Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 741
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Matthias Quellmann » Thu Feb 22, 2018 3:16 pm

Today we are pleased to announce the immediate availability of the Cubase maintenance update, version 9.0.40, for the entire product family. The update provides fixes and improvements throughout several areas of the application.

Download Cubase Pro 9.0.40 maintenance update

Download Cubase Artist 9.0.40 maintenance update

Download Cubase Elements 9.0.40 maintenance update

Download Cubase AI 9.0.40 maintenance update

Download Cubase LE 9.0.40 maintenance update

Download version history
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

vinark
Member
Posts: 487
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by vinark » Thu Feb 22, 2018 5:30 pm

Thanks Mathias! I was just about to ask if a 9.0xx would still come (like previous years) et voila! I am assuming this is the last update to the 9.0 line. Installing now!
Have a great weekend (almost)
Vincent

User avatar
Outsounder
Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Outsounder » Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:15 am

Updates are always welcome but still no enhanced Eucon integration to avid artist mix and control.

Come on guys. Please do,something here, at least have the mix console mirror it's state onto the artist/control so all the hidden channels disappear and leave just the visible mic console channels displayed, it's such a hassle banking back and fore through pages to locate channels which could anywhere on a large template.

There's been no real advances on Eucontrol integration for a long time and it's really really disappointing to customers who use them all day and everyday.

Can Mathias comment on this lack of foresight and interest from SB to the many people who use them please?

Maybe this time a response will be forthcoming.....
Last edited by Outsounder on Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Main-Intel i7/Asus mobo/Gforce GPU/16gig ram. Secondary-Intel Q9950/Asus mobo/Radeon GPU/8gig ram. Win 7 64bit, Cubase 9.5 Pro, Studio One 3 Pro, ACID, Ableton Live, SonicCore/Scope DSP Audio System, Presonus Sceptre S6 monitors. Avid Artist Mix/Control and Transport. Software includes NI Komplete 10, Halion 6, East West Play Libraries, Heavyocity Libraries, Sample Logic Libraries Best Service Libraries, Sonokinetic Libraries, 8Dio Libraries,Project Sam Libaries, Sound Iron Libraries,Melodyne Pro, Uberschall Elastic & Liquid Libraries etc etc.

vinark
Member
Posts: 487
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by vinark » Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:41 am

AFAIK last X.0 releases when X.5 is out, are always bugfixes

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Romantique Tp » Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:47 am

Yes, the last update for each Cubase version (x.x.40, sometimes x.x.50) usually only includes bug fixes back-ported from the current version, in this case Cubase 9.5. This is done more or less as a favor for those who haven't had the chance to upgrade yet. Don't expect new features.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1323
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Raphie » Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:55 am

Not sure what you mean? The artist surfaces do follow the mixer.
The track classes are determined by what track classes you enable in the EUCON PANEL in Cubase.
both are overridden by locked channels in EUcontrol.
Above 2 choices determine what you see on the artist surface.

Outsounder wrote:
Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:15 am
Updates are always welcome but still no enhanced Eucon intagtration to avid artist mix and controll.

Come on guys. Please do,something here, at least have the mix control mirror it's state onto control so all the hidden channels disappear and leave just the active channels displayed, it's such a hassle banking back and fire trig to locate channels which could anywhere on a large template.

There's been no real,advances on Eucontrol intagtration for a long time and it's really really dissapointing to customers who use them all day and everyday.

Can Mathias comment on this lack of foresight and interest from SB to the many people who use them please?

Maybe this time a response will be forthcoming.....
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 950
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by J-S-Q » Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:10 pm

Raphie wrote:
Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:55 am
Not sure what you mean? The artist surfaces do follow the mixer.
The track classes are determined by what track classes you enable in the EUCON PANEL in Cubase.
both are overridden by locked channels in EUcontrol.
Above 2 choices determine what you see on the artist surface.

Outsounder wrote:
Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:15 am
Updates are always welcome but still no enhanced Eucon intagtration to avid artist mix and controll.

Come on guys. Please do,something here, at least have the mix control mirror it's state onto control so all the hidden channels disappear and leave just the active channels displayed, it's such a hassle banking back and fire trig to locate channels which could anywhere on a large template.

There's been no real,advances on Eucontrol intagtration for a long time and it's really really dissapointing to customers who use them all day and everyday.

Can Mathias comment on this lack of foresight and interest from SB to the many people who use them please?

Maybe this time a response will be forthcoming.....
He means.... When you hide a track in Cubase, it should also be hidden on the control surface. I agree 1,000%. I've seen a Steinberg employee say that they had this functionality working a couple of years ago but it has never materialised. There has been no Eucon development for years at Steinberg and it's quite frustrating.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

ceemusic
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by ceemusic » Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:46 pm

n/r
Last edited by ceemusic on Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Romantique Tp » Fri Feb 23, 2018 1:52 pm

This is not a Cubase 9.5 update...
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

ceemusic
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by ceemusic » Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:00 pm

Ah, thanks..

User avatar
Outsounder
Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Outsounder » Fri Feb 23, 2018 11:50 pm

J-S-Q wrote:
Fri Feb 23, 2018 12:10 pm
Raphie wrote:
Fri Feb 23, 2018 7:55 am
Not sure what you mean? The artist surfaces do follow the mixer.
The track classes are determined by what track classes you enable in the EUCON PANEL in Cubase.
both are overridden by locked channels in EUcontrol.
Above 2 choices determine what you see on the artist surface.

Outsounder wrote:
Fri Feb 23, 2018 2:15 am
Updates are always welcome but still no enhanced Eucon intagtration to avid artist mix and controll.

Come on guys. Please do,something here, at least have the mix control mirror it's state onto control so all the hidden channels disappear and leave just the active channels displayed, it's such a hassle banking back and fire trig to locate channels which could anywhere on a large template.

There's been no real,advances on Eucontrol intagtration for a long time and it's really really dissapointing to customers who use them all day and everyday.

Can Mathias comment on this lack of foresight and interest from SB to the many people who use them please?

Maybe this time a response will be forthcoming.....
He means.... When you hide a track in Cubase, it should also be hidden on the control surface. I agree 1,000%. I've seen a Steinberg employee say that they had this functionality working a couple of years ago but it has never materialised. There has been no Eucon development for years at Steinberg and it's quite frustrating.
Yes, your right @J-S-Q, the post was a bit confusing so just rectified some typos and mistakes!
Main-Intel i7/Asus mobo/Gforce GPU/16gig ram. Secondary-Intel Q9950/Asus mobo/Radeon GPU/8gig ram. Win 7 64bit, Cubase 9.5 Pro, Studio One 3 Pro, ACID, Ableton Live, SonicCore/Scope DSP Audio System, Presonus Sceptre S6 monitors. Avid Artist Mix/Control and Transport. Software includes NI Komplete 10, Halion 6, East West Play Libraries, Heavyocity Libraries, Sample Logic Libraries Best Service Libraries, Sonokinetic Libraries, 8Dio Libraries,Project Sam Libaries, Sound Iron Libraries,Melodyne Pro, Uberschall Elastic & Liquid Libraries etc etc.

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by noiseboyuk » Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:44 am

Interested to hear how people are getting on with 9.0.40. I'm really waiting for a fix on CAN-13042 (which I guess will not happen in 9.0.x as this is the final update but in 9.5.x) viewtopic.php?f=253&t=123873&sid=6b6e6f ... f22182063e but will shortly be migrating to a new computer so checking if this is a stable update for people.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by noiseboyuk » Mon Feb 26, 2018 2:49 pm

Wow, no-one? I guess literally everyone else has already jumped to 9.5...
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

User avatar
JFR
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:36 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by JFR » Tue Feb 27, 2018 8:20 pm

Any feedback? Is the 9.0.40 update safe to install? Any problems for the people that did install it?

Many thanks
JFR
Cubase Pro 9.0.40 , Cubase Pro 9.5.41 , MCDSP all bundle V6 , Intel Core I5 3570 S1155 IVY Bridge , ASUS P8Z77-V PRO , Corsair VENG 8 GB ram ,ASUS RADEON HD5450 silent 1GB
Focusrite USB Scarlett 6i6 ,Event TR6 monitors , Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

vinark
Member
Posts: 487
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by vinark » Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:44 pm

No problems here (and none with .30 either before that)

User avatar
JFR
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:36 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by JFR » Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:30 pm

vinark wrote:
Tue Feb 27, 2018 9:44 pm
No problems here (and none with .30 either before that)
Thanks
Cubase Pro 9.0.40 , Cubase Pro 9.5.41 , MCDSP all bundle V6 , Intel Core I5 3570 S1155 IVY Bridge , ASUS P8Z77-V PRO , Corsair VENG 8 GB ram ,ASUS RADEON HD5450 silent 1GB
Focusrite USB Scarlett 6i6 ,Event TR6 monitors , Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

User avatar
JFR
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 3:36 am
Contact:

Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by JFR » Tue Mar 06, 2018 7:30 pm

Hi !
Since updating to 9.0.40 now everytime i reopen a session with video it's as to recalculate the thumbnail cache again!
it's like when you close the session it does not save Vcahe

Thanks
JFR
Cubase Pro 9.0.40 , Cubase Pro 9.5.41 , MCDSP all bundle V6 , Intel Core I5 3570 S1155 IVY Bridge , ASUS P8Z77-V PRO , Corsair VENG 8 GB ram ,ASUS RADEON HD5450 silent 1GB
Focusrite USB Scarlett 6i6 ,Event TR6 monitors , Windows 7 Pro 64 bit

Maksitto
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 7:49 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Maksitto » Mon Mar 12, 2018 2:34 pm

Look at this:
viewtopic.php?f=253&t=117510
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qpuYn0y ... e=youtu.be
There are no answers from support on this questions.
Guys! New update don't fix this problem!!! What's going on? I cant use cubase for mixing!! Steinberg, why are you not fixing it??

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Romantique Tp » Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:48 pm

It's being "fixed" in Cubase 9.5. Each free update for it is allowing you to load more and more plugins, and Cubase 9.5.20 can load more plugins than Cubase 9.

Steinberg can't "fix" this because this is a Windows issue, by making these changes they can only allow you to load more plugins.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Maksitto
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 7:49 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Maksitto » Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:39 pm

Romantique Tp wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 3:48 pm
It's being "fixed" in Cubase 9.5. Each free update for it is allowing you to load more and more plugins, and Cubase 9.5.20 can load more plugins than Cubase 9.

Steinberg can't "fix" this because this is a Windows issue, by making these changes they can only allow you to load more plugins.
9.5 is not free actually.
Looks like you're trying to sale me new 100$ update.
What does it means? more plugins. How much more? 5..10.. 50..100?
Why steinberg can not cooperate with microsoft to solve this problem totally?
Why It's being "fixed" in Cubase 9.0 ?

Maksitto
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 7:49 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Maksitto » Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:44 pm

Why UAD don't support cubase 9.x version?
Too much questions about it , time is going on , problems are not solving..

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Romantique Tp » Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:23 pm

Maksitto wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:39 pm
9.5 is not free actually.
Looks like you're trying to sale me new 100$ update.
What does it means? more plugins. How much more? 5..10.. 50..100?
Why steinberg can not cooperate with microsoft to solve this problem totally?
Why It's being "fixed" in Cubase 9.0 ?
Each free update for Cubase 9.5. I never said that Cubase 9.5 was free. Please read more carefully.

Cubase 9.5 is 50 bucks, not 100.

This has been discussed to death already. It's very unlikely that Microsoft will do anything about the plugin limit just because of DAWs.

Increasing the number of plugins that can be loaded requires changes to basically every single component in Cubase. That's why they're rolling it out slowly with each 9.5 update to make sure that nothing is broken in the process. It's not practical to make these changes to Cubase 9 too, because there's a big risk that it would become completely unstable.

UAD plugins work fine in any version of Cubase 9 or 9.5, you just have to use a reasonable number of completely different plugins. You can use the UAD 1176 in every track if you want, but if you use a different compressor and EQ in every track, you're going to hit the .dll limit. It's also bad mixing practice. :?
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Maksitto
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 7:49 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by Maksitto » Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:49 am

Romantique Tp wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 5:23 pm
Maksitto wrote:
Mon Mar 12, 2018 4:39 pm
9.5 is not free actually.
Looks like you're trying to sale me new 100$ update.
What does it means? more plugins. How much more? 5..10.. 50..100?
Why steinberg can not cooperate with microsoft to solve this problem totally?
Why It's being "fixed" in Cubase 9.0 ?
Each free update for Cubase 9.5. I never said that Cubase 9.5 was free. Please read more carefully.

Cubase 9.5 is 50 bucks, not 100.

This has been discussed to death already. It's very unlikely that Microsoft will do anything about the plugin limit just because of DAWs.

Increasing the number of plugins that can be loaded requires changes to basically every single component in Cubase. That's why they're rolling it out slowly with each 9.5 update to make sure that nothing is broken in the process. It's not practical to make these changes to Cubase 9 too, because there's a big risk that it would become completely unstable.

UAD plugins work fine in any version of Cubase 9 or 9.5, you just have to use a reasonable number of completely different plugins. You can use the UAD 1176 in every track if you want, but if you use a different compressor and EQ in every track, you're going to hit the .dll limit. It's also bad mixing practice. :?
Yeah , It's very unusable to aplly different plugins just because of this issue.
Thanks for answers, that issue only in Win 10? Can I install Win 8 for example to solve it?

vinark
Member
Posts: 487
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by vinark » Wed Mar 14, 2018 11:13 am

AFAIK no it has been there from XP.

KeeN
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jun 28, 2014 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.0.40 maintenance update

Post by KeeN » Mon Apr 09, 2018 6:34 am

Where are the updates on 9.0 version? Cubase 9.0.40 still has unpleasant bugs.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests