E Dongle and installation questions

Interested in Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 or Cubase Elements 9? Having questions regarding the update or upgrade to the latest version? Please post here!
GMcT

E Dongle and installation questions

Post by GMcT » Fri Dec 01, 2017 4:20 pm

Hello again,
I'm sorry if I appear to be stupid, but spending around €800 on new software means that I want to be certain of what I'm getting for my money.
I have downloaded the 1000 page plus pdf manual, which I am currently studying.

I may be eligible for a crossgrade licence as a current Sonar Platinum user, but I am not allowed to download Cubase Pro 9.5 from their shop.
I am apparently only allowed to buy a boxed version.
This contains a dongle and a voucher to download the software.
Can't I download Cubase directly after paying for it and also the file(s) required for the license to my own USB stick to create the dongle?
This will save time.
I haven't been able to identify the level of proof required for the crossgrade license, do Steinberg require my Sonar installation card form the boxed version I purchased?
I wish Cubase was somewhat easier to understand in terms of purchase and licensing. I did look at it before buying Sonar in 2015, but I was put off by the lack of information and support (most of the support staff were occupied elsewhere at the time).
Thank you in advance for any help offered.

jaslan

Re: E Dongle and installation questions

Post by jaslan » Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:04 am

I can't answer about the crossgrade but for the dongle, you need a USB eLicenser. It is not just a USB stick, it is a specific product. That is why you must get it in the box.
HTH
J.L.
Cubase Pro 9.0.30. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 3.6.5. and Jamstix 4.0. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

-steve-
External Moderator

Post by -steve- » Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:14 am