be left in the dust.
Steinberg could even create a standalone Variaudio compatible with ARA and sell.
We're not talking Melodyne and Revoice here, it's ARA as a standard that is here now and works.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Audio_Random_Access

... so I take "either way" back and say skip the proprietary format, conform to the standard, make Variaudio ARA and hit the ground running.

Do it and be done with it.

Then I woke up ...
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

BatteryPack
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 13, 2015 3:31 pm
Location: Central IL
Contact:

Re: ARA Audio Random Access

Post by BatteryPack » Wed Oct 10, 2018 8:30 am

I'd argue that the more these requests are made, regardless if it's a 'duplicate request', the more in your face it has to be for Steinberg if they search topics and threads for what users are requesting the most.
  • Cubase 9.5.2 Pro
    Absolute 3 VST Collection
    Panorama P4
    ATH-M50x
    Live 9.7.6
    Push 2
    Windows 10
    i7 6700HQ
    32GB DDR4 Ram
    256GB SSD
    500GB SSD SAMPLE DRIVE
    GTX 970m 3GB


Quinn3k3
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by Quinn3k3 » Wed Oct 10, 2018 11:02 pm

Hi BatteryPack,

I would argue Raino's point that posting to an existing thread is better than creating a new one.

Having one one thread per subject, when possible, is easier for the developers to follow and gauge interest. If you have a thread with 30 posts it looks better than 3 different threads with 10 posts each. Finally, posting to an existing thread, moves it back to the top of the forum and make it easier for the others to find and add their own feedback.

Who wants the thread with 80 posts in it to fall on to the 3rd, 4th or 5th page of the forum and have a new thread asking for the exact same thing on the 1st page containing only 1 or 2 posts?

User avatar
MovingWaves
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 10:39 am
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by MovingWaves » Sun Oct 14, 2018 6:58 am

Add my request for ARA integration.
Plus 1
DAW
W10 64Bit-Cubase 10
Intel Core i7 4770K @ 3.50GHz - 32 Gig Ram - 2x238GB ATA OCZHDD's -2048MB DELL U3415W on NVIDIA Quadro K2000
Interface AD/DA
MOTU 828es - (Retired:- Focusrite Saffire PRO 40 - Focusrite OctoPre MkII Dynamic)
Monitoring
Mackie HR624 Studio Monitors
Opal Event Studio Monitors

austinhaynesmusic
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:33 pm
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by austinhaynesmusic » Sun Oct 14, 2018 7:17 am

john charles wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 4:59 pm
austinhaynesmusic wrote:
Tue Oct 02, 2018 5:26 am
Well, Ara 2 is implemented in Logic now and here is an example of Melodyne working with Logic: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wEOKXFBLS0

This really needs to happen with Cubase. Steinberg, please add this into Cubase 10. This can't be neglected and needs to be implemented to show that Cubase is just if not more capable than the other DAWs. Cubase has great features but ignoring ARA 2 would be a big mistake IMO.
Steinberg it's 2018, please wake up. I'm seriously considering not upgrading to Cubase 10 if ARA isn't included in it.
I'm with you John. If ARA 2 is not in Cubase 10, I may not upgrade....it would be very disappointing. My gut tells me Steinberg will have ARA 2 when Cubase 10 is released because Steinberg usually is ahead of the curve and the fact that most major DAWs have it now, would make Steinberg look well behind the times and at worse kind of ignorant of what users actually want. Variaudio that comes with Cubase is nice and all but for Steinberg to ignore ARA 2 because they have a decent pitch correction would be a mistake. Melodyne is simply more capable and useable but it isn't free so for people that can't afford melodyne, variaudio can be good. Both options can exist....It would be like Steinberg having Virtual Instruments but not allowing 3rd party support because they don't want their existing virtual instruments to not be used...

I also recall earlier in this thread that someone spoke to Steinberg at a convention and they were told that Steinberg is well aware of ARA 2 so it has to be coming...

User avatar
studioton
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:45 pm
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by studioton » Wed Oct 17, 2018 10:05 pm

if you (steinberg) ignore ARA2 in the coming Cubase 10. I will not update.. and I am ready to changed DAW !

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2076
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by marQs » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:41 pm

I posted it a while ago: a Steinberg employee told me face to face that ARA implementation is on the table. If I understood his words right, it will definately get its way into Cubase, the question remaining was 'when?'. Really have high hopes for seeing it in Cubase 10.
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo/Quad | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

BLOODMOON
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 5:17 pm
Location: South Korea
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by BLOODMOON » Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:06 pm

Please don't let me use another DAW to edit vocal files anymore.
Intel i7 6700 / 64GB RAM / Windows 10 / Cubase 10 Pro / Focusrite Forte
http://bloodmoon.co.kr

Qqmystyle
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by Qqmystyle » Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:44 pm

+1

Vas314
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 5:40 pm
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by Vas314 » Tue Oct 23, 2018 12:54 am

I upgraded to Cubase 9.5 and will wait for V10 to activate.
Did this because Cubase 10 will include ARA!
I am testing the power of positive thinking. :)
Cubase 7.5, Sonar Platinum, S1 3, Reaper 5 - Windows 10 - 64bit, GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 2, Xeon 3690, 12GB RAM, Focusrite 2i4, iPad Air as Midi Controller, 23" 10-touch monitor, ExpressionMate, Waves Gold, Komplete 11

composingkeys
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 2:56 am
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by composingkeys » Wed Oct 24, 2018 2:39 am

+1

User avatar
HowlingUlf
Senior Member
Posts: 2097
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:58 pm
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by HowlingUlf » Wed Oct 24, 2018 10:06 am

If it's planned for in C10.5 maybe some kind of hint or half announcement when C10 is released would pour oil on troubled waters :?:
Gothenburg, Sweden
Steinberg Cubase Pro 9.5.30 | Steinberg WaveLab 9.5 | Steinberg Absolute 2 |
Win10 63.5 Pro | ASUS ATX Z170-P | Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake | 32GB RAM |
Nektar Panorama P6 | | Steinberg Midex8 | Steinberg UR824 |

skank
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2011 11:54 am
Contact:

Re: Please add ARA integration

Post by skank » Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:05 am

PeppaPig wrote:
Wed Dec 14, 2016 10:18 pm
Even it you made ARA support a bolt-on and charged a fee to cover the license - fine - I'd happily pay it. That means the people that don'twant/need ARA would see a price increase to cover it.
I can only presume that with the profits Steinberg already make and the comparatively negligible costs of licensing ARA that there isn't a real fiscal reason for yet further price hikes.

But yes I think I get the gist of ARA being such a highly desirable feature now.
This is not what you think it is./

nenerdsl
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 7:24 pm
Location: Barcelona, SPAIN
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by nenerdsl » Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:29 am

+1 for ARA. Not only for Melodyne but Revoice Pro
Cubase 9.5, Universal Audio Apollo 8, UAD-2 Octo Core
MacBook Pro 15" (2013) Intel Core I7 2.7 GHz, 16Gb 1600 MHz DDR3, SSD 256Gb (OSX 10.12.6)

AtariST
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2018 9:38 am
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by AtariST » Sat Nov 03, 2018 8:30 pm

+1 (!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)

currentsound
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Tue Aug 07, 2012 11:16 am
Contact:

Re: [Merged] Please add ARA integration

Post by currentsound » Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:53 pm

Well now that it's in Logic, it's more of an incentive for Steinberg to put it into Cubase. I think Steinberg will put ARA into Cubase because they need to stay competitive. I care more about Auto Tune working with ARA in Cubase than Melodyne though. Apparently the new version of Auto Tune works in Studio One with ARA which I only just found out by googling it.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest