Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
drmq
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 02, 2014 3:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by drmq » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:38 am

JSchilhabel wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:39 pm
Hi everyone,
is it ok to install the Cubase 9.5.40 from 9.5.0 or is it neccesary to install all the other updates in between before?
Yes it is ok to install the last one directly!

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by nordlead26 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:56 am

jcbfoos wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:13 am
Installed update from 9.5.3 to 9.5.4. Exported a bunch of wave files as 32-bit (same as previous settings) imported them into Live and they showed up as if they were DC coupled (not sure this is the correct term) and would not play. See screen shot.Screen Shot 2018-10-16 at 4.15.18 PM.png

Exported the same files from another computer with 9.5.3 installed and it worked fine.


Gonna roll back to 9.5.3. Ugh...
is strange, but this should be Ableton Issue...
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by HarrySound » Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:03 pm

Extremely weary of applying this update. 9.5.3 refused to open my old projects. I think Cubase is getting like Mac OS (just don’t bother...you’ll regret it)

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by nordlead26 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:21 pm

it was supposed to be fixed the issue loading chain? ....

ok Still not working....
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17690
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update crashing on-record (uninstalled)

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:26 pm

woodgrain816 wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:29 pm
9.5.40 starts going through this phase where it crashes every time I hit Record. It's been doing it for the last 2 days off and on since I installed it. I would reboot the computer and it'll last a couple hours and start crashing on-record again. I can't figure out what exactly is causing it. I've tried different keys, record from midi-transport buttons, record while stopped, record while playing... no correlation.

The only thing I can say is it's the same type of crash it does when you're recording (in re-record mode) and resizing an audio take (while holding down the left mouse button) and hit the record button (on a transport button) which prompts a re-record. That always seems to make my sessions crash in a similar way.

You might be wondering why I'm resizing audio and re-recording audio at the same time. It's because I have a CMC-TP (transport buttons) in the vocal booth so my clients can hit the record button and redo takes until they get one they want to keep. If I'm resizing one of their takes and the client decides to re-record their take, Cubase crashes. I didn't submit this glitch because it doesn't do it with new empty sessions with 1 audio track. It might have something to do with bigger sessions or using lots of VST plug-ins.

Solution:
Went to classic Control Panel\Programs\Programs and Features\Installed Updates\Cubase 9.5.40 Update (on Win10) and uninstalled. I'm back running 9.5.3 just fine.
Hi,

Could you please share the dump file located in Documents/Steinberg/crash dumps?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17690
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update crashing on-record (uninstalled)

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:27 pm

studioton wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:54 pm
I have exactly same problem here.. When I hit Record .. cubase crash constantly .. What is going on here?? Steinberg ?
Hi,

Share the crash dump file, please.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17690
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update crashing on-record (uninstalled)

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:28 pm

jono not bono wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:14 am
woodgrain816 wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:29 pm
9.5.40 starts going through this phase where it crashes every time I hit Record. It's been doing it for the last 2 days off and on since I installed it. I would reboot the computer and it'll last a couple hours and start crashing on-record again. I can't figure out what exactly is causing it. I've tried different keys, record from midi-transport buttons, record while stopped, record while playing... no correlation.
I have the exact same problem but I am on OSX. As soon as I hit Record (on an Audio track), Cubase crashes. Tried it in an empty project and it's fine. So, I'm not sure what's wrong. Perhaps the CPR file is corrupt. Perhaps 9.5.40 is buggy. I'm going to try rolling back to .30 and see if that works.
Hi,

Please, share the *.crash file located in macOS Utility Console > User Reports.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Soft_machine
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 10:33 am
Location: Moscow, Russian Federation
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Soft_machine » Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:57 pm

Hi folks!
Seems that everething is working good...
Loading fx chain is fixed for me.
For sake of good order :-)
DAW: Cubase 10.0.40 build 284 (x64), Windows 7/64-bit
PC: Intel Core i7-5930K 3.5GHz, 16 GB RAM, Asus GT610-SL
Converters: RME UC

Additional gear:
Long Stereo Channel preamp, Korg nanoKontrol, Korg KP3+, Yamaha HS8 monitors, Novation mininova, Novation SL61 MK2, Novation launchpad, Yamaha CP-33

djgraver
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by djgraver » Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:17 pm

Load Strip preset - not working anymore

open preset list, double click - nothing

someone confirm ?
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

User avatar
nordlead26
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by nordlead26 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:33 pm

Soft_machine wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:57 pm
Hi folks!
Seems that everething is working good...
Loading fx chain is fixed for me.
For sake of good order :-)
Ok, for those like me having the same issue of fx chain/save/load in this new version, and after few tests... I discovered a solution, you should RE- save the projects than was saved on 9.5.3 in to 9.5.4, close, open and then RE save the fx chains...In this way it will load, otherwise it won't work.


BUT it works sometimes, not always ... :evil:
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 x64
Windows 10 x 64bit
Intel Core i7 860
20 GB RAM
audio interface MOTU 828 MKII

LSP
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 1:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by LSP » Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:56 pm

I'm on Windows 7 pro, and have been able to download and install all previous updates,... however, this one finishes downloading and I get a message that my computer "can't open this type of file".

Any ideas why this is happening? I have high hopes that the mixconsole update will fix my problem of NOT being able to see the "hardware" tab within the mixconsole. I have it under the pulldown menu from the "studio" tab, but since it's not available from within the mixconsole, I CANNOT use reverb on the input while tracking vocals.

Marc

wcb123
Junior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by wcb123 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:13 pm

Still can't change tempo of the project without the audio editor window minimising (in seperate window mode). This completely kills my workflow. I don't even know if there is a solution other than to use the lower zone audio editor which is no way near as clinical.

The lag when dragging zoomed in audio parts is also making precise editing impossible.

0.20 here. Please address this my other post was ignored

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BcN7tuB ... e=youtu.be
Windows x64 Pro
Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Intel i7 980 @3.33GHz (12 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory - 48Gb
______________

Cubase 9.5
NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Focusrite Saffire Pro24
Casio Privia 330
Korg Microkey
Quested s8r

tmtm
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by tmtm » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:20 pm

The laggy GUI remains...
Also, the freezes on closing big projects are still there

Chris Kessey
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 11:56 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Chris Kessey » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:27 pm

djgraver wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:17 pm
Load Strip preset - not working anymore

open preset list, double click - nothing

someone confirm ?
Yes, I can confirm this.
i7 6850K, 32Gb, Windows 10 Pro, Cubase Pro 10

frankc22
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by frankc22 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:51 pm

Any chance of some help here, since updating to 9.40 pro I don't seem to be able to record audio the UR242 and Cubase do not communicate with each other.
Last edited by frankc22 on Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:29 pm, edited 2 times in total.

djgraver
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by djgraver » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:58 pm

frankc22 wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:51 pm
Any chance of some help here, since updating to 9.40 pro I don't seem to be able to record audio the u22mrk 2 and cubase do not communicate with each other.
UR44 works ok after update, but when Cubase starts i can hear cruckle noise. after 1-2 min everything start be ok
Last edited by djgraver on Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

User avatar
gesslr
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:31 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update crashing on-record (uninstalled)

Post by gesslr » Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:05 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:28 pm
jono not bono wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:14 am
woodgrain816 wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:29 pm
9.5.40 starts going through this phase where it crashes every time I hit Record. It's been doing it for the last 2 days off and on since I installed it. I would reboot the computer and it'll last a couple hours and start crashing on-record again. I can't figure out what exactly is causing it. I've tried different keys, record from midi-transport buttons, record while stopped, record while playing... no correlation.
I have the exact same problem but I am on OSX. As soon as I hit Record (on an Audio track), Cubase crashes. Tried it in an empty project and it's fine. So, I'm not sure what's wrong. Perhaps the CPR file is corrupt. Perhaps 9.5.40 is buggy. I'm going to try rolling back to .30 and see if that works.
Hi,

Please, share the *.crash file located in macOS Utility Console > User Reports.
Hi.

Running High Sierra and 9.5.40. Like my pal Jono, I get an instant crash to the desktop if I press record on an audio track. What I've been able to suss out about it:

--If I add a stereo audio track, assign a mono input to it, arm the track, and hit record in the transport, BAM! instant crash to the desktop. (Note: If I made that mistake in the past, I would just end up with a “one-sided” stereo recording.) However, if I add a stereo track and assign a stereo source and attempt to record to it, everything is fine.

--The crash happens ONLY when I have added a "mismatched" (i.e., stereo output / mono input) track to the project first and THEN I try to record to it. If instead I add a “properly matched” audio track first, then add a "mismatched" track subsequent to that, recording to the either track will not cause a crash.

--Lastly, if I have successfully recorded to a mismatched track (as described in bullet 2), then this behavior goes away completely for the rest of the current session. I can create a new song and record to whatever audio tracks I choose ("mismatched" or "matched") in whatever order without a crash. However, if I restart Cubase, the behavior returns (until I am able to successfully record to a mismatched track as noted in this bullet).

I've attached my crash logs. (BTW Martin I am not familiar with "macOS Utility Console > User Reports." I pulled these from User>Library>Logs>DiagnosticReports)
Attachments
Cu9-5-4_CrashLogs.zip
(145.45 KiB) Downloaded 38 times
... aka 'george napier' and 'gnapier' elsewhere....

12 core MacPro 2.66GHZ | 64 GB RAM | OS 10.13.6 | CUBASE 9.5.40 | LOGIC 10.4.2 | StudioOne 4.1 | MOTU Interfaces | Way Too Many Plug-ins |

http://www.soundwaremedia.com
FB: geo.napier3
@gesslr via Twitter

User avatar
bender-offender
Member
Posts: 281
Joined: Tue Apr 05, 2011 6:44 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by bender-offender » Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:41 pm

drmq wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:34 am
Amazing update. Kudos to the devs!

There is an issue though with a new feature that has a bad impact on the workflow:
When you drag the cursor from the top menu bar outside the window, the windows scrolls right or left following the cursor. However if you hold Shift-Alt and click left with your mouse to move the cursor it doesn't scroll automatically when it goes outside the window :(

Image
Shift-Alt-click is a feature that will place the the cursor wherever you click, so could it be that you’re unintentionally doing this?
8 core Mac Pro 6,1 | Cubase 10 & 9.5.41 | Nuendo 10.0.20 | Mac OS Sierra | RME UFX+ | A couple PC slaves | VE Pro 7 | Purple Cape

wcb123
Junior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 2:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by wcb123 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:02 pm

Loading FX Chain worked once and now not working :shock:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Amw8cmp ... e=youtu.be
Windows x64 Pro
Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Intel i7 980 @3.33GHz (12 CPUs), ~3.4GHz
Memory - 48Gb
______________

Cubase 9.5
NVIDIA GeForce GTS 250
Focusrite Saffire Pro24
Casio Privia 330
Korg Microkey
Quested s8r

Maincat
Member
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Maincat » Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:39 pm

ThSve wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:35 am
After upgrade to 9.5.40, MediaBay, Loop Browser and Media Browser seems "broken". Loops(audio) doesn't synct to project tempo and after selecting a new loop the old one is still playing together with the new selected. Sometimes no sound when selecting a new loop. Just me or anyone else?

Win 10 pro, Cubase Pro.
+1 to that.

Extremely disappointing 'update'. I don't need to diagnose issues each and every time an update is offered - I just want to make music!!
Steve
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Version 1903, 8 Gig RAM, AMD Phenom II 955 BE X4, 27" Acer LCD (X2), GX460, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha KX8, Nektar LX88, Shure SM58, Yamaha HS50Ms with Yamaha HS8M Sub., Yamaha HPH-MT7W Headphones, Kontakt 5.7.3, The Grand 3.1, Neo Soul Keys, Groove Agent 4, WaveLab Elements 10, ASUS Nexus 7 2013, Android 6.0, Cubase IC PRO and lots of other stuff.

djgraver
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by djgraver » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:25 pm

Maincat wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:39 pm
ThSve wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:35 am
After upgrade to 9.5.40, MediaBay, Loop Browser and Media Browser seems "broken". Loops(audio) doesn't synct to project tempo and after selecting a new loop the old one is still playing together with the new selected. Sometimes no sound when selecting a new loop. Just me or anyone else?

Win 10 pro, Cubase Pro.
+1 to that.

Extremely disappointing 'update'. I don't need to diagnose issues each and every time an update is offered - I just want to make music!!
confirmed.
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

User avatar
studioton
Junior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update crashing on-record (uninstalled)

Post by studioton » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:37 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 12:27 pm
studioton wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:54 pm
I have exactly same problem here.. When I hit Record .. cubase crash constantly .. What is going on here?? Steinberg ?
Hi,

Share the crash dump file, please.
Here is my crash dump file
Attachments
Cubase 9.5.40.259 64bit 2018.10.18 20.34.zip
(271.75 KiB) Downloaded 39 times

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2165
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by marQs » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:45 pm

Update installed & working well. Can't confirm the record > crash thing mentioned above. Haven't done much tricky actions since the update, so far I haven't recognized a difference apart from new file format options.
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

User avatar
studioton
Junior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 2:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by studioton » Thu Oct 18, 2018 7:48 pm

Maincat wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:39 pm
ThSve wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:35 am
After upgrade to 9.5.40, MediaBay, Loop Browser and Media Browser seems "broken". Loops(audio) doesn't synct to project tempo and after selecting a new loop the old one is still playing together with the new selected. Sometimes no sound when selecting a new loop. Just me or anyone else?

Win 10 pro, Cubase Pro.
+1 to that.

Extremely disappointing 'update'. I don't need to diagnose issues each and every time an update is offered - I just want to make music!!

why always after updating ,some things are fixed and some damage that always worked...
what they do and who works for them as developers. Steinberg ..What is this?? whether you have answers or you do not care?

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5.40 update available

Post by Winter Rat » Thu Oct 18, 2018 8:03 pm

wcb123 wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:02 pm
Loading FX Chain worked once and now not working :shock:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Amw8cmp ... e=youtu.be
Mine FX Chain works but Stripe Presets - nothing's happening.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests