Window Scroll Key Command?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by suntower » Sat Dec 02, 2017 10:02 pm

Possible Total Noob Question:

Is there a key command which is the equivalent of clicking on the bottom horizontal scroll bar and sliding it slightly left or right so that the project moves just a few bars left or right (or whatever the zoom factor is appropriate) ?

Basically a 'nudge' command that would move the entire piano roll left or right a bar or two.

TIA,

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by suntower » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:43 am

Seriously, NO ONE?
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3011
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by Romantique Tp » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:10 am

Nudge +1 Bar/Nudge -1 Bar does this, but it moves the cursor. Ctrl plus +/- also works (moves based on current quantize value). Press L to move the cursor to the start of the MIDI part you're editing.

You may have better results with these key commands if you use the stationary cursor, since it forces the screen to scroll once the cursor reaches the middle of the screen.

I'm not sure if this is possible without also moving the cursor.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by suntower » Tue Dec 05, 2017 8:54 am

Dang. See this is what I used to use the HORIZONTAL SCROLL BAR for all the time.

The STUPID SKINNY SCROLL BARS introduced in Cubase 9 just *quiz* me off no f-ing end. There is simply NO substitute for the way I work... moving a few ticks left and right.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
Adam_Bove
Member
Posts: 212
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 4:29 am
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by Adam_Bove » Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:22 am

Holding Shift while scrolling with the mouse wheel doesn't work for you?
Intel Core 2 Quad | Windows 10 64bit | Nuendo 6.5.40 - NEK | Cubase 9.5

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3011
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by Romantique Tp » Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:49 pm

Oh yeah, I somehow completely forgot about that one.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by suntower » Tue Dec 05, 2017 7:44 pm

Adam_Bove wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 11:22 am
Holding Shift while scrolling with the mouse wheel doesn't work for you?
Not as fine-grained as I was hoping. That scroll bar thing worked GREAT for me for 15 years!

I -wish- there was the equivalent of the 'nudge' commands--except that, instead of moving the cursor, the cursor stood still and the window moved. Apparently not.

Thanks.

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2515
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by peakae » Wed Dec 06, 2017 6:35 am

In C9.5 we now have alt+shift+click to move the play head anywhere we want.
Best feature ever :-)
For more precise movements I use a jog wheel.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by suntower » Wed Dec 06, 2017 7:02 am

peakae wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 6:35 am
In C9.5 we now have alt+shift+click to move the play head anywhere we want.
Best feature ever :-)
For more precise movements I use a jog wheel.
That -is- a very cool feature. The way I (had) work(ed) is this:

I hit play... and as the music goes by, when I hear something I want to edit, I stop, move back a bar or two and edit. The problem is that with 'Scroll' on, if I move back a bit, the window goes whooosh over to the middle. And if I -don't- have 'Scroll' on, if I move back a bit, the cursor moves off the screen.

But BEFORE, when Cubase had FAT SCROLLBARS, it was no problemo. I just tapped the scrollbar and the entire window moved just a little, teeny bit to the left to where the cursor was. Perfect.

NOW, trying to hit the SKINNY LITTLE B-I-ATCH SCROLLBARS makes the window go wooooozhango off maybe 1/3 of the length of the entire song. There's simply no fine-grain control.

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

ArchimonDe
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:47 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by ArchimonDe » Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:01 am

Hmm... did you guys hear of the Middle Mouse Button? When you hold it, you can literally move anywhere you want as fast as you want. For bigger jumps, you can always quickly outzoom using Ctrl+ScrollWheel, then move with Middle Mouse Button and then Ctrl+ScrollWheel to zoom in and it's super fast.
Main: Cubase PRO 9.5 (latest), Steinberg UR22 mkII, Windows 10 Pro, CPU i7 6700K, 32 GB RAM DDR3, GTX 1060 6 GB, 128GB SSD (system), 1TB SSD (Cubase, libraries), 2TB SSHD (projects, libraries)

Secondary: Cubase PRO 9.5 (latest), Steinberg UR242, Windows 10 Pro, CPU i7 6700HQ, 16 GB RAM DDR3, GTX 960M, 1TB SSHD

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by suntower » Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:08 am

ArchimonDe wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:01 am
Hmm... did you guys hear of the Middle Mouse Button? When you hold it, you can literally move anywhere you want as fast as you want. For bigger jumps, you can always quickly outzoom using Ctrl+ScrollWheel, then move with Middle Mouse Button and then Ctrl+ScrollWheel to zoom in and it's super fast.
I have heard of it. I seem to have to repeat myself to everyone who uses your 'trick'. -My- trick worked a -lot- better. Really.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

ArchimonDe
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Apr 02, 2017 5:47 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by ArchimonDe » Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:57 am

Well the, pardon my ignorance, but I'm not getting at all what you actually want... Because from reading all your posts it doesn't make any sense to me.
Main: Cubase PRO 9.5 (latest), Steinberg UR22 mkII, Windows 10 Pro, CPU i7 6700K, 32 GB RAM DDR3, GTX 1060 6 GB, 128GB SSD (system), 1TB SSD (Cubase, libraries), 2TB SSHD (projects, libraries)

Secondary: Cubase PRO 9.5 (latest), Steinberg UR242, Windows 10 Pro, CPU i7 6700HQ, 16 GB RAM DDR3, GTX 960M, 1TB SSHD

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2515
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by peakae » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:23 pm

It does to me, have you thought of using a macro, something like
Stop
Go back 1? bar ( not in front of Cubase right now)
Play
Maybe a zoom mem and zoom zap put in.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1661
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by djw » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:49 pm

suntower wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:08 am
ArchimonDe wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:01 am
Hmm... did you guys hear of the Middle Mouse Button? When you hold it, you can literally move anywhere you want as fast as you want. For bigger jumps, you can always quickly outzoom using Ctrl+ScrollWheel, then move with Middle Mouse Button and then Ctrl+ScrollWheel to zoom in and it's super fast.
I have heard of it. I seem to have to repeat myself to everyone who uses your 'trick'. -My- trick worked a -lot- better. Really.
There is no way using the scroll bar was faster than this. By middle click scrolling you don't need to move the mouse away from the window content each time you want to make an adjustment.
suntower wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:43 am
Seriously, NO ONE?
We're not your personal tech support.
🥕

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2515
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by peakae » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:09 pm

Ok in front of Cubase now, must have had a senior citizen moment there.
ctrl+Numpad - (minus) jumps back to the nearest Bar.
ctrl+Numpad + (plus) jumps forward to the nearest Bar.
In the generic remote there is "stepBackBar" in the Transport Device.

I know not the same as decently shaped scrollbars, one of those design over function decisions that were made by someone clearly newer using them.
Anyhow hope you can find a new way of doing things, best of luck.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

lordExtra
Junior Member
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2017 8:46 am
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by lordExtra » Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:33 am

I'm on a tablet, thus no mouse wheel for me. That scoll bar isn't any good and i'd be much in favour of a fix for the track overview, which is bigger and easier to hit. It's still jumping around randomly, needs a fix. Alternatively a modifier key + click and hold for panning as in the project window would do just fine. Defo needs some attention. Currently, my template is configured so I don't have to scroll the mixer in most cases. Works for my particular setup, but isn't ideal.
HP z820, dual 6core Xeon 2643v3 3.5GHz, 64GB ECC, AMD FirePro 5200, Samsung 850pro, UAD Octo PCIe, 2x RME Raydat, Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Windows 10 LTSB N Redstone, further stripped to the bone with NTLite.

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by suntower » Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:23 am

peakae wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:09 pm
Ok in front of Cubase now, must have had a senior citizen moment there.
ctrl+Numpad - (minus) jumps back to the nearest Bar.
ctrl+Numpad + (plus) jumps forward to the nearest Bar.
In the generic remote there is "stepBackBar" in the Transport Device.

I know not the same as decently shaped scrollbars, one of those design over function decisions that were made by someone clearly newer using them.
Anyhow hope you can find a new way of doing things, best of luck.
Thanks. The problem with all these... plus the scroll wheel... is that they are herky jerky.

As I wrote before, up until C9 you could hit Play and just gently tap the Scroll Bar during playback and get a nice -smooth- movement back a few beats or bars (depending on the zoom level). It was -very- user-friendly. Almost like using a nice scratch buttons on a DJ system. Which was PERFECT for listening, hearing a note you wanted to edit, stop, fix it. Go back to listening. Etc. A GREAT way to work.

Now? It's CLUNKY. It's like DJing on a -bad- system. Clunk. Clunk.Everything takes 4xs as long.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

cameron206
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:47 am
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by cameron206 » Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:47 am

I miss the bigger scrollbar, too.

I use the jog wheel more now.
i5 2500k / win10 / CubasePro9 / WavelabElements9 / iconQconPro

No1DaBeats
Senior Member
Posts: 1309
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by No1DaBeats » Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:17 pm

+1

I switched back from Mac to PC. And now I gotta use the shift button to scroll left and right with the trackpad. That‘s awful. I‘m used to the touch scrolling. My mouse is basically also a touchpad. So that doesn‘t work too. Everything else is fine. On the Mac I had that feature from the very beginning. I didn‘t know about that behavior because before I switched to Mac there was no multitouch at all. Guess I used the scroll bars in the bottom back then before they went from actually bars to lines. Which would be ok when horizontal scrolling would work without using the shift button. Frustrating!

And by the way: It works with the Magic Mouse on a PC.
I used Boot Camp on a Mac Mini before and it worked flawlessly!
Surface Book 2 (i7 16GB), Steinberg UR28M, Yamaha KX 49, Steinberg CMC CH, PD, TP & QC, Cubase Pro 9, WaveLab 8.0.2, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4

------

Life is too short for realtime-bouncing..

Jazzius
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by Jazzius » Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:44 am

I agree, i don't understand why there isn't a keyboard shortcut to smoothly move the whole project left or right in the arrange window or in an editor.

This one of the most annoying things about Cubase and seems so incredibly basic.
Last edited by Jazzius on Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:45 am, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1661
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by djw » Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:14 pm

Jazzius wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:44 am
I agree, i don't understand why there isn't a keyboard shortcut to smoothly move the whole project left or right in the arrange window or in an editor.
Why not use the middle mouse button?
🥕

Jazzius
Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by Jazzius » Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:53 pm

djw wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:14 pm
Jazzius wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:44 am
I agree, i don't understand why there isn't a keyboard shortcut to smoothly move the whole project left or right in the arrange window or in an editor.
Why not use the middle mouse button?
I use a Wacom tablet, not a mouse. And anyway, i control as much as possible of Cubase via keyboard shortcuts. This is a basic function for which there should be a k-cut!

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1579
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by suntower » Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:25 pm

djw wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:14 pm
Jazzius wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:44 am
I agree, i don't understand why there isn't a keyboard shortcut to smoothly move the whole project left or right in the arrange window or in an editor.
Why not use the middle mouse button?
Because not everyone works like you do. There are people who have been happily working away for 15+ years in this way and it really -hurts- to have to change something so basic to the ergonomics of the program. It's insensitive.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1661
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by djw » Sun Jan 14, 2018 9:45 pm

Jazzius wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 8:53 pm
djw wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:14 pm
Jazzius wrote:
Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:44 am
I agree, i don't understand why there isn't a keyboard shortcut to smoothly move the whole project left or right in the arrange window or in an editor.
Why not use the middle mouse button?
I use a Wacom tablet, not a mouse. And anyway, i control as much as possible of Cubase via keyboard shortcuts. This is a basic function for which there should be a k-cut!
I used to use it like that too, works great with the middle mouse button mapped to one of the rocker switches.

Learning how to use a program is all about adapting. Give it a try and see if you can get used to it.
🥕

No1DaBeats
Senior Member
Posts: 1309
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Window Scroll Key Command?

Post by No1DaBeats » Tue Jan 16, 2018 6:27 am

In any way it‘s one more move to do than on a Mac. Plus the new generation of mice has the possibility to use the middle mouse button but there actually isn‘t a real button. What if I work with a trackpad and use two-finger-scrolling? .. Like I said: every work around is one more step to do. If that problem would exist on macOS I wouldn‘t mind. But I already used it the easy way, so it‘s frustrating.
Surface Book 2 (i7 16GB), Steinberg UR28M, Yamaha KX 49, Steinberg CMC CH, PD, TP & QC, Cubase Pro 9, WaveLab 8.0.2, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4

------

Life is too short for realtime-bouncing..

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Brandy, Google [Bot], polgara, radja and 7 guests