renaming regions

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
antihelix
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:31 pm
Contact:

renaming regions

Post by antihelix » Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:50 am

I apologize in advance if this topic has already been covered - I haven't been able to locate a solution in searching the various boards.
I am having difficulty renaming individual regions without renaming all of the regions in the track. I use the info line to do this, and toggling the pref "parts get track names" seems to have no effect.
Just to be clear on what I am trying to do - I'd like to be able to split up a track of a performance in order to identify individual sections of it for editing purposes. I hope I am making myself clear. This is very simple to do in ProTools.

Thank you in advance for your time.

antihelix
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:31 pm
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by antihelix » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:44 pm

Can anyone steer me straight? Please!

User avatar
pliktro
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by pliktro » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:49 am

By regions you mean parts in a track?
Cubase 8.5.20x64,Cubase 9.0.3, Win7 x64,CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase 8.5.20x64,Cubase 9.0.3, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.12.5,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r

Atardecer
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:14 am
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by Atardecer » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:54 am

Not sure if I'm getting exactly what you mean but if you highlight multiple parts and rename in the info lane then all parts will get that name. Is that what you want? Also with the pref "parts get track names", if you've already got something recorded on the track without the pref activated you need to move the part to another track and then move it back, it will then take on the track name. Doesn't work retroactively I believe until you do that.
System:
Win 7 SP1 64-bit
Intel i7-6900K @ 3.20GHz
64 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 850 Pro 1TB 256GB System Drive
Samsung SSD 850 Pro 1TB Sample Drive
RME AES16/Lynx Aurora 16
Cubase 8.5.30 64 bit
Reaper 5.40 64 bit

User avatar
pliktro
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by pliktro » Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:31 am

If the parts are from the same audio file they cannot have different names.
Cubase 8.5.20x64,Cubase 9.0.3, Win7 x64,CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase 8.5.20x64,Cubase 9.0.3, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.12.5,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r

Atardecer
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:14 am
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by Atardecer » Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:52 am

Ah, I was checking with midi parts. Indeed, audio no dice...
System:
Win 7 SP1 64-bit
Intel i7-6900K @ 3.20GHz
64 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 850 Pro 1TB 256GB System Drive
Samsung SSD 850 Pro 1TB Sample Drive
RME AES16/Lynx Aurora 16
Cubase 8.5.30 64 bit
Reaper 5.40 64 bit

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by planarchist » Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:02 pm

If I'm understanding the OP correctly this is simple...just use the box in the top (see my screen grab below) to rename the separate sections. But maybe this is not what is required?
part names.PNG
(42.5 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
pliktro
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by pliktro » Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:17 pm

planarchist wrote:
Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:02 pm
If I'm understanding the OP correctly this is simple...just use the box in the top (see my screen grab below) to rename the separate sections. But maybe this is not what is required?

part names.PNG
You did just create parts and it's ok BUT if you record and you split a event in two parts you cannot have different names because it is the same audio file.
Cubase 8.5.20x64,Cubase 9.0.3, Win7 x64,CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase 8.5.20x64,Cubase 9.0.3, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.12.5,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1733
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by GargoyleStudio » Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:46 pm

If you're talking audio events then they have two fields in the Info Line: the Name of the audio file (called the File field) and the Description field. If you can't see both then check your Info Line preferences (right click on the Info Line and you can tick things you want to see and edit). Using the Description field you can uniquely mark each clip of an audio file in the project.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb9 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves]

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by planarchist » Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:04 pm

pliktro wrote:
Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:17 pm
planarchist wrote:
Mon Dec 11, 2017 12:02 pm
If I'm understanding the OP correctly this is simple...just use the box in the top (see my screen grab below) to rename the separate sections. But maybe this is not what is required?

part names.PNG
You did just create parts and it's ok BUT if you record and you split a event in two parts you cannot have different names because it is the same audio file.
...and I half suspected this as I was writing so I checked at the time and it worked as I described. BUT it's not quite as simple as that. In the screen grab below I have successfully chopped up a recorded wave and given each section different names. But I can't do it with some of the other audio tracks in the same song...... I shall have to try and work out what the difference is.
partsnamed.PNG
(23.06 KiB) Not downloaded yet
That aside using the description field is, as Mike describes above, what I've done in the past.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
pliktro
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by pliktro » Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:22 pm

I'm gonna test it again to see what going on to be sure....
Cubase 8.5.20x64,Cubase 9.0.3, Win7 x64,CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase 8.5.20x64,Cubase 9.0.3, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.12.5,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by planarchist » Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:39 pm

pliktro wrote:
Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:22 pm
I'm gonna test it again to see what going on to be sure....
FWIW, I think this is what I did (at least this seems to work) on the tracks where I could rename the different sections of audio.

1. Record audio file on track as usual.
2. Either record another section of audio on the same track OR just create an empty section.
3. Glue the two (or more) bits together.
4. They have now become a part that can be snipped up and given different names.

Does this happen for you too?
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
pliktro
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2015 7:01 am
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by pliktro » Mon Dec 11, 2017 6:00 pm

Ok i tested.
Conclusion:
A single recorded or imported file, can only have one name even if you split it. You can add different description in every event and so the file name gets Brackets.
If you create parts with events and then split the parts you can name the parts as you wish. The parts can contain any events.
We have to separate the meaning of parts and events, that's the trick.
Cubase 8.5.20x64,Cubase 9.0.3, Win7 x64,CPU : AMD Phenom II X4 955,MB : ASUS M4A78,GPU : XFX AMD RADEON R7 250X ,RAM : 8GB 800 MHz DDR3
Cubase 8.5.20x64,Cubase 9.0.3, MacBook Pro Retina 13-inch,OSX 10.12.5,CPU : 2,4 GHz Intel Core i5,GPU Intel Iris 1024 MB,RAM : 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Audio Interface : Digidesign 002r

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 690
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: renaming regions

Post by planarchist » Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:28 pm

Yes, that looks right.

These questions are useful for this sort of thing, it's not something I'd though of in great depth before as I rarely rename bits like this anymore but useful to know how to if I want to.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eboats, OxygenBeats and 16 guests