Cubase 9.5 Reset Itself!!

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1150
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Cubase 9.5 Reset Itself!!

Post by silhouette » Thu Dec 07, 2017 12:42 pm

I am more than a bit cross. C9.5 has just re-scanned plugins and reset preferences. The last time I used it - yesterday - I had shutdown correctly and have only just opened C9.5. All my Plugin paths, colour setups and cancellation of the Hub have gone etc etc. What could have caused this? Any ideas?
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1735
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Reset Itself!!

Post by GargoyleStudio » Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:07 pm

That's a pain for sure!!

Not something I've seen for a long time, but it used to happen quite a bit for me. I never managed to find out why, I guess some sort of file corruption, which means a bug somewhere. Don't suppose you could even reproduce it...

Anyway, I've taken to copying the settings folder (https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... red_c.html) periodically. I also export my settings as a Preset where I can, e.g. preferences, key commands. I run a nightly full system backup too and one or two times I've grabbed things back from this.

But as I say I haven't seen this one for a long while, maybe last in V7...

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb9 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves]

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 696
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Reset Itself!!

Post by planarchist » Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:15 pm

...sounds like corupt Preferences file to me too....used to happen to me too a few versions back.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1150
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Reset Itself!!

Post by silhouette » Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:03 pm

Thanks for suggestions GargoyleStudio It will certainly help me get back on my feet next time.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp

User avatar
PeteL
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Reset Itself!!

Post by PeteL » Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:29 pm

This also happened to me recently, luckily before I had set much up. The only thing I can correlate it with, is that I inadvertently did not have my eLicenser plugged in when I started, so Cubase didn't start. Plugged in the eLicenser, Cubase started, but all my pref's and other setups were gone.

I recreated them, and since then I've been doing what GargoyleStudio suggested above.
Cubase Pro 9.5, Samsung Chronos 7 Laptop, Windows 10 x64, 12GB RAM, 2.2 GHz, Focusrite 2i4 (1st Gen)

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1150
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Reset Itself!!

Post by silhouette » Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:20 pm

It's a mystery to me how this started as I had no problem shutting down or starting up.
My only real issue is that the Project Assistant has no record of all my past projects, but I suppose they are found easily enough.

Backing up the prefs will help all other issues. Although any additional prefs must be re-backed up.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DrFuture and 10 guests