Page 1 of 4

FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:33 am
by TakashiWatanabe
Hi all,

I have built a simpleVST2/3 plugin that counts number of FLS slots available.
Please feel free to try.
http://planetnine.jp/wp/2018/03/25/fls-checker/

BTW this is my 1st post to this forum with this account so it might look very suspicious :)
I am sure I had opened an account looong ago but couldn't retrieve it.

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 2:00 am
by -steve-
Welcome Takashi!

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 7:55 am
by peakae
This is going to be really helpful, I am suspecting some of the reports of plugins failing to load has other reasons.
Thank you very much.

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 1:13 pm
by planarchist
Very impressive, thanks and welcome to the Forum.

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 2:09 am
by medwaystudios
Thank you, look forward to using this.

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 3:59 am
by swamptooth
Thanks!

Checking cubase 7.5, 8.5 and 9.5 at launch...
this is what i get...

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 8:31 am
by marQs
@Takashi: fantastic - now we can see what's going on at least! Where can I donate (serious question)? ;)

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:12 am
by Niles
Thanks for the effort and sharing! Very useful.

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 5:18 pm
by beerbong
nice work!
For sure outlines the issues we've had with Cubase 8.5.

BTW results for some other DAW
Reason 9.5 - 78 slots
FL Studio 114 slots

cheers

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:52 pm
by msy
Very nice work, thank you.

Cubase 9.5.20 - 85 slots
VSThost - 116 slots

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 1:57 pm
by Romantique Tp
Cubase 9.5.20 shows 90 slots for me.

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 2:53 pm
by Jari Junttila
Cubase 9.5.20 -> 93 slots

edit:
forgot internet connection on, by disabled 96 slots

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:01 pm
by T-bag
That is very handy - thank you.

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 10:34 pm
by lucas_paris
TakashiWatanabe wrote:
Sun Mar 25, 2018 12:33 am
Hi all,

I have built a simpleVST2/3 plugin that counts number of FLS slots available.
Please feel free to try.
http://planetnine.jp/wp/2018/03/25/fls-checker/

BTW this is my 1st post to this forum with this account so it might look very suspicious :)
I am sure I had opened an account looong ago but couldn't retrieve it.
Many thanks for this, very useful!! I recently posted a long article about the subject on the gearslutz forum, explaining the need for visualization of the remaining FLS slots and also describing a work-around strategy, you can find it on the lower half of this page (almost at the end of the page):

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-c ... e-187.html

One question, could you also make a 32-bit VST2 version of this plugin? As I described in that article I am using the 32-bit process as an additional resource for FLS slots, and I would like to be able to see the number of slots in that process... thanks in advance!

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:15 am
by swamptooth
reason 9.5 - 82 slots
sonar x3e - 107
reaper - 117
live 9 lite - 86

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:31 am
by mart
swamptooth wrote:
Mon Mar 26, 2018 3:59 am
Thanks!

Checking cubase 7.5, 8.5 and 9.5 at launch...
this is what i get...

It looks iike 9.5 is a step in the right direction. Now we can visually see it perhaps we should figure out what plugin vendors consume the most FLS and hit them up with people power?

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 12:39 pm
by lucas_paris
mart wrote:
Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:31 am
We should figure out what plugin vendors consume the most FLS...
Please follow the link as mentioned in my previous post yesterday, you will find there an extensive FLS test for most of the common plugins as well as a work-round strategy for the FLS limitation.

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:27 pm
by GargoyleStudio
mart wrote:
Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:31 am
swamptooth wrote:
Mon Mar 26, 2018 3:59 am
Thanks!

Checking cubase 7.5, 8.5 and 9.5 at launch...
this is what i get...

It looks iike 9.5 is a step in the right direction. Now we can visually see it perhaps we should figure out what plugin vendors consume the most FLS and hit them up with people power?
It's good to get these numbers out in the open. Steinberg is going in the right direction, but we as users definitely need to push the plugin vendors to reduce their slot usage!! UAD and Arturia are my biggest culprits, on average taking up between 2-4 slots per plugin. Whereas Waves uses only 2 no matter how many plugins you use.

I found a way of gaining a few extra slots as well. Drag and drop the plugin onto the Cb icon on desktop and you I always get extra slots over opening Cubase and then opening the project from the Hub. It seems that on my system the Hub takes 6 slots itself (after opening the hub and I see the free slots go down).

Mike.

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:37 pm
by mart
GargoyleStudio wrote:
Wed Mar 28, 2018 1:27 pm
mart wrote:
Wed Mar 28, 2018 11:31 am
swamptooth wrote:
Mon Mar 26, 2018 3:59 am
Thanks!

Checking cubase 7.5, 8.5 and 9.5 at launch...
this is what i get...

It looks iike 9.5 is a step in the right direction. Now we can visually see it perhaps we should figure out what plugin vendors consume the most FLS and hit them up with people power?
It's good to get these numbers out in the open. Steinberg is going in the right direction, but we as users definitely need to push the plugin vendors to reduce their slot usage!! UAD and Arturia are my biggest culprits, on average taking up between 2-4 slots per plugin. Whereas Waves uses only 2 no matter how many plugins you use.

I found a way of gaining a few extra slots as well. Drag and drop the plugin onto the Cb icon on desktop and you I always get extra slots over opening Cubase and then opening the project from the Hub. It seems that on my system the Hub takes 6 slots itself (after opening the hub and I see the free slots go down).

Mike.
I think you can remove the hub and free up FLS by moving it out of Steinberg/Cubase9.5/Components folder. You can move some other stuff out of there too so long as your not using it

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2018 4:37 pm
by GeorgeV
Thanks very much for the tool Takashi!
Also thanks lucas for sharing this valuable info. A must read really.

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Thu Mar 29, 2018 2:45 pm
by djkey
For me in Cubase 9.5.20

95 Slots (FLS VST3)

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Fri Mar 30, 2018 11:44 am
by djgraver
8.0 - 89
8.5 - 89
9.0 - 88
Sometimes values changes by -+1 (dont know why :) )

Thank you for this tool!

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 5:28 am
by SF_Green
Thanks a bunch for this. Very kind and generous of you.
Cheers!
  • Cubase 9.5.20 84
  • Sonar Platinum 2017.10 114
  • Ableton Live 10 110
  • Reason 10 66
  • Wavelab Elements 9.5.20 110
  • Finale 25.5 100
This was on Windows 7 SP1 x64

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 6:41 am
by Centralmusic
Cubase AI 9, Win 8.1 = 97

Re: FLS Checker plugin

Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2018 8:54 am
by GeorgeV
Cubase 9.5.20, win7 110

After removing items not used from Steinberg Components folder. That gave approx. +10 FLS