Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Manolis Kaloudas
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Manolis Kaloudas » Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:42 pm

Hello, I have the following problem: I recently bought the upgrading of Cubase AI 9 to Cubase Artist 9.
Because these days are free to inform Cubase Artist 9.5, I was able to update Steinberg's key to Cubase Artist 9.5.
The problem is that when I installed on my computer Cubase Artist 9.5 does not open at all, please I would like your help.

User avatar
tonychung
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 4:59 am
Location: Coquitlam, Canada
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by tonychung » Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:06 pm

AMPAGE wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:26 am
OH what the heck. =( I *just* bought Cubase 9 Pro on 6/29/2017 and now this.. Can you please reconsider that grace period timeline. This chaps my hide, steinberg.
Agreed. I just saw another software company offer a more reasonable grace period of least three months (different type of application entirely). So while you would still be outside the grace period, you won’t feel as badly as I who am outside the grace period, having activated on Sept 17.

Moral of the story: wait for the .5 release every year. :-(

Melodialworks
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Melodialworks » Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:15 pm

How is the 64-bit engine enabled?

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Denis van der Velde » Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:23 pm

tonychung wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:06 pm
AMPAGE wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:26 am
OH what the heck. =( I *just* bought Cubase 9 Pro on 6/29/2017 and now this.. Can you please reconsider that grace period timeline. This chaps my hide, steinberg.
Agreed. I just saw another software company offer a more reasonable grace period of least three months (different type of application entirely). So while you would still be outside the grace period, you won’t feel as badly as I who am outside the grace period, having activated on Sept 17.

Moral of the story: wait for the .5 release every year. :-(
I Totally agree the Grace or Grazy period is way to short. I bought mine C9 in the shop. Lucky i could update to 9.0.3, but offcourse within a few months i can pay for C9.5. It is not what you expect from a software company that is worldwide and also owned by yamaha. To me all versions within the main versions are free updates (should) be, and very very very anoiing CRAZY period that is very very very short minded and short timed!

And you know what next is for sure Halion 6.5! and i can get my wallet again out...
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C95,W95,Halion6,Groove Agent,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFI Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Romantique Tp » Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:18 pm

Denis van der Velde wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:23 pm
I Totally agree the Grace or Grazy period is way to short. I bought mine C9 in the shop. Lucky i could update to 9.0.3, but offcourse within a few months i can pay for C9.5. It is not what you expect from a software company that is worldwide and also owned by yamaha. To me all versions within the main versions are free updates (should) be, and very very very anoiing CRAZY period that is very very very short minded and short timed!

And you know what next is for sure Halion 6.5! and i can get my wallet again out...
Didn't you get Cubase Pro 9 back in June, half a year ago? What are you complaining about?
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Denis van der Velde » Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:24 pm

Romantique Tp wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 2:18 pm
Denis van der Velde wrote:
Wed Nov 22, 2017 12:23 pm
I Totally agree the Grace or Grazy period is way to short. I bought mine C9 in the shop. Lucky i could update to 9.0.3, but offcourse within a few months i can pay for C9.5. It is not what you expect from a software company that is worldwide and also owned by yamaha. To me all versions within the main versions are free updates (should) be, and very very very anoiing CRAZY period that is very very very short minded and short timed!

And you know what next is for sure Halion 6.5! and i can get my wallet again out...
Didn't you get Cubase Pro 9 back in June, half a year ago? What are you complaining about?
All i say when you buy a software version LIKE 9.xx you should get updates free within the version.
Next is i expected when i buy C9 in August 2017, the updates expected free within the version.
Last time C9.5 was updated i saw that 18 oktober was the last day for anyone, that was just 3 or 4 weeks.
When you buy something you dont expect that your free update period is only 4 weeks max.
But most C users and S users are prob used to paying for updates within the version.
This is not really usual in software land... :!: :!: :!: :lol: :lol: :D :D
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C95,W95,Halion6,Groove Agent,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFI Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

User avatar
soul patch
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:55 pm

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by soul patch » Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:21 pm

Nice update, one of the better ones in a while. My only gripe is still about those skinny scroll bars being difficult to use.
i7 5820k, Win 10, Cubase 9.5

Melodialworks
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Melodialworks » Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:05 pm

Melodialworks wrote:
Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:15 pm
How is the 64-bit engine enabled?
Is this something that you have to enable, or is it 64-bit by default?

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Romantique Tp » Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:17 pm

Melodialworks wrote:
Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:05 pm
Melodialworks wrote:
Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:15 pm
How is the 64-bit engine enabled?
Is this something that you have to enable, or is it 64-bit by default?
You have to enable it. Go to this Window:
https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... ?hl=64-bit

Contrary to what the manual says, the 64-bit mixing engine will actually reduce CPU usage most of the time, but it uses more RAM.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Tarquam
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Tarquam » Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:53 pm

Just updated, awesome new features, great release!

!!BUT!!

What happened to GUI?
In 9.0.3 all was so nice, smooth, soft, light, good looking. Now - everything is so edgy, harsh, hard to look at, different fonts, stupidly colored menus, selections,...50% of color customisation is gone. Is it some unfinished coding or is it meant for real? I love the update with all stuff but this is driving me crazy
Attachments
cubase 9.5.png
(313.68 KiB) Not downloaded yet
cubase 9.0.3.png
(338.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Romantique Tp » Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:56 pm

You'll get used to it.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Tarquam
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2015 9:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Tarquam » Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:13 pm

Romantique Tp wrote:
Fri Nov 24, 2017 8:56 pm
You'll get used to it.
Well, that's not what I expected as an answer...

--- at Steinberg headquarters ---
BOSS: "Hey, let's make a new update!"
WORKER1: "Yeah, let's make a bunch of cool new features!"
WORKER2: "Yay, and let's make it look good so users can feel good when working!"
BOSS: "What? I don't care about feelings, just make an update and make it fast, I need money for Christmas." :idea:

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1669
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by djw » Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:37 am

Softness/anti-aliasing will return (known issue).

The different color settings... I second Romantique there.
🥕

Geppastro
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Geppastro » Sat Nov 25, 2017 10:20 am

djw wrote:
Sat Nov 25, 2017 1:37 am
Softness/anti-aliasing will return (known issue).
I'm sorry, it sounds interesting but I don't understand what you're referring to in the current thread. :?:
Paolo
Hardware (desktop): i7-880 3.06 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM ; Asus P7H55-M/USB3 ; Echo Gina 24 PCI sound card ; ESI M8U XL 8x8 midi interface ; Steinberg CMC-TP.
Software (desktop): : Windows 8.1 Enterprise (64 bit) / Cubase Pro 9.5 v9.5.20 (64 bit) / WaveLab Pro 9 v9.0.35 (64 bit) / HALion 6 v6.1.0 (64 bit) / HALion Symphonic Orchestra / Synthogy Ivory II American Concert D.
Software (laptop Sony VAIO i5-4200U 2.29 Ghz ; 8 Gig RAM): Windows 10 Home (64 bit) / Cubase Elements 9.5 v9.5.20 (64 bit).
Monitors: Genelec 8030.

monososko
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 9:15 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by monososko » Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:21 pm

tonychung wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 11:06 pm
AMPAGE wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:26 am
OH what the heck. =( I *just* bought Cubase 9 Pro on 6/29/2017 and now this.. Can you please reconsider that grace period timeline. This chaps my hide, steinberg.
Agreed. I just saw another software company offer a more reasonable grace period of least three months (different type of application entirely). So while you would still be outside the grace period, you won’t feel as badly as I who am outside the grace period, having activated on Sept 17.

Moral of the story: wait for the .5 release every year. :-(
The same - my upgrade to Artist was activated 09_2017 and bang! 9.5 11_2017 with 1 month grace period, I hate U steinberg. :cry:

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 3015
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by Romantique Tp » Wed Nov 29, 2017 1:55 pm

The grace period was the same as previous years.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

ARNK
Junior Member
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Aug 08, 2013 8:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by ARNK » Mon Dec 04, 2017 12:52 am

Compared to the outrageous prices Propellerhead Reason charges for upgrades ($129.00/€129.00), $59 bucks seems reasonable considering (most likely) more work was put into the Steinberg update than the new version of Reason. IMHO.

User avatar
Denis van der Velde
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:41 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

So how is C9 updated in the future ?

Post by Denis van der Velde » Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:23 am

I just bought C9 in summer, i have an 9.0.30 update, does this mean after 6 months my bought C9 will not get any updates anymore ?????
I7 8core 16tread 32gb Aopen Board, SSD Samsung. C95,W95,Halion6,Groove Agent,etc.
Running on 8ms Latency with a Soundblaster XFI Pro.

Denis van der Velde
http://www.curioza.com
AAMS Auto Audio Mastering System for Windows

User avatar
ANeeman
Member
Posts: 256
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:30 am
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by ANeeman » Mon Dec 11, 2017 5:52 pm

Almost all is okay. C9.5 works pretty well.
About grace period - I agree with many comments about strange grace period. I upgrade to Artist 9.0 in Oct.2. Grace period starts at Oct.17. So what? I miss all "black friday" offers too. Will wait for next year? No! I must work today. Last week I upgraded to Pro 9.5, because Artist 9.5 didn't allow 80 tracks of audio.

Thank you Steinberg's people. The best DAW I've used in projects. And this is more than 100 songs and compositions.

Best wishes!

P.S. I'm waiting for bugfix 9.5, Romantique Tp told that it will be released next (this) week. Only one reason - not to reach problems people talking about in Issues subforum ;)
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Win10, 3.40 GHz, 16GB. Cubase Pro 5.5.3, WinXP, 1.6 GHz, 2 GB.
Steinberg: Half of Absolute3, Native Instruments: FORM, MASSIVE, PRISM
Hardware: UR242, MG10XU, CS1x
Albums: Nature. Water (2017) | Oracle (2017) | Two. Midnight Talks (2015)

relayer
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2011 1:56 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by relayer » Sun Dec 31, 2017 11:32 am

Hi. Bought the Cubase Pro 9.5 update from 9.0 yesterday through the Steinberg Shop site. Tried adding the Media Pack to the order but it wouldn't let me. Why is that?

vagelisda
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:04 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by vagelisda » Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:16 am

Hello guys ,I'm about to finally upgrade my daw.
I found a good priced cubase 9 pro educational ( I'm still studying) .
If I buy it now ,will I be able to get 9.5 pro for free as it is stated in the grace period section,or is it different with "educational" versions?
Thanks

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1574
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 is now available

Post by planarchist » Wed Feb 28, 2018 7:55 pm

vagelisda wrote:
Sat Feb 24, 2018 10:16 am
Hello guys ,I'm about to finally upgrade my daw.
I found a good priced cubase 9 pro educational ( I'm still studying) .
If I buy it now ,will I be able to get 9.5 pro for free as it is stated in the grace period section,or is it different with "educational" versions?
Thanks
Yes, you’ll get the free update to 9.5.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.21, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, Tascam US1800, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1, Steinberg CI2+, Yamaha THR5.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Reflection and 9 guests