[CAN-12379] Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
viroxys
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:27 pm
Contact:

[CAN-12379] Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by viroxys » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:33 pm

Hi, when I record audio the waveform doesn't show, only when I open the audio editor I can see the waveform (as you can see in the picture).
Is anyone else having this issue? any idea for a fix?
Attachments
1.jpg
(384.17 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Fabio Bartolini on Thu Nov 23, 2017 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added ref. number

yossom10
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 5:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by yossom10 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 4:05 pm

Same same ...

Luis Dongo
Moderator
Posts: 907
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 2:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by Luis Dongo » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:25 pm

viroxys wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:33 pm
Hi, when I record audio the waveform doesn't show, only when I open the audio editor I can see the waveform (as you can see in the picture).
Is anyone else having this issue? any idea for a fix?
Hi viroxys,

try zooming in the waveform. You will find a small slider on the upper right hand side of the project area on your screenshot.

Regards
Luis Dongo
Junior Marketing Manager - Pro Audio

Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

viroxys
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by viroxys » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:33 pm

Luis Dongo wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:25 pm
viroxys wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:33 pm
Hi, when I record audio the waveform doesn't show, only when I open the audio editor I can see the waveform (as you can see in the picture).
Is anyone else having this issue? any idea for a fix?
Hi viroxys,

try zooming in the waveform. You will find a small slider on the upper right hand side of the project area on your screenshot.

Regards
Doesn't work. If I drag samples into the project the waveforms show, but if I record there's nothing.
Attachments
2.jpg
(333.19 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by Winter Rat » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:48 pm

It works with no probs.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1, Intel Core i7-4770, Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H, 16 GB, GeForce GTX 1050.

viroxys
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by viroxys » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:58 pm

Winter Rat wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:48 pm
It works with no probs.
Well for me it doesn't and I can't use Cubase without seeing the waveforms. I upgraded from Cubase 9 if that's any help.

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by fretthefret » Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:10 pm

Check your Preferences -> Event Display -> Audio
to ensure that Show Waveforms is checked and all display settings (brightness sliders,etc) in that section are correct
Cubase Pro 9.5, FL Studio 12.5, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 500gb Sandisk Ultra ii SSD, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

viroxys
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by viroxys » Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:22 pm

fretthefret wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:10 pm
Check your Preferences -> Event Display -> Audio
to ensure that Show Waveforms is checked and all display settings (brightness sliders,etc) in that section are correct
The settings are correct and the problem persists :|
Attachments
3.jpg
(387.41 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by Winter Rat » Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:37 pm

Trash preferences. This is the only idea I have in this case because there's some wave form in the sample Editor and nothing in the Project window... so something went wrong.. but not C9.5 in general.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1, Intel Core i7-4770, Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H, 16 GB, GeForce GTX 1050.

viroxys
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by viroxys » Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:17 pm

Winter Rat wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:37 pm
Trash preferences. This is the only idea I have in this case because there's some wave form in the sample Editor and nothing in the Project window... so something went wrong.. but not C9.5 in general.
I reset my preferences to default and it didn't help, so it has nothing to do with that.

skryking
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 19, 2016 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by skryking » Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:36 pm

Mine does the same thing as yours...but the waves show up if I zoom way into the track. I'm not sure why though.

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by planarchist » Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:50 pm

viroxys wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 7:17 pm
Winter Rat wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 6:37 pm
Trash preferences. This is the only idea I have in this case because there's some wave form in the sample Editor and nothing in the Project window... so something went wrong.. but not C9.5 in general.
I reset my preferences to default and it didn't help, so it has nothing to do with that.
Restting to default is not the same as trashing. You need to rename your Preferences files to force a rebuild.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

trainermb
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:07 pm
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by trainermb » Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:51 pm

Yup, I'm getting precisely the same effect -- no waveform display until I zoom in to about 2.5 secs showing on the screen. Then, hello!, waveform.

I've snooped through all the Users folders and the program's folders -- where is the Preferences file? And has anyone had success attacking the problem by renaming Preferences?

(Meanwhile, hi ho, hi ho, it's back to 9.0!)

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 559
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by Winter Rat » Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:32 pm

C:\Users\<UserName>\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\

Just rename folder < Cubase 9.5_64. > and be on the safe side <Cubase 9_64> and all other Cubase versions folder if you have them.

And YES, forcing Cubase to build preferences from scratch helps in many inexplicable situations like yours.
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1, Intel Core i7-4770, Gigabyte GA-Z87X-D3H, 16 GB, GeForce GTX 1050.

rudynicoletti
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2017 4:22 pm
Location: Rome, Milan, London
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by rudynicoletti » Fri Nov 17, 2017 2:56 pm

It works for me. i recorded some audio inside 9.5 and it displays all correctly

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 688
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by Matthias Quellmann » Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:05 pm

Just drag down the small waveform zoom slider at the top right of the project window. Everything is there, you have just zoomed to the max.

https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... ing_c.html
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Rolcab
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by Rolcab » Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:33 pm

Same but if I open a project created in Cubase Elements 9 the waveforms are shown but the new recordings not

Rolcab
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by Rolcab » Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:01 pm

Matthias Quellmann wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:05 pm
Just drag down the small waveform zoom slider at the top right of the project window. Everything is there, you have just zoomed to the max.

https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... ing_c.html
This method doesn't work.. all the tracks recorded with Cubase 9 are shown OK.

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2139
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by peakae » Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:09 pm

In your project folder there is a "Images" folder containing .peak files.
They should correspond with the audio files in the "audio" folder.
They can get corrupted by crashes. Using cloud services like Dropbox as project folder can also mess with the accessibility.
Or simply a permission issue, make sure you have full write access.
I know a little out there, but something to eliminate from the list of possibilities .
Cubase Pro 9.5, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Jezzpi
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by Jezzpi » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:44 pm

Hey guys, I had the same problem. During starting the Cubase 9.5 I held <Cmd> + <Shift> + <Alt> (Mac OS X) on Windows should be <Control> + <Shift> + <Alt>.https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support ... ences.html
Cubase showed me a special "safe start mode" window and I chose (delete program preferences) and it works for me.
It shows me the waveform on recorded audio content now.
Hope this helps.
Jezzpi

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by planarchist » Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:35 pm

Did anyone get an answer/solution to this to this yet? Happening on one of my systems (Win 10). I can't even see the waveform in editing. It#s recording and can see hit points but nothing else. Yes, all read and write permitted and the Peak files are being created. Yes, have zoomed in.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

trainermb
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 4:07 pm
Location: Pacific Northwest
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by trainermb » Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:56 pm

planarchist wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:35 pm
Did anyone get an answer/solution to this to this yet? Happening on one of my systems (Win 10). I can't even see the waveform in editing. It#s recording and can see hit points but nothing else. Yes, all read and write permitted and the Peak files are being created. Yes, have zoomed in.
I have a support ticket in -- should hear back next week if they have a fix. I'll post if it's useful.

I know about the "extra" zoom slider (the one that expands the amplitude of the waveform) and that has zero effect. It seems to be something in the .cpr (or companion) files -- as others have noted, files recorded in 9.0 show normally in 9.5. Files recorded in 9.5 that are then opened in 9.0, however, exhibit the same behavior as they do in 9.5, i.e., no waveform display until zoomed in to approximately 2.5 seconds of display across the screen, when the waveform suddenly appears.

It's not a "do not show waveforms" error, it's showing a waveform, not a blank track -- it's just a waveform with an amplitude of zero all the way across until zoomed in to that 2.5 second mark -- obviously nearly useless for most edits.

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by planarchist » Sat Nov 18, 2017 10:03 pm

Thanks trainermb, that sounds like exactly the same as what I'm seeing.
As you say if you zoom in enough on the horizontal axis the waveform suddenly appears. All waveforms recorded in 9 show just fine.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2139
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by peakae » Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:34 pm

Oh wait the last recording I did I was using C9 not C9.5 ( note to self, replace Cubase icon on desktop)
Will check tomorrow if I can reproduce this issue, already in bed, good night.
Cubase Pro 9.5, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 706
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: East Susex, England, UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 not showing recording waveforms

Post by planarchist » Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:23 am

peakae wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:34 pm
Oh wait the last recording I did I was using C9 not C9.5 ( note to self, replace Cubase icon on desktop)
Easily done...I thought it was happening in version 9 too until I realised I'd launched 9.5 again by mistake!
peakae wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:34 pm
Will check tomorrow if I can reproduce this issue, already in bed, good night.
Thanks, would be appreciated though I can't believe it's affecting all Windows 10 machines or there would have been more noise about it on here. I'm not seeing it on my Win 7 PC....sadly that's not the one I use for most recording.

I'm wondering if it's video card/driver specific and in some way connected to the GUI improvements they brought in with 9.5?
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: HeyItsDoug, l3v3l6 and 2 guests