Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2139
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by peakae » Sat Nov 18, 2017 6:54 am

Jan Lamberts wrote:
Fri Nov 17, 2017 11:18 pm
Installed Cubase 9.5 and it's working fine.
But . . .
I can't open Cubase 8.5 anymore because the licence is gone.
The Activation code in the ECC licenser is not accepted anymore.
I need Cubase 8,5 because I still have to convert a lot of 32bit songs.
What do I have to do?
Have you actually tried opening Cubase 8.5 ?
The 9.5 license works for any older version of Cubase.
You can’t mix Pro, Artist and Elements versions.
Cubase Pro 9.5, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Romantique Tp
Senior Member
Posts: 1647
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Nov 18, 2017 7:17 am

If you're using Cubase 8.5 on another computer, you'll have to update the eLicenser Control Center database, otherwise it wont see your Cubase 9.5 license. Run Maintenance Tasks.
Last edited by Romantique Tp on Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
;)

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

john springate
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by john springate » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:40 pm

Is anyone else having problems with hub news feed? tried re-newing preferences but still nothing. Working perfect in 8.5
Cubase 9 iMac 2011 i7 16Gb Ram Steinberg UR22

anteas
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by anteas » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:10 pm

hello,
yesterday I bought the upgrade from the pro version 9 to the pro version 9.5. I paid, I downloaded, I followed instructions but my cubase pro 9 still remains on the version 9.0.30 build 266 of 20 Jul and that we can read on the splashscreen at the start of the software. In elicenser control center I have a license cubase 9.5 but not my software does not take into account.
You have any ideas??
Thank you

Romantique Tp
Senior Member
Posts: 1647
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:13 pm

Cubase Pro 9.5 doesn't replace/remove Cubase Pro 9. Make sure you're running the correct executable file.
;)

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

anteas
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by anteas » Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:46 pm

Romantique Tp wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:13 pm
Cubase Pro 9.5 doesn't replace/remove Cubase Pro 9. Make sure you're running the correct executable file.
not inteligent as answer

SKlogic
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 10:31 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by SKlogic » Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:12 pm

I very very happy with new cubase! 9.5 is gamechanger! 4 day ago i want to buy a new ableton 10...but now I am happy with cubase! I want to see Automatic Audio Alignment from nuendo

Romantique Tp
Senior Member
Posts: 1647
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:32 pm

anteas wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:46 pm
not inteligent as answer
If you followed the instructions and installed Cubase Pro 9.5 correctly then you're simply running the wrong .exe. That's all I can tell you with the info you provided.

Check if there's a Cubase 9.5 folder in C:\Program Files\Steinberg and run the program from there.
;)

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

nsharpstudios
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Aug 17, 2015 1:04 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by nsharpstudios » Sun Nov 19, 2017 12:06 am

So excited that Cubase is back on track again! Thanks Steinberg - so happy.
Mac Pro 2012, OSX 10.12.6, Cubase 9.5, VEP6.0.16502, RME HDSPFX, SSL XLogic Alpha-Link, RME ADI-648 - Sampler 1: Mac Pro 2012 12 Core 128GB OSX 10.12 - Sampler 2: Mac Pro 2012 12 Core 128GB OSX 10.12 - Sampler 3: Mac Pro 2012 12 Core 128GB OSX 10.12

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 1811
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by MrSoundman » Sun Nov 19, 2017 1:06 am

suntower wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:15 am
Some people MUCH PREFER reading about new features than sitting through videos
+1 -- by all means continue to make the videos for those with short attention spans, but please not at the cost of proper documentation. We've already had to suffer the loss of a proper printed manual. Do not make us invoke consumer protection law.
Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 9.5.10 | WaveLab 9.5.15 | HALion 6.0.15 | Groove Agent 4.2.40 | Midex 3/Midex 8 | x64 only

User avatar
JoPo
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by JoPo » Sun Nov 19, 2017 1:56 am

Curves in automation are nice but should have been implemented since decades. But the really bad, stupid, scandalous thing is the new color feature ! Now, it's a monochromatic interface ! Sad and hugly to suicide ! Incomprehensible !

viewtopic.php?f=250&t=126412
____________________________________________________________________________________

> > > > > > > > > > > > Musica --> here ! < < < < < < < < < < < <
____________________________________________________________________________________

anteas
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by anteas » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:02 am

Romantique Tp wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 8:32 pm
anteas wrote:
Sat Nov 18, 2017 2:46 pm
not inteligent as answer
If you followed the instructions and installed Cubase Pro 9.5 correctly then you're simply running the wrong .exe. That's all I can tell you with the info you provided.

Check if there's a Cubase 9.5 folder in C:\Program Files\Steinberg and run the program from there.
and where is the good exe file ??

anteas
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by anteas » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:06 am

in C:\Program Files\Steinberg\Cubase 9 it's always the same

anteas
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2017 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by anteas » Sun Nov 19, 2017 11:13 am

problem fixed thx :)

User avatar
JoPo
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by JoPo » Sun Nov 19, 2017 8:18 pm

- Midi data reduction still applied to all track instead of selected CC ! Since years !

- Track loop still shifted when longer than 2 bars ! Since years !
____________________________________________________________________________________

> > > > > > > > > > > > Musica --> here ! < < < < < < < < < < < <
____________________________________________________________________________________

kcstudiohk
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 15, 2013 12:22 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by kcstudiohk » Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:35 am

pro :
Offline effect is great !
Curve Automation line is great !

cons / bugs :
With many VST Plugins GUI refresh rate are terrible ... like FabFilter Q 2...
Mixer board sometimes render incorrect
windows GUI still not support hiDPI...
OMF export still not support split stereo ... (protools cannot import ..)
not AAF ... *flower* .. (btw Nuendo AAF didn't support split stereo too... )
BAD GUI COLOR ....

TrakShak
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 1:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by TrakShak » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:17 am

A question before I install: Is everyone able to still run version 9.0.x after the installation of 9.5? I can't afford any down time and want to be sure. Reading about the issues of 9.5 not importing settings means a long and miserable day of setting up, time I don't have.
Thanx!

Romantique Tp
Senior Member
Posts: 1647
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by Romantique Tp » Mon Nov 20, 2017 10:27 am

Yes, Cubase upgrades don't remove your previous version, they're installed alongside each other.
;)

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

seasalt
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by seasalt » Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:23 pm

Hi there,

Cubase user for many, many years. I think this release is monumental. Almost perfect for my needs. One thing I would like though is for the zoom sliders to be bigger. There is not much to aim at and I find hovering and scrolling with the mouse slightly cumbersome. My eyesight is not so good these days!

One other thing, perhaps I imagining it but the Audio Performance seems greater than in v.9. I have never seen it so overloaded frankly. I am on a 3Ghz, 8 core, MacPro with 64gb ram. Seems not quite right.

But yes, a masterpiece! Thank you.

RealRaven2000
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by RealRaven2000 » Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:22 pm

We need our settings back. like others said, you could be really nice and provde a settings importg wizard. or you could be MERELY POLITE and describe what to do to import the settings. here is the absolute minimum:

1) Recent Projects & Templates in steinberg hub
2) CONNECTIONS! Let us importg the settings we made for Inputs / OUtputs & Control Room
3) Macros
4) PLugins (at least optional why do we have to go through the whole process of scanning & blacklisting again?)
5) General Settings, Colors etc.
6) Track Presets,

If it is too hard or dangerous to do, why not provide a pdf that describes how to do this manually? Also, why not give the option of "in-place" updating for the .5 updates, it seems like a little bit of a waste of space to have separate directories for each version.

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1072
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by fenderchris » Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:39 pm

RealRaven2000 wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:22 pm
Also, why not give the option of "in-place" updating for the .5 updates, it seems like a little bit of a waste of space to have separate directories for each version.
It's all about finding a way to get more money out of the users while attempting to cover up bug fixes with new features.

In the past, .5 updates were not charged for.

With regard to Preferences, it is beyond belief that, after all these years, Steinberg appear to be unable to keep control of preference settings from version to version. Why on earth do they think it acceptable to put the users through all this 'trash the preferences' garbage with every update?
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-7 Pro 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Nuendo-7.1.40 64-bit, Wavelab-6, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Halion Sonic 2, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth)
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.

User avatar
JoPo
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Sat May 21, 2011 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by JoPo » Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:41 pm

RealRaven2000 wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:22 pm
We need our settings back. like others said, you could be really nice and provde a settings importg wizard. or you could be MERELY POLITE and describe what to do to import the settings. here is the absolute minimum:

1) Recent Projects & Templates in steinberg hub
2) CONNECTIONS! Let us importg the settings we made for Inputs / OUtputs & Control Room
3) Macros
4) PLugins (at least optional why do we have to go through the whole process of scanning & blacklisting again?)
5) General Settings, Colors etc.
6) Track Presets,

If it is too hard or dangerous to do, why not provide a pdf that describes how to do this manually? Also, why not give the option of "in-place" updating for the .5 updates, it seems like a little bit of a waste of space to have separate directories for each version.
Just take the 9.0 roaming folder content and copy it in the 9.5 folder, that's it ! If you need to be very careful, make a copy of the roaming 9.5 folder before to overwrite it.
I would be seek for one week if I would loose all my settings ! :shock:

For collors, you can die. :roll:
____________________________________________________________________________________

> > > > > > > > > > > > Musica --> here ! < < < < < < < < < < < <
____________________________________________________________________________________

User avatar
fenderchris
Senior Member
Posts: 1072
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:30 pm
Location: Planet Palmer
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by fenderchris » Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:47 pm

JoPo wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:41 pm
Just take the 9.0 roaming folder and copy it in the 9.5 folder, that's it ! If you need to be very careful, make a copy of the roaming 9.5 folder before to overwrite it.
I would be seek for one week if I would loose all my settings ! :shock:
This should not be necessary. The update program should be able to do this and provide a non-stressful experience for the user.
Chris

The Archers - give it a rest already!

Windows-7 Pro 64-bit, i7 Quad core 2.66 15GB ram, Nuendo-7.1.40 64-bit, Wavelab-6, 2x MR816CSX, RME FireFace UFX, SmartAV Tango-1 + 12-fader expansion, MOTU Express 128, UAD-2 Quad, Lexicon PCM-91, Lexicon MPX-550, TC-Fireworx, Halion-5, Halion Sonic 2, Kontakt-5, Roland V-Drums TD-20X
Cubase iC Pro for iPhone and Android (killed by its parents at birth)
Omnisphere, Trillian + loads of real instruments.

roel
Member
Posts: 762
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by roel » Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:14 pm

made the survey.
I want to mention the demo project that was made for 9.5.
People should listen to it.
It's maybe not everyones cup of tea, but if you want to see how it should/can be used, this demo is just superb.

kind regards and keep up the good work,
and oh yeah: get rid of the "can not record audio bug" that shouldn't have been there at all. :-)

R.
Cubase 9.x, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

Romantique Tp
Senior Member
Posts: 1647
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9.5 Feedback Survey

Post by Romantique Tp » Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:04 am

fenderchris wrote:
Mon Nov 20, 2017 8:39 pm
It's all about finding a way to get more money out of the users while attempting to cover up bug fixes with new features.

In the past, .5 updates were not charged for.
That has nothing to do with his post.

You're also forgetting a few things:

-There hasn't been a free X.5 update in almost 10 years.
-When X.5 updates were free they were MUCH smaller in scope.
-X.1 updates, like the one Nuendo just got, fulfill the same role as old X.5 updates.
-Installing a major update on top of your previous version blindly is stupid. If you run into issues that get in the way of work with the newer version, you're screwed because there's no easy way to go back to the previous version if you just overwrite it.
Why on earth do they think it acceptable to put the users through all this 'trash the preferences' garbage with every update?
If you have to trash your preferences with every update then there's something seriously wrong with your setup.
;)

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Jim B, nunl97 and 6 guests