C 9.5: new panner issue

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
Mikael
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

C 9.5: new panner issue

Post by Mikael » Sun Nov 26, 2017 6:30 pm

When I open an existing 9.0 project in 9.5, the panners of some channels do not work correctly. The affected channels signals output only appear on Left or Right of the target bus. When I move the panner, the behavior is erratic, sometimes leading to complete mute of the channel.

Needless to say, in 9.0 the same projects do work flawlessly.

Anybody having the same issue?

Regards, Mikael
SW: C 9.5.0 /64 & Wavelab 9 on W10/64
DAW 1: DA-X Extreme Haswell-E Xeon E5-2680V3 12-core workstation
DAW 2: Dell Precision T5500 2 x Xeon X5690 12-core workstation
Audio: 4 x rme HDSPe / Multiface II, 3 x Octamic II, 1 x rme Fireface UC
Surface: 3 x Avid MC Mix, 1 x MC Transport
Plugins: Audioease, Lexicon, Neve Portico, Yamaha Vintage, SlateDigital, Izotope, Pianoteq etc.

Martin.Jirsak
Grand Master
Posts: 9914
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: C 9.5: new panner issue

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Nov 28, 2017 1:03 am

Hi,

What is specific on these tracks, Is it one kind of tracks (Instrument or Audio)? Is it Mono/Stereo/5.1/Dolby track?

Could you share some example project, please?
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)

Mikael
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: C 9.5: new panner issue

Post by Mikael » Fri Dec 01, 2017 5:02 pm

I found out some details. It seems to be connected with track sends.

I have 2 reference C9.0 projects which I use daily. One of them is affected, one is not.

In the affected project, affected are 9 of the 44 tracks: audio tracks, group tracks etc, but not all audio tracks and not all group tracks. I am unable to find a common denominator here. Also, some affected tracks have standard panner, whereas others have combined panner.

I placed a testgenerator into the affected tracks so I can easily see the actual panning in the meters . Now here is the interesting part:
  1. I open the 9.0 project in C9.5, lets call it version1. The panner positions are displayed as they were saved in 9.0. However, the affected channels behave as if their panner is set hard left.
  2. Still in 9.5 I do a "save as" of the 9.0 project under a new name, lets call it version2, and I close the project
  3. Now I open version2 with C9.5. Now the panners of the affected tracks all show the hard-left pan! Now I set the panners of the affected channels to center position, and the audio shows it actually works center panned. I save the project as version3.
  4. Now I open version3 again with C9.5. The panners of the affected channels show the center setting as set in the previous step, but the audio again behaves "hard panned left".
No matter what I do at this point, the actual panning behavior of the affected channels always resets to "hard left" after the project is opened in C9.5.

Please find attached the project file "Panning Issue with 9.5.cpr". It shows the project in the state of "version2". If I open this project file in C9.5, all affected tracks show a hard-left panner. Affected are all tracks with a testgenerator in them.

Now I removed all sends from all channels. Now the behavior is different. If, with all sends removed, I place the panners of all affected channels to center position and save the project, the panner positions are correctly persisted, and when I close and open the project again, it works as expected.

Please also find attached the project file "Panning Issue with 9.5 after sends removed.cpr". It shows the state of the project after all sends have been removed, but before centering the affected tracks.
Panning Issue with 9.5.zip
Contains the 2 project files
(355.06 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Best regards, Mikael
SW: C 9.5.0 /64 & Wavelab 9 on W10/64
DAW 1: DA-X Extreme Haswell-E Xeon E5-2680V3 12-core workstation
DAW 2: Dell Precision T5500 2 x Xeon X5690 12-core workstation
Audio: 4 x rme HDSPe / Multiface II, 3 x Octamic II, 1 x rme Fireface UC
Surface: 3 x Avid MC Mix, 1 x MC Transport
Plugins: Audioease, Lexicon, Neve Portico, Yamaha Vintage, SlateDigital, Izotope, Pianoteq etc.

Martin.Jirsak
Grand Master
Posts: 9914
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: C 9.5: new panner issue

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:33 pm

I opened your project.

It's related to the automation. If you Deactivate All Read Automation, and move the Panner, then it works as expected.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)

RichardTownsend
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: C 9.5: new panner issue

Post by RichardTownsend » Thu Dec 07, 2017 7:03 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Thu Dec 07, 2017 1:33 pm
I opened your project.

It's related to the automation. If you Deactivate All Read Automation, and move the Panner, then it works as expected.
I wonder if this might be related to the automation enhancements in 9.5. I had an unexpected change in automation on one 9.0 project I opened in 9.5.
2015 MacBook Pro, 16Gb RAM, 500Gb SSD, Sierra, Cubase 9.x, Dorico 1.x, Mytek Brooklyn DAC, NI Kontrol 6, Neumann KH120 monitors, Focal Elear phones, NI Komplete, Omnisphere, Kontakt libraries, Serum

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: -6db, cameron206, Google [Bot], JMCecil, peakae, scarlatino and 8 guests