Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Interested in Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 or Cubase Elements 9? Having questions regarding the update or upgrade to the latest version? Please post here!
thirdfocus
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:19 pm
Contact:

Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by thirdfocus » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:58 pm

So i spent around £500 a month back for cubase pro 9 Which is A lot for me to spend on, and don't make any money from music as it's a hobby (though i really am falling in love with cubase with all it features and how stable it is compared to other newer daws). People who brought Pro 9 should get 9.5 for free its crazy to think i have to spend another £50 just for some features in update. we should only pay if its Pro 10..

svennilenni
Senior Member
Posts: 1639
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by svennilenni » Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:44 pm

thirdfocus wrote:
Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:58 pm
So i spent around £500 a month back for cubase pro 9 Which is A lot for me to spend on, and don't make any money from music as it's a hobby (though i really am falling in love with cubase with all it features and how stable it is compared to other newer daws). People who brought Pro 9 should get 9.5 for free its crazy to think i have to spend another £50 just for some features in update. we should only pay if its Pro 10..
Because that's the way Steinberg handle their business. But the really good thing is: You don' t have to pay for 9.5 - No one forces you. If you don' t want to, use 9 and update directly to 10, when it comes out, You're not gainig or losing anything though, since the price will probably be the same, no matter if you go directly from 9.0 to 10 or buy 9.5 inbetween.
If you activated 9.0 after Oct. 18 th, you're eligible for the grace period anyway, if not, it's just bad luck.

Martin.Jirsak
Grand Master
Posts: 9914
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:45 pm

Hi,

I would say the naming (or numbering) doesn't matter.

You pay for a new features. In the maintenance updates (9.0.10, 9.0.20, 9.0.30), there are not new features, and they are for free.

Once a year Steinberg releases a new version with new features (X.5 or X+1), what is payed update.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)

Tech-dance
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by Tech-dance » Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:26 am

To the OP - it's quite simple, if you don't pay, this is what happens i.e. see the home page http://www.cakewalk.com/

cameron206
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:47 am
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by cameron206 » Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:56 am

Yep... you don't have to pay for the upgrade. Just stay with v9.

If you are recording as a hobby... almost certainly v9 will totally do everything you could possibly want for a very long time. When you find yourself running into it's limitations- then maybe check out the current version, see if it can make your life better.
i5 2500k / win10 / CubasePro9 / WavelabElements9 / iconQconPro

Martin.Jirsak
Grand Master
Posts: 9914
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Dec 01, 2017 7:13 am

Tech-dance wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:26 am
To the OP - it's quite simple, if you don't pay, this is what happens i.e. see the home page http://www.cakewalk.com/
+1
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)

Tech-dance
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by Tech-dance » Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:03 am

cameron206 wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:56 am
Yep... you don't have to pay for the upgrade. Just stay with v9.

If you are recording as a hobby... almost certainly v9 will totally do everything you could possibly want for a very long time. When you find yourself running into it's limitations- then maybe check out the current version, see if it can make your life better.
You could try out the 9.5 demo and decide if it is for you.

Martin.Jirsak
Grand Master
Posts: 9914
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:11 am

Cubase Trial here.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)

User avatar
Hattrixx
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2011 10:06 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by Hattrixx » Fri Dec 01, 2017 10:32 am

thirdfocus wrote:
Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:58 pm
Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?
You don't.
So i spent around £500 a month back for cubase pro 9 Which is A lot for me to spend on,
...and you still have Cubase Pro 9. It hasn't stopped working. The value of your transaction hasn't changed one iota.
and don't make any money from music as it's a hobby
Your circumstances, your choice.
(though i really am falling in love with cubase with all it features and how stable it is compared to other newer daws).
Then you don't need the update unless you're after additional functionality (additional functionality that no doubt took many thousands of man hours – not to mention years of deep, specialised expertise – to produce. Nobody owes you that additional functionality, the information on Cubase Pro 9 was readily available, and very clear when you purchased it.
People who brought Pro 9 should get 9.5 for free its crazy to think i have to spend another £50 just for some features in update. we should only pay if its Pro 10..
In a lot of people's opinions, the jump from 9 to 9.5 was bigger/better than the jump from 8.5 to 9. I can understand that some people may get confused by Steinberg's numbering scheme, but really..... this is a major version with its own box, own manual, own installation, NOT just a patch. If they'd called it 10 would you be happy to pay ~£50 for this exact same update?

doktari
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:49 am
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by doktari » Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:09 am

They should give releases like 9.5 away free, since it's basically a beta with all the bugs...then make you pay for the more stable, less issues version!
Windows 7/64
Cubase 8/32

User avatar
-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 6508
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by -steve- » Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:19 am

doktari wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:09 am
They should give releases like 9.5 away free, since it's basically a beta with all the bugs...then make you pay for the more stable, less issues version!
Totally agree. and everybody should give back their salary for the week if they make any mistakes at work. And if your computer crashes during a recording take you should give the session free to the client.

Yeah, sounds about right! ;) :P
Cubase Pro 9.5 | Windows Pro 10, GA-77x-UD5H | UR44 | MOTU Ultralite mk3 hybrid

zooterman
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by zooterman » Sat Dec 02, 2017 4:22 am

You have to pay because of the amount of work that presumably the folks at Steinberg put in to this release. Just like everyone else, they are within their rights to get compensated for that work.
Cubase Pro 9 (latest increment) | Mac Pro 6-core 3.5GHz 32GB RAM | macOS | Metric Halo LIO-8 Interface/Converter

blinkofani
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:58 am
Location: Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by blinkofani » Sat Dec 02, 2017 5:28 am

Tech-dance wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 1:26 am
To the OP - it's quite simple, if you don't pay, this is what happens i.e. see the home page http://www.cakewalk.com/
Reply of the year!!!

Blink
13” Macbook Pro, Apple TB display, macOS10.12.6, Cubase Elements 9.5.10, UA Apollo Twin Duo, UAD Satellite Quad, Genelec 8040a, Komplete 8, Omnisphere, Korg Legacy Collections, Retrologue 2, Waves Studio Classic Collection & Dave Clarke EMP. Korg Z1ex, Gibson LP Classic, Fender Telecaster.

cubace
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 6:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by cubace » Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:10 am

Would you go to your job if you did not get paid?

thirdfocus
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by thirdfocus » Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:32 am

Updates are suppose to be free.. Do we have to pay when ever a game gets a update? No... it's not worth £50 just for some added features, when it's a overall update like next version up yes worth upgrading. Look at ableton, look at bitwig etc do they make users pay for a quick update ? No... im throwing my money at the screen basically, like if someone buys cubase now they get the 9.5 without spending £550 but spending £499 which i recently brought cubase i call it bull****. So if i upgraded to 10 i have to pay for a 10.5 update?!? Last time i checked ableton and what not are doing well for themselfs without people paying for a update lol

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Junior Member
Posts: 153
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by Denis van der Velde » Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:35 am

I have taken this subject a few times and i agree all 9.xx updates should be free, that is market conform and you don't have this supprice spending like money on C9pro, Halion6, Groove Agent and WL9. C9.5 was out in a few months and WL9.5 was also out in a few months after i bought the stuff or full steinberg prices. Like the about 4 weeks update free limit, it is kinda harsh to pay for updates within a few months that i bought it in the shops. But hey it seems to be the system of steinberg to do so, i was suppriced such a big company still has payed updates within the version.... Even if they would make the Grace Period like 6 months or 1 year, that would a great help. But V9.xx versions within the manin version, should be free update.
Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

thirdfocus
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by thirdfocus » Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:44 am

Denis van der Velde wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:35 am
I have taken this subject a few times and i agree all 9.xx updates should be free, that is market conform and you don't have this supprice spending like money on C9pro, Halion6, Groove Agent and WL9. C9.5 was out in a few months and WL9.5 was also out in a few months after i bought the stuff or full steinberg prices. Like the about 4 weeks update free limit, it is kinda harsh to pay for updates within a few months that i bought it in the shops. But hey it seems to be the system of steinberg to do so, i was suppriced such a big company still has payed updates within the version.... Even if they would make the Grace Period like 6 months or 1 year, that would a great help. But V9.xx versions within the manin version, should be free update.
100% i Agree with you. I spent Full Price of cubase pro 9 which was £499, a month later they decide to have a update to 9.5 which we should get it for free as people who buy cubase now; is exact same price £499 and get the 9.5 version without paying £549. Game updates , or any other daw updates don't make users pay for updates..

Martin.Jirsak
Grand Master
Posts: 9914
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:51 am

If Steinberg would change the naming strategy and name this same version Cubase 10 instead of Cubase 9.5, would you be happy? Would you pay? It's just a name. You should have a look inside, what really changed. The are new features, so Steinberg decided this is a paid upgrade.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by planarchist » Sat Dec 02, 2017 1:40 pm

If Steinberg has previously given free .5 upgrades then there might be some merit in this argument but they haven't.

Even the tiniest bit of research (I find a thing called the internet quite useful) would have shown any prospective buyer that Steinberg have a paid update at the end of every year regardless of whether they call it a whole new number or a ".5". To buy a version of software at this price level without checking how old it was and when the next update was expected beggars belief to me.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1591
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by djw » Sat Dec 02, 2017 2:38 pm

Because work went into it, and that's how they can get paid for it.
🥕
Specs: Latest versions of Cubase Pro, Dorico, WaveLab Pro, Windows 10, AMD Phenom II 1100T, 8GB RAM, AMD R9 390, YS CI1

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by Winter Rat » Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:40 pm

Because life is pain.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1, Intel Core i7-4770, Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H, 16 GB, GeForce GTX 1050.

User avatar
shanabit
Member
Posts: 407
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by shanabit » Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:46 pm

Honestly, I wish the whiners would simply switch to REAPER as its only $60 and lots of FREE updates.

This is how Steinberg does their business. I have paid for EVERY UPDATE here since SX1 yet you never hear me moaning about it do you?? Nope, you know why? It is my DAW of CHOICE here.
Last edited by shanabit on Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 9.5.10/OSX 10.13.2 High Sierra
MacPro 2010, 14GB Ram, 2x 2.4Ghz Quad Core
Steinberg MR816X Tools ( Current)

User avatar
flon_klar
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2014 5:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by flon_klar » Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:28 pm

I would call any Cubase X.0 or X.5 an "upGRADE" instead of an "upDATE." With the upGRADE, new features are introduced, and therefore you pay the price. An upDATE is simply bringing the current model up to date, with fixes to problems discovered in between upgrades, problems in features that you already paid for. Just remember in the future that X.0s and X.5s are going to cost you. And as others have said, if you very recently purchased your 9.0, you should be within the grace period.
Win 10 Home 64-bit, i5-4460 3.20GHz, 16GB RAM, ASROCK H97 Anniversary MoBo
GeForce GTX 750 Ti
Program Drive: Samsung 850 EVO 500GB, File Drive: (2) Samsung SSD 850 EVO 500 and 250GB
Cubase Pro 9 (but I still use mostly 8.5 because it works better), Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Miroslav Philharmonik 2
E-mu PK-6
UR22 Interface, KRK Rokit5 Monitors

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2243
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by raino » Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:39 pm

Also you don't really pay more in total by buying the .5 upgrade since that cost is subtracted from the next .0 upgrade.

9.0 to 10.0 will cost you exactly the same as 9.0 to 9.5 + 9.5 to 10.0.

I'm a bit sympathetic with folks who buy Cubase just before the grace period starts for a new version. :( But that's also just the nature of having a grace period - there will always be one day where you get the new version free but the day before you don't. While folks who are experienced with the release cycle understand this, the newcomers are more likely to mis-time their initial purchase. And while we've come to expect upgrades to occur around early December there is no guarantee that will occur in the future.

FYI
Updates are free
Upgrades cost
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Romantique Tp
Senior Member
Posts: 1624
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Why do i have i have to pay for a update!?

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:06 pm

shanabit wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:46 pm
Honestly, I wish the whiners would simply switch to REAPER as its only $60 and lots of FREE updates.
I agree, whiners should switch to a DAW with a horrible default UI and workflow, and is nothing like Cubase to suffer for a bit.
;)

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Locked

Return to “Presales”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests