Pre-purchase advice please

Interested in Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 or Cubase Elements 9? Having questions regarding the update or upgrade to the latest version? Please post here!
GMcT

Pre-purchase advice please

Post by GMcT » Fri Dec 01, 2017 2:16 pm

Hello everybody,
I am a midi composer who does not record any instruments, I compose my music entirely in a midi/piano roll environment.
I am currently using Sonar Platinum, which I have had for just over two years and have never been satisfied with. Prior to that, I used FL Studio 8.
I find Sonar's copy/paste bug infuriating, but, although FL Studio has a great editor, it did not have the sounds I wanted. Sonar came with a better suite of instruments.

I am seriously considering a move to Cubase Artist 9.5 and I would greatly appreciate some input and advice from current users.

I require a very good grand piano, an acoustic drum kit, bass guitar, electric and acoustic guitar and a synthesizer (Sytrus/Dimension Pro).
I am increasingly moving towards orchestral arrangements and Vienna instruments seems like a very suitable product for me.

Would Cubase Artist 9.5 come with the basic instruments which I require and does Vienna Instruments work within that environment as a plug-in?
Additionally, how do you find the midi/piano roll editor in Cubase to be?
FL Studio makes pitch shifting notes very easy and intuitive, whereas in Sonar, it was basically unusable (drawn in a separate window using a numeric value), resulting in my being unable to portamento any notes.
Is changing the pitch of a note straightforward in Cubase?

Any advice and recommendations that you can give me will be very gratefully received.
Thank you in advance.

Martin.Jirsak
Grand Master

Re: Pre-purchase advice please

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:40 pm

Hi,

There is a Sunday library in Cubase. Of course, you cannot compare with VSL.

Yes, your can use VSL as VST3 plug-in.