Page 1 of 1

Disabling effects on Groove Agent SE

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 5:08 pm
by gravyface
First off, really new to Cubase for starters.

I can't seem to find how to disable the (awful) effects on the dozen or so kits I was listening to in Groove Agent SE.

I've recorded a MIDI drum part with my Yamaha DTX kit, hoping to hear an improvement in quality with Cubase, and there's just this awful reverb and what sounds like phaser on the drum kits, even "Country" kits.

Re: Disabling effects on Groove Agent SE

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 7:24 pm
by Romantique Tp
The reverb used in Steinberg's new instruments is well regarded (it's an improved version of a commercial reverb), and most presets only use it in moderate amounts. There's also no Phaser effect applied to any acoustic kits, as far as I can remember. It sounds like your audio outputs or hardware could be setup incorrectly.

Press F4 to check your audio outputs. Ideally, you want Cubase to output sound through a stereo bus.
https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... dow_r.html

To bypass the inserts and sends, use the buttons to the top right of the interface:

Image

The first one bypasses the inserts, while the second one bypasses the sends.

Re: Disabling effects on Groove Agent SE

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:24 pm
by gravyface
Assuming the audio connections are ok, is there any way to disable these effects, or were the samples recorded wet?

Re: Disabling effects on Groove Agent SE

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:34 pm
by Romantique Tp
I told you how above. You can also use the Mixer tab for that.

Re: Disabling effects on Groove Agent SE

Posted: Mon Apr 02, 2018 8:42 pm
by gravyface
Ah, missed that. Thanks.