Midi over Bluetooth?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
Pipey
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:59 pm
Contact:

Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by Pipey » Mon Nov 06, 2017 10:00 pm

Hi Guys,

Is it possible to have a Roland FP30 piano linked to Cubase Pro9 via bluetooth?

My computer picks up the Roland no problem but can't seem to find a way to link it to Cubase?

Reason for this is simply can't get my piano close enough to wire it in via USB.

Thanks in advance, Pipey

User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
Posts: 2934
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by jaslan » Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:12 am

I have had the Korg NanoKey Studio working in Cubase over Bluetooth. I am on Windows 10, if that helps.
Cubase Pro 9.0.30. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 3.6.5. and Jamstix 4.0. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4470
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by Grim » Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:35 am

How do you know your computer picks up the Roland no problem?

Windows 10 (At least anniversary edition) is the only win with BT support case you didn't realise.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

Pipey
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by Pipey » Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:11 pm

Grim wrote:
Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:35 am
How do you know your computer picks up the Roland no problem?

Windows 10 (At least anniversary edition) is the only win with BT support case you didn't realise.
Because it pairs with it via bluetooth?

Read somewhere on here that somebody had done it with cubase pro 9 but seems to be the only one unless I'm missing something?

Pipey
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by Pipey » Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:12 pm

jaslan wrote:
Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:12 am
I have had the Korg NanoKey Studio working in Cubase over Bluetooth. I am on Windows 10, if that helps.
What procedure did you use to to get Cubase to add the input of the Korg?

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4470
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by Grim » Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:29 pm

Pipey wrote:
Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:11 pm

Because it pairs with it via bluetooth?
OK....so it's pairing but is Windows seeing it as a midi/audio device in device manager?
And in Cubase midi port setup window is it completely missing??
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by AP » Tue Nov 07, 2017 11:23 pm

Last time I tried that it didn't work. I also sent a ticket to support they advised me that it's not working on Mac. iPad, iPhone and Cubase but it works perfectly with all other DAWs like logic and Garage Band. Support told me that Steinberg would fix this in the future...
Cubase Pro 9.5. 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.12.6. UR28M, CMC.

Lasso
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by Lasso » Tue Nov 07, 2017 11:28 pm

I have a Bluetooth keyboard and it’s nothing but trouble. Plays fine for a couple of minutes then sync goes mad. Of course it could be the keyboard, could be the os (mac), could be cubase but I never had any luck
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, El Capitan, Cubase Pro 9 lates release, Wavelab 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
Posts: 2934
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by jaslan » Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:41 am

Pipey wrote:
Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:12 pm
jaslan wrote:
Tue Nov 07, 2017 12:12 am
I have had the Korg NanoKey Studio working in Cubase over Bluetooth. I am on Windows 10, if that helps.
What procedure did you use to to get Cubase to add the input of the Korg?
Unfortunately, I can't help much. I was test driving a new computer with Blue Tooth (current machine does not have it). I did have it working but I ended up returning the computer and I am still on my "old" one now (without Blue Tooth). I don't remember having to do anything unusual though. There is a driver from Korg that I had to install. Something about Windows MIDI Bluetooth driver. After that, it just showed up in Cubase. That is about as much as I can remember.
Cubase Pro 9.0.30. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 3.6.5. and Jamstix 4.0. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by AP » Wed Nov 08, 2017 1:23 pm

I just wanted to add that you can get it to send midi signal to Cubase but the problem
Is it's not time stamping correctly. In other words what you will play is not what you will get.
Cubase Pro 9.5. 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.12.6. UR28M, CMC.

Pipey
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by Pipey » Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:47 pm

Grim wrote:
Tue Nov 07, 2017 10:29 pm
Pipey wrote:
Tue Nov 07, 2017 7:11 pm

Because it pairs with it via bluetooth?
OK....so it's pairing but is Windows seeing it as a midi/audio device in device manager?
And in Cubase midi port setup window is it completely missing??
Yes Grim, it is in the Windows device manager but not in the Cubase midi port set up?

Pipey

Pipey
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Mar 24, 2015 1:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by Pipey » Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:50 pm

AP wrote:
Tue Nov 07, 2017 11:23 pm
Last time I tried that it didn't work. I also sent a ticket to support they advised me that it's not working on Mac. iPad, iPhone and Cubase but it works perfectly with all other DAWs like logic and Garage Band. Support told me that Steinberg would fix this in the future...
Thanks AP

tepa
Junior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 8:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by tepa » Wed Nov 08, 2017 6:30 pm

Do you think that Steinberg is working on the new Midi API in Windows 10 ?
Because that new Midi API will bring some very good improvement like in the Bluetooth, and some others, in my case the Midi Multi Client Access would be so welcome !!! :mrgreen: It's the only thing that make me regret Mac OS. But thank you to Loop midi & Midi-OX. Sorry a little off topic.
Nuendo 8 (last version) / Cubase 9 / Win Pro 10 / i7-4770 3.7Ghz / Ram 16G DDR3 / RME UFX / RME FF800 / PowerCore / UAD 2 (1 Octo & 1 Quad) / SSD / nVIDIA

digi001
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:08 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by digi001 » Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:30 pm

This sounds like a terrible idea and something Apple would do......let's stick to the core features that work fine.
Buy a damn $40 MIDI interface and run a 50 foot Midi Cable.

If your keyboard doesn't have MIDI out, then get a new keyboard.... (shop for something in the PRO Section this time).

Otherwise have fun on Ableton or Garageband/Logic, maybe they will incorporate this for you.

Ok rant over.... ha :)

User avatar
planarchist
Member
Posts: 707
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by planarchist » Thu Nov 09, 2017 12:52 pm

How far away is it anyway? You can use 5m USB cables no problem (I do) ....... has anyone used Bluetooth as a controller in this way? The only Bluetooth devices I've used have latency much higher than I'd accept for musical input. I've not checked the latency from using USB repeater cables to extend the 5m but it might be worth looking into.
Nic

Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
Cubase Pro 9.5.0, Absolute Collection 3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 7 Ult 64 bit SP1
Tascam US1800, Steinberg Midex 8.

Cubase Elements 9 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM
Cubasis 1.9.9 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
Posts: 2934
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by jaslan » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:53 am

I finally did actually get a new machine and I have been successfully using the Korg NanoKey Studio over Bluetooth when away on travel. It seems to work just fine in terms of timing. Of course, I am not playing complex things on it. Just bass lines and simple melodies but it seems to be in time after I record.
Cubase Pro 9.0.30. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 3.6.5. and Jamstix 4.0. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 560
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by AP » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:25 am

jaslan wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:53 am
I finally did actually get a new machine and I have been successfully using the Korg NanoKey Studio over Bluetooth when away on travel. It seems to work just fine in terms of timing. Of course, I am not playing complex things on it. Just bass lines and simple melodies but it seems to be in time after I record.
Which version of Cubase ? Pro 9 or 9.5 ??
Cubase Pro 9.5. 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.12.6. UR28M, CMC.

User avatar
jaslan
Senior Member
Posts: 2934
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Midi over Bluetooth?

Post by jaslan » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:35 am

Cubase Pro 9.0.30.
Cubase Pro 9.0.30. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 3.6.5. and Jamstix 4.0. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 40W, martinbaba, TheMaestro and 2 guests