Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
SledDriver
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by SledDriver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 6:46 pm

Normally I mix on my nice big monitors on my desktop PC through Focusrite.

I'm trying to set up CB9.5Pro on my laptop as a mobile mixing device.

But it wont route the audio through the laptop speakers.

I'm using the generic ASIO driver on the laptop, the only one CB offers. But the sound insists on coming out of the crappy laptop speakers, even when I have my studio quality headphones plugged in.

I've checked the Audio Connections and VST connections etc, and all is as it should be, but the sound still comes out of the speakers, not the headphones, even with the headphones plugged in.

Has anyone else seen this, and is there a solution?
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 16299.64, CPU: Intel QuadCore Q9650 @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 8GB/DDR2, Graphics: GeForce GTX 780Ti + 4 monitors, Mobo: Asus P5K, SSD x3, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4468
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by Grim » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:34 pm

Download, install and select ASIO4all in place of the generic driver.
Post back if that doesn't fix the problem.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

SledDriver
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by SledDriver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:47 pm

Good idea thanks.

Unfortunately, exactly the same problem.

I really don't get this. I've been using Cubase and ASIO for donkeys years and never expected a problem like this.

It's like the headphones don't exist.

ControlRoom enabled/disabled makes no difference.

ASIO4ALL all configured in CB, headphones plugged in, but the music continues to only come out of the speakers.
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 16299.64, CPU: Intel QuadCore Q9650 @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 8GB/DDR2, Graphics: GeForce GTX 780Ti + 4 monitors, Mobo: Asus P5K, SSD x3, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4468
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by Grim » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:21 pm

If you open ASIO4all control panel do the headphones appear as a separate output?
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by planarchist » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:35 pm

By chance I've been using my Laptop this week using the onboard soundcard and it works fine with either laptop speakers or headphones. If I plug in the 'phones it just switches to them as with any other program (and I get a pop-up to confirm that I've plugged in 'phones, again as is usual with this Laptop). I'm using the Generic Low Latency driver, FWIW. (Jut checked ASIO4ALL and fine with that too)

Sounds like perhaps it may be your Laptop or its setup? Does the sound just continue through the speakers when you plug the 'phones in (I think you're saying yes)? If so does it switch to the phones with other software?
Last edited by planarchist on Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

SledDriver
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by SledDriver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:41 pm

Correct.

ASIO4All doesn't list headphones or speakers, just a HIgh Definition Audio Device.

I even went to the Win10 Playback devices control panel and disabled speakers, leaving headphones as the default sound playback device. Cubase still plays through the speakers.

Yet if I play Windows audio it comes through the headphones. Just not ASIO stuff, the very thing I want! :)
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 16299.64, CPU: Intel QuadCore Q9650 @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 8GB/DDR2, Graphics: GeForce GTX 780Ti + 4 monitors, Mobo: Asus P5K, SSD x3, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by planarchist » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:47 pm

Strange......I'm out of suggestions for the moment, sorry. :(

Shall carry on thinking.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

SledDriver
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by SledDriver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:53 pm

So I disabled the speakers leaving only the headphones in Win10 playback devices, but ASIO4ALL still wouldn't play to the headphones. So I switched back to Generic ASIO and suddenly I have sound in the headphones.

So I uninstalled ASIO4ALL and tried again. The CB crashed. Doesn't like not having the speakers enabled it seems.
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 16299.64, CPU: Intel QuadCore Q9650 @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 8GB/DDR2, Graphics: GeForce GTX 780Ti + 4 monitors, Mobo: Asus P5K, SSD x3, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4468
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by Grim » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:58 pm

Generic driver is very crashy with some systems ime....I think you'll be better off with ASIO4all if we can get round the headphone assignment problem.

In windows audio/advanced properties for both the speakers and headphones could you try to untick "allow applications to take exclusive control of this device" and see if it makes any difference on ASIO4all.

EDIT: Maybe re-check ASIO4all control panel with hp as default device and see if anything is different there.
Last edited by Grim on Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

SledDriver
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by SledDriver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:59 pm

OK, So then I reinstalled ASIO4ALL, but left the WIn10 playback devices speakers disabled.

Then back into Cubase. ASIO4ALL still plays to the speakers (which are disabled).

So I switch back to Generic ASIO, but do not uninstall ASIO4ALL.

Now I have sound in headphones again.

So in summary, disabling WIn10 playback devices speakers will force the sound to the Generic ASIO headphones, but you can only do this with ASIO4ALL installed, although it is not "in use", but without it, Cubase crashes totally as it seems it doesn't like being targetting at a disabled playback device.

Who wrote that line of code - if (unneeded) speakers not available, crash Cubase totally...??

So I have a 'solution' of sorts which gets me out of a hole, but it really shouldn't be like this.

Thanks for listening.
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 16299.64, CPU: Intel QuadCore Q9650 @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 8GB/DDR2, Graphics: GeForce GTX 780Ti + 4 monitors, Mobo: Asus P5K, SSD x3, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8

SledDriver
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by SledDriver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:04 pm

"In windows audio/advanced properties for both the speakers and headphones could you try to untick "allow applications to take exclusive control of this device" and see if it makes any difference on ASIO4all."

I tried this. Even after restarting CB, no difference.
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 16299.64, CPU: Intel QuadCore Q9650 @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 8GB/DDR2, Graphics: GeForce GTX 780Ti + 4 monitors, Mobo: Asus P5K, SSD x3, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by planarchist » Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:22 pm

Glad you got it working even if by such a circuitous route. Presumably not an area that's been majorly tested....some incompatibility somewhere between your Laptop and the ASIO drivers? Is it generic sound chip do you know? Mines a (pretty common) Realtek HD Audio affair.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

SledDriver
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by SledDriver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:29 pm

It's just listed in Device Manager as a Microsoft High Definition Audio Device. Laptop is i7, around 4 years old Dell.
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 16299.64, CPU: Intel QuadCore Q9650 @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 8GB/DDR2, Graphics: GeForce GTX 780Ti + 4 monitors, Mobo: Asus P5K, SSD x3, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by planarchist » Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:36 pm

Mine's an i7 Dell too, probably a bit older than yours (5-6 years).
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

SledDriver
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by SledDriver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:56 pm

Bingo!!

Just looked up the laptop on Dell's website and found the proper audio driver for it for WIn10x64, a Conexant SmartAudio HD.

Installed this, and now ASIO4ALL works properly, and I get only one playback device in Win10 Playback Devices, and I get headphone sound simply by plugging in the headphones without any mucking about.

So we got there in the end!

So it turns out MicroSnots generic Win10 HD audio driver is a bad thing. Never expected miracles from it, but I didn't see the headphone problem coming!
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 16299.64, CPU: Intel QuadCore Q9650 @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 8GB/DDR2, Graphics: GeForce GTX 780Ti + 4 monitors, Mobo: Asus P5K, SSD x3, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8

SledDriver
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by SledDriver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 10:57 pm

BTW, ASIO4ALL and Generic Low Latency Driver all work fine now.
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 16299.64, CPU: Intel QuadCore Q9650 @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 8GB/DDR2, Graphics: GeForce GTX 780Ti + 4 monitors, Mobo: Asus P5K, SSD x3, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by planarchist » Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:40 pm

Excellent! Thanks for the update, good to hear and it might help someone else in the future. As Grim suggested you may find better performance from ASIO4ALL, I seem to have ever so slightly lower latency.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

SledDriver
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by SledDriver » Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:55 pm

Yes, ASIO4ALL halves both the latency, and the CPU usage, so is a good thing compared with the Generic Low Latency Driver, which it turns out isn't so low.
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 16299.64, CPU: Intel QuadCore Q9650 @ 3.6GHz, RAM: 8GB/DDR2, Graphics: GeForce GTX 780Ti + 4 monitors, Mobo: Asus P5K, SSD x3, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 699
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5Pro won't route to laptop headphones

Post by planarchist » Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:28 am

SledDriver wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:55 pm
.... Generic Low Latency Driver, which it turns out isn't so low.
Heh, heh....yes, not sure why I wasn't using ASIO4ALL but probably because I don't often use the onboard soundcard.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lbc, mattyanez and 10 guests