VST3 Ordering

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Mr. Beer
Junior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:58 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

VST3 Ordering

Post by Mr. Beer » Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:13 pm

I installed a few VST3 softsynths. These synths just show up in synths and not the folder they were installed into. I remember with VST2, you could put them in a folder and that folder would show up when selecting the VSTi. Can we no longer group things with VST3?

Thanks, Mr. Beer
My wife said I was delusional, I almost fell off my unicorn laughing.

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4470
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: VST3 Ordering

Post by Grim » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:57 pm

VST3 have the category hard coded.

But you can override this and organise all your plugs any way you like with plugin manager.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2253
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: VST3 Ordering

Post by raino » Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:12 pm

Grim wrote:
Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:57 pm
VST3 have the category hard coded.

But you can override this and organise all your plugs any way you like with plugin manager.
Including having the same plug in multiple user defined categories (e.g. the same compressor in Favorites, Compressors & Mastering) or even no category at all - just listed at the top along with the categories.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
Mr. Beer
Junior Member
Posts: 124
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:58 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Contact:

Re: VST3 Ordering

Post by Mr. Beer » Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:21 pm

Awesome, Thanks Grim and raino. I totally forgot about the Plugin manager.
My wife said I was delusional, I almost fell off my unicorn laughing.

User avatar
Niles
Member
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:41 am

Re: VST3 Ordering

Post by Niles » Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:01 pm

Sorry to go slightly of topic, but does one of you know if it's possible to autocratically sort (alphabetically) VST's in user collection folders?

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2253
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: VST3 Ordering

Post by raino » Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:21 pm

Niles wrote:
Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:01 pm
Sorry to go slightly of topic, but does one of you know if it's possible to autocratically sort (alphabetically) VST's in user collection folders?
No you can't - gotta do it by hand.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
Niles
Member
Posts: 296
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:41 am

Re: VST3 Ordering

Post by Niles » Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:22 pm

raino wrote:
Thu Dec 07, 2017 11:21 pm
No you can't - gotta do it by hand.
Thanks, think I'll just use search then. :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: James K, playz123 and 11 guests