Handling of frozen tracks is simply not good enough

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Handling of frozen tracks is simply not good enough

Post by EmmCeeSq » Mon Apr 29, 2019 1:07 pm

Cubase cannot do any of the following things, am I correct?

1. Move a frozen part/event within a project (I mean, why? It's just recorded audio???)
2. Mute a frozen part/event within a project (this one also absolutely baffles me)
3. Split or join a frozen part/event (this follows from the first two)
4. Freeze/unfreeze tracks simultaneously.

Have any of these additions been made in C10?

Thanks for the info

Mike
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17278
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Handling of frozen tracks is simply not good enough

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:24 am

Hi,

All of these would need to unfreeze and re-freeze the the track again.

Frozen track means there is an audio file, which is played back in the background, instead of the original event.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Handling of frozen tracks is simply not good enough

Post by EmmCeeSq » Tue Apr 30, 2019 8:43 am

Thank you, I understand the freezing process. But, given that you've said yourself, it's nothing more than rending the midi performance to an audio file, I have no idea why these audio events cannot even then be moved, or at the very least, muted.
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17278
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Handling of frozen tracks is simply not good enough

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:22 am

Hi,

That would mean, the frozen file would need to be rendered again and again (in the background), once you make any (mentioned) change in your project. I'm afraid, that would be quite CPU expensive.

If you have an experience with the new Direct Offline Process, you get an idea.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Handling of frozen tracks is simply not good enough

Post by EmmCeeSq » Tue Apr 30, 2019 11:10 am

I do, although Ableton handles this really easily (It's one of the reasons I use two DAWs - although Cubase's MIDI editing is still streets ahead of Abletons). But simply muting an event? I'm baffled as to why that requires any processing at all? And yes, I could obviously just change the mute state on the track, but it's so much easier to simply toggle the mute state of an event. Anyway, none of the above can be done (which I wanted to check on), so thanks for the info/taking the time to reply.
Cheers
Mike
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17278
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Handling of frozen tracks is simply not good enough

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Apr 30, 2019 12:05 pm

Hi,

Just one note to the Mute event. This would works as simple as you mentioned, if you would Mute the only one event in the Track. But, if you have multiple events in the Track, then it's not so easy. In this case the frozen Wav file is one Wav file for the whole track. Moreover it's not the whole track. If you have enough space in-between the MIDI Parts, the silence is not rendered. Then in the Wav file, there are specific markers, which says, where should Cubase start to playback this file again. In this case, to Mute one of multiple events is already some kind of process (or you could emulate an automation event, but then you have think of all following consequences).

As I said, it's doable, but from my point of view, it would also bring some cons.

Maybe you can Render In Place instead of Freeze. Would this fit to your workflow better?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Handling of frozen tracks is simply not good enough

Post by EmmCeeSq » Tue Apr 30, 2019 1:15 pm

Yeah, render in place is ok - it just creates a second track, which adds to the visual clutter, especially when working on a larger project. The beauty of the freeze function is that it's one press (although freezing multiple tracks is still a big miss for me), no duplication, and helps keep everything clear.

Anyway, thanks for your thoughts and explanations, most kind.

Cheers

Mike
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests