Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
User avatar
Stephen57
Member
Posts: 942
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Stephen57 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:18 pm

raino wrote:
Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:47 am
Stephen57 wrote:
Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:45 pm
The other impressive set-up I've seen recently involves Metagrid and i-pads.
I bought an iPad just to get this. Not only can you assign Key Commands to pads, you can also assign Macros and Logical Editor Presets. Also you can create macros on the Metagrid that combine all three of the above.
I'm sure I'll do these, too, this year. I'm sold, I'm just not ready buy. :) heh
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 9 (current release); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converter, Scarlett 2I4; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST Instruments: Steinberg: HSSE, Retrologue 2, Groove Agent SE, Padshop, Mystic, Prologue, Spector; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3.

For help with Cubase:
Documentation - https://steinberg.help/
Everything you need to know about Generic Remote setups --
viewtopic.php?f=226&t=102993
The Steinberg Forum Knowledgebase for Users by Users viewtopic.php?f=198&t=23576

User avatar
Stephen57
Member
Posts: 942
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Stephen57 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:35 pm

mitchiemasha wrote:
Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:57 pm
Possibly the most important thing to speed up workflow. If you haven't spent days thinking about them already... You should.

....

Hopefully with help I can finally get this finished and back to making music.
Great document, thank you.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 9 (current release); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converter, Scarlett 2I4; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST Instruments: Steinberg: HSSE, Retrologue 2, Groove Agent SE, Padshop, Mystic, Prologue, Spector; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3.

For help with Cubase:
Documentation - https://steinberg.help/
Everything you need to know about Generic Remote setups --
viewtopic.php?f=226&t=102993
The Steinberg Forum Knowledgebase for Users by Users viewtopic.php?f=198&t=23576

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:47 pm

Stephen57 wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:35 pm
Great document, thank you.
Thanks... I was hoping to get some insight on other users favourites and reasoning. Still quite a few I'm undecided on.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2236
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by raino » Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:41 pm

mitchiemasha wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:47 pm
Stephen57 wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:35 pm
Great document, thank you.
Thanks... I was hoping to get some insight on other users favourites and reasoning. Still quite a few I'm undecided on.
It is pretty dependent on each individual's workflow. Every so often I scan the available Key Commands and always discover something that didn't used to seem useful in the past but now does.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
Stephen57
Member
Posts: 942
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Stephen57 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 3:36 am

raino wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:41 pm
mitchiemasha wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:47 pm
Stephen57 wrote:
Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:35 pm
Great document, thank you.
Thanks... I was hoping to get some insight on other users favourites and reasoning. Still quite a few I'm undecided on.
It is pretty dependent on each individual's workflow. Every so often I scan the available Key Commands and always discover something that didn't used to seem useful in the past but now does.
I keep going back to one of SunTower's "annual requests" which is that the Key Commands show when you mouse-over different things. I see the same process. The command lists suggests ways to edit or create tracks. :-)
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 9 (current release); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converter, Scarlett 2I4; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST Instruments: Steinberg: HSSE, Retrologue 2, Groove Agent SE, Padshop, Mystic, Prologue, Spector; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3.

For help with Cubase:
Documentation - https://steinberg.help/
Everything you need to know about Generic Remote setups --
viewtopic.php?f=226&t=102993
The Steinberg Forum Knowledgebase for Users by Users viewtopic.php?f=198&t=23576

commondenom
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 11, 2015 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by commondenom » Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:38 pm

with the new version i've set = to reset meters..... it's a must when mixing

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:09 pm

raino wrote:
Mon Dec 04, 2017 11:41 pm
It is pretty dependent on each individual's workflow. Every so often I scan the available Key Commands and always discover something that didn't used to seem useful in the past but now does.
Totally. And, I'm seriously interested in that work flow... I just watch a video last night and stumble on the 'Hold Ctrl Mouse Wheel' I'd seen this done before but wasn't sure what the user was doing, it makes my zoom mod totally redundant and is infinitely better way to work. i'd of not of learned this otherwise.

Discussing keycommands etc, can help us speed up speeding up workflow.

Same as 'Sample Replace' this is an AWESOME feature almost completely hidden to users.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Tue Dec 05, 2017 2:14 pm

commondenom wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:38 pm
with the new version i've set = to reset meters..... it's a must when mixing
Good choice. I added reset meters, It's very important. I'd like it to reset all the VST's meters too. I used #. =/- are increase/decrease Quantise size. I used = instead of + to avoid having to press shift.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Pablo1980
Junior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Pablo1980 » Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:30 pm

mozart wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:12 am
I've just recently found that you can change the quantise value "bars, beats or quantise" with a key command which is really useful....Got to add that to the xkeys next :-)
Where is that located in the keycommands categories? I have a different language and can´t seem to find it
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Motu 24ao - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 10 64bit - Cubase 9.5 Pro - Vepro 6

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:23 am

Pablo1980 wrote:
Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:30 pm
Where is that located in the keycommands categories? I have a different language and can´t seem to find it
SELECT NEXT GRID TYPE in Edit... It's on my PDF, an essential for sure. I use `¬ key (left of all the numbers). I use shift `¬ to skip through Snap Types.
Last edited by mitchiemasha on Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:28 am

My NEW favourite is '|' key (Shift \)... 'Snap Point to Cursor'. For too many years I've struggled zooming in and out to grab the snap point and drag it to where i want it in the audio file, not no more. This is an ESSENTIAL speedy workflow Key Command, one surely fit for the 'Ultimate' list.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1733
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by GargoyleStudio » Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:56 am

Snap Point to Cursor - very very useful.

Ever since I used Premier Pro I've reprogrammed the = and - for zoom in and out :) Way better than g and h.

I also reprogrammed most of the cursor tools so I can edit quickly with the left hand while the right hand does the mouse, e.g. 1=pointer, 2=scissors, 3=mute, 4=audition. I've also got rewind set as the ` key which is top left of the keyboard for me, so I can quickly rewind with my left hand during editing - saves a whole bunch of time I find.

Some great tips here, keep them coming!!

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb9 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves]

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2236
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by raino » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:05 am

I don't think :? anyone has pointed out yet that you can assign Key Commands to any Macros or Logical Editor Presets you create. This lets you do some very powerful stuff with a single key stroke.

Also I've always been able to remember the KCs that I use all the time, but the ones used less often are easy to forget. I tried to solve this by keeping a list of KCs I wanted to learn/use more often. Problem was that it was often easier to mouse through the menus than find the KC in the list (or find the list buried on my desk under who-knows-what). So it wasn't a very effective way to introduce additional KCs into my workflow. Then I came up with an approach that really worked for me.

First I built a spreadsheet table of KCs grouped in a way that made sense to me so I could easily find them. Then instead of printing the table (so it could get lost on my desk) I used the Windows Snipping Tool to make a graphic of it. Then I used that graphic as my Windows Desktop background. Now it's always easily available either on a monitor without anything on it, or if all the monitors are in use moving the mouse to the lower right corner of monitor 1 lets me peek at the Desktop.

EDIT:
Here's my current Desktop, which is not close to current.
Cubase Key Commands.JPG
(118.33 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by raino on Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1733
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by GargoyleStudio » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:15 am

I like the background graphic idea!! Another quick way of looking at the desktop graphic is to create a 2nd desktop (click Win+Tab and use the + sign) and then use Ctrl-Win-RightCursorKey and Ctrl-Win-LeftCutsorKey to swap desktops. If desktop 2 is kept clear then will show the desktop graphic.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb9 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves]

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2236
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by raino » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:26 am

GargoyleStudio wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:15 am
I like the background graphic idea!! Another quick way of looking at the desktop graphic is to create a 2nd desktop (click Win+Tab and use the + sign) and then use Ctrl-Win-RightCursorKey and Ctrl-Win-LeftCutsorKey to swap desktops. If desktop 2 is kept clear then will show the desktop graphic.

Mike.
Wow, that's pretty cool. Didn't know you could have more than one desktop. Could you have 2 instances of Cubase running on different desktops?
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:59 am

GargoyleStudio wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:56 am
Ever since I used Premier Pro I've reprogrammed the = and - for zoom in and out :) Way better than g and h.

I also reprogrammed most of the cursor tools so I can edit quickly with the left hand while the right hand does the mouse, e.g. 1=pointer, 2=scissors, 3=mute, 4=audition. I've also got rewind set as the ` key which is top left of the keyboard for me, so I can quickly rewind with my left hand during editing - saves a whole bunch of time I find.
Ditching G and H was one of the first to go. These < > became my zoom (including , . ) but I've just discovered today, using a short cut keys for Zoom is redundant. Hold Ctrl and use the Mouse Wheel or Shift and use the Mouse Wheel. It works so beautifully. I use Alt Gr , . (< >) to zoom on 1 track and a few others for specific options.

I'm not so quick with editing so the right mouse button selecting a tool is enough to not use the numbers for tools.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Dec 06, 2017 5:12 am

raino wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:05 am
you can assign Key Commands to any Macros or Logical Editor Presets you create.
Having a look through yours now. I've only created 2 Macros, 1 I use continuously. It's set locators to selection, zoom to, loop and play.

What you've described is exactly why i started this myself. The little jotted down notes of different ones were getting out of hand. I needed to come up with a way that if one forgets, it's a logical pattern, reason behind the key, with a thought out table, compact, stripped so the key can easily be found. 1 thing leads to another and every few months i'll spend a day on it.

I've made mine widescreen landscape so it can stand under the monitor or slide under the keyboard and still be seen. Design and lay out of the tables is half the pain.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Pablo1980
Junior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Pablo1980 » Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:47 pm

GargoyleStudio wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:56 am
also got rewind set as the ` key which is top left of the keyboard for me, so I can quickly rewind with my left hand during editing - saves a whole bunch of time I find.

Some great tips here, keep them coming!!

Mike.
I have one macro (alt+space bar) that locates selection start, then goes back a bar and starts playing.

It’s like play from selection start but it gives you a bar before for context. Very handy when editing
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Motu 24ao - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 10 64bit - Cubase 9.5 Pro - Vepro 6

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:54 pm

Pablo1980 wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:47 pm
I have one macro (alt+space bar) that locates selection start, then goes back a bar and starts playing.

It’s like play from selection start but it gives you a bar before for context. Very handy when editing
STOLEN!!! if you care to share the details that is. I'll add it to the list as i often want to hear a prerun to start, Spacebar.

I use ALT Gr (the right Alt) for lower zone toggle. Left Alt is free!
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2236
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by raino » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:58 pm

Some years ago I got a gaming mouse although I'm not a gamer in any way. But they have a bunch of extra programmable buttons that can be used for Key Commands. Great to have your most used commands literally in the palm of your hand.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Pablo1980
Junior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Pablo1980 » Fri Dec 08, 2017 12:55 pm

mitchiemasha wrote:
Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:54 pm
Pablo1980 wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 1:47 pm
I have one macro (alt+space bar) that locates selection start, then goes back a bar and starts playing.

It’s like play from selection start but it gives you a bar before for context. Very handy when editing
STOLEN!!! if you care to share the details that is. I'll add it to the list as i often want to hear a prerun to start, Spacebar.

I use ALT Gr (the right Alt) for lower zone toggle. Left Alt is free!
Bear in mind that I use a Spanish version so the commands could be wrong but the macro is:

Transport - Locate selection start
Transport - nudge or push -1 bar (I don´t remember the exact term in english)
Transport - Start


I think that one of my most used key commands is +1 bar and -1 bar
And the most most most used shortcut: I have a mouse with several buttons and I have one that opens and closes the key editor. Incredibly handy!
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Motu 24ao - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 10 64bit - Cubase 9.5 Pro - Vepro 6

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 340
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Fri Dec 08, 2017 4:17 pm

Gaming mouse! That'll be something for me to look forward too once my current mouse finally breaks. or, possibly the first treat of 2018.

Thanks for the Macro. Hopefully I'll get to try it out on Saturday.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Pablo1980
Junior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Pablo1980 » Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:48 am

Some advice on gaming mouses, pay attention to the shape and ergonomics besides the number of buttons, I bought a large logitech (g600 I think) and couldn´t get used to it, my hand and wrist ached a lot. I replaced it with a anywhere mouse and I love it.
Just a couple of buttons are enough. If you pair it with Autohotkey you can use alt shift and ctrl to have more combinations.
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 3930k - Gigabyte x79s-up5 wifi - 32gb ram - Motu 24ao - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 10 64bit - Cubase 9.5 Pro - Vepro 6

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2236
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by raino » Sun Dec 10, 2017 1:16 am

Pablo1980 wrote:
Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:48 am
Some advice on gaming mouses, pay attention to the shape and ergonomics besides the number of buttons, I bought a large logitech (g600 I think) and couldn´t get used to it, my hand and wrist ached a lot. I replaced it with a anywhere mouse and I love it.
Just a couple of buttons are enough. If you pair it with Autohotkey you can use alt shift and ctrl to have more combinations.
Excellent point.

At the risk of going a bit off topic, but ergonomics is so important, another thing I do is use two entirely different types of mice. The DAW has a regular gaming mouse, but the mouse on my general use PC that I'm using right now has a mouse that looks kind of like a joystick. It doesn't rock back & forth like a joystick, but when using it the hand is in a position similar to holding a mug. It took a couple of days to get used to it. But having to switch hand positions throughout the day helps stave off repetitive motion injuries.
https://www.amazon.com/3M-Wireless-Ergo ... 3354535011
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.0.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion5, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1733
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by GargoyleStudio » Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:31 am

RSI - I use my studio mouse with the right hand and my 'office' mouse with the left hand to avoid repetitive strain injury... Even though key commands may make the work quicker and more efficient I find that it also becomes more intense and that definitely translates to aches and pains. Getting a good working position is very important.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb9 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves]

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: djn14, Prock and 6 guests