Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Mon Aug 21, 2017 7:57 pm

Possibly the most important thing to speed up workflow. If you haven't spent days thinking about them already... You should.

Here's were I'm at with a lot of the basics, following as much logic as possible. The PDF will updated but the link will always be the same.
https://drive.google.com/open?id=0BzUqo ... XlTYlIyb1E

The key needs to be extremely obvious to its command and how what it does one way, links to the other... Use of ^shift etc! (edit: attempting to avoiding, the alt, shift, ctrl, confusion that happens between originals).

Image

Edit: The picture will likely not be the latest version and is a screen shot. I'm updating the list quite frequently, use the pdf link above for better quality. I'll happily share the cubase keycommand file too at any stage, just ask, I'll add it when it's pretty much done.

I especially like [{}] to control the locators, place and goto, Ctrl manually adding the locator value and ALT Gr being the Zones.
Use of <> alt/shift/ctrl for various zooms, this frees up needed letter keys. And, the numbers being quantise type, 3 for trips, 5 for dotted togs.
BackSpace for Close Window. E to open the editor and V to open the VST instrument of the current track.

What are your favourites and Logic behind them?
Does anyone know how to hide all Lanes? This is one i'm seriously in need of.

Hopefully with help I can finally get this finished and back to making music.
Last edited by mitchiemasha on Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:22 pm, edited 10 times in total.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1669
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by djw » Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:30 am

I wouldn't be against 9.5 getting a default keycommand overhaul based on logic like here. Or course it should remain as similar as it can be, and the legacy map should be available too.
πŸ₯•

mozart
Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mozart » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:12 am

I've assigned many of my key commands that involve modifiers to an X-keys unit (well two units now in fact). It's really speeded things up...

http://www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk/x-keys-review/
Music for Film and TV

www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:04 pm

djw wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:30 am
I wouldn't be against 9.5 getting a default keycommand overhaul based on logic like here. Or course it should remain as similar as it can be, and the legacy map should be available too.
I too would be against a change in the original keyCommands. I did mention this when writing my original post but removed it to keep things short. It would cause issues for many users and it's best they leave it for us to pick ourselves. KeyCommands are going to be very unique and personal, functions not used, keys needed for other things. We also get a deeper connection in memory to our choices, if we spend time making them. We'll learn them easier this way.

They did make a few changes in the jump to 5 but I rarely used any, not sure which. I will add, most of my keyCommands have stayed the same. Some will be changed back. Many of my choices have jumped across they keyboard over the past few weeks.

Is there anything specific you think is bad with my logic? Something i might of missed or is it simply that it changes some originals?

My idea here is to offer insight for new users or old users (like myself) who have left it so long before developing their own. For too long I've been using menus but now I realise any feature you menu dive for, you should make a keycommand, the next time you dive for it.
Last edited by mitchiemasha on Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:20 pm, edited 3 times in total.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:08 pm

mozart wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:12 am
I've assigned many of my key commands that involve modifiers to an X-keys unit (well two units now in fact). It's really speeded things up...

http://www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk/x-keys-review/
These look great. I like the pad better but have more space for strips. My typing keyboard sits ontop of my master music keyboard, just behind the keys.

Any specific Command your favourite?

From your opening words in your blog post... it sounds like we've had a similar battle. Now which is it... Alt.. Shift... Ctrl... I'm trying hard to overcome that barrier by making the logic carry across.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1404
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Stephen57 » Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:09 pm

Cubase does include some pre-defined Key Command sets that are named for some other popular DAWs. What I like best about the Key Commands is that I can map my own to suite my own needs and then save that as a Preset. If I want a function under key command, I'll first check to see what Cubase may be using and then I'll decide if I need that more than the function I want to put under command. For example, the default for "T" is to toggle internal vs. external time-base, I reassigned it to "Transpose."

Key Commands are great and I like how they work. The ones I use most are the ones I've customized for my own comfort.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30; PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converter, Scarlett 2I4; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST Instruments: Steinberg: HSSE, Retrologue 2, Groove Agent SE, Padshop, Mystic, Prologue, Spector; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Generic Remote setups: viewtopic.php?f=226&t=102993
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2641
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by peakae » Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:10 pm

I use them as they are, added a few of my own. But I work sometimes on different computers and cubase installs and having different key commands is then a nightmare.
I just did add a Arturia Beatstep as a generic remote. That gives me 16 pads for additional commands/macros and they can be banked, so it's really 3 times 16.
Upper row 8 encoders are set to quick track control, lower 8 for vst quick controls, and the big encoder for jog wheel.
Pads are big enough to be labeled.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1669
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by djw » Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:52 pm

The user profiles are technically portable if you copy the xml files over, I think. Maybe this should be an easier feature?
πŸ₯•

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:13 pm

Stephen57 wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:09 pm
For example, the default for "T" is to toggle internal vs. external time-base, I reassigned it to "Transpose."
Exactly... what use is 'toggle internal vs. external time-base'? I have set T for Transpose (if you mean the pitch editor window?) I wasn't sure if it should be Ctrl T to match Ctrl P for Audio Pool, Ctrl Q for the Qantize panel, Ctrl H for History etc!
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:14 pm

djw wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:52 pm
I think. Maybe this should be an easier feature?
+1... I do like how the keyCommands window works but finding the actual file is a little hidden.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1583
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by suntower » Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:19 am

My only gripe with Key Commands is that there are several needed functions which don't have them.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
greggybud
Member
Posts: 993
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by greggybud » Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:31 am

suntower wrote: ↑
Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:19 am
My only gripe with Key Commands is that there are several needed functions which don't have them.
And if you have tool tips enabled, I have discovered several tool tips where the KC is labeled something totally different than the tool tip. I think they should be labeled the same for consistency.

For example: Mouse over the "audition" button in the sample editor it says "audition," but then open key commands, type "audition" in the search and the only result is "MIDI-audition through midi inserts/sends? :?:

So how was I able to assign the "audition" KC? I opened the sample editor tool bar set up, and discovered it's called "StartStop Preview" not "audition." Consistency anyone?
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

mozart
Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mozart » Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:24 am

mitchiemasha wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 4:08 pm
mozart wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:12 am
I've assigned many of my key commands that involve modifiers to an X-keys unit (well two units now in fact). It's really speeded things up...

http://www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk/x-keys-review/
These look great. I like the pad better but have more space for strips. My typing keyboard sits ontop of my master music keyboard, just behind the keys.

Any specific Command your favourite?

From your opening words in your blog post... it sounds like we've had a similar battle. Now which is it... Alt.. Shift... Ctrl... I'm trying hard to overcome that barrier by making the logic carry across.
Thanks :-)

I suppose my favourite in terms of simplicity would be my "zero at cursor". Just because the x-keys allows for the alpha numeric input. I use the windows magnifier a lot as my close vision isn't quite what it used to be. However, the keys I use most are "show tracks data" and "show all tracks"

I've just recently found that you can change the quantise value "bars, beats or quantise" with a key command which is really useful....Got to add that to the xkeys next :-)
Music for Film and TV

www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk

mozart
Member
Posts: 264
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mozart » Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:27 am

mitchiemasha wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:13 pm
Stephen57 wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:09 pm
For example, the default for "T" is to toggle internal vs. external time-base, I reassigned it to "Transpose."
Exactly... what use is 'toggle internal vs. external time-base'? I have set T for Transpose (if you mean the pitch editor window?) I wasn't sure if it should be Ctrl T to match Ctrl P for Audio Pool, Ctrl Q for the Qantize panel, Ctrl H for History etc!
I've assigned "T" to "search tracks" as I keep losing them in my template. :-)
Music for Film and TV

www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1404
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Stephen57 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:32 pm

mozart wrote: ↑
Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:27 am
mitchiemasha wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:13 pm
Stephen57 wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:09 pm
For example, the default for "T" is to toggle internal vs. external time-base, I reassigned it to "Transpose."
Exactly... what use is 'toggle internal vs. external time-base'? I have set T for Transpose (if you mean the pitch editor window?) I wasn't sure if it should be Ctrl T to match Ctrl P for Audio Pool, Ctrl Q for the Qantize panel, Ctrl H for History etc!
I've assigned "T" to "search tracks" as I keep losing them in my template. :-)
Being able to change them to suit our own needs is what's good about key commands. I find I use the Key Commands I need rather than trying to memorize the whole default list. However, by searching and looking over the available choices I discovered capabilities I didn't know Cubase had. Much development time has gone into creating the default set. I let that guide me into making the best use of KCs, but, the most useful KCs for me are the ones I've assigned myself.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30; PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converter, Scarlett 2I4; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST Instruments: Steinberg: HSSE, Retrologue 2, Groove Agent SE, Padshop, Mystic, Prologue, Spector; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Generic Remote setups: viewtopic.php?f=226&t=102993
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1404
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Stephen57 » Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:45 pm

mozart wrote: ↑
Tue Aug 22, 2017 11:12 am
I've assigned many of my key commands that involve modifiers to an X-keys unit (well two units now in fact). It's really speeded things up...

http://www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk/x-keys-review/
Beautiful set-up. The other impressive set-up I've seen recently involves Metagrid and i-pads. Ultimately I think it's easier to have Icons rather than remembering Key Commands. Can you imagine a fast-moving fast-food place trying to run if the check out people needed to know Key Commands to ring up orders?

Others have gone outside of Cubase with add-on macro programs, but that seems to be only adding another layer of complexity. However, if there are functions that can not be put under KC with the Cubase set, as suntower mentions, one of those programs may offer a solution. I'm not sure about that, but I'd take a look.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30; PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converter, Scarlett 2I4; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST Instruments: Steinberg: HSSE, Retrologue 2, Groove Agent SE, Padshop, Mystic, Prologue, Spector; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Generic Remote setups: viewtopic.php?f=226&t=102993
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:31 pm

mozart wrote: I've just recently found that you can change the quantise value "bars, beats or quantise" with a key command which is really useful....Got to add that to the xkeys next :-)
Yes... I use that a lot so it was 1 of my first... the ` key, furthest left of the number. As numbers are my Quantise, it perfect. I'd have to agree, searching the keycommands has revealed a few things i didn't know was available.
mozart wrote: I've assigned "T" to "search tracks" as I keep losing them in my template. :-)
lol! my projects aren't that big... Yet. I'll have to have a play with how search tracks works. I saw the option and was curious to how it would function but i'm yet to use it.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Wed Aug 23, 2017 9:47 pm

greggybud wrote: And if you have tool tips enabled, I have discovered several tool tips where the KC is labeled something totally different than the tool tip. I think they should be labeled the same for consistency.
+1. This should be as standard.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1583
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by suntower » Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:21 am

True Dat.

And don't get me started on how some commands are mis-labeled (like the line tool is a 'curve'.)

I'm not trying to be picky (OK, I am) but there should be a mechanism for tidying up these things as years go by.

greggybud wrote: ↑
Wed Aug 23, 2017 6:31 am
suntower wrote: ↑
Wed Aug 23, 2017 4:19 am
My only gripe with Key Commands is that there are several needed functions which don't have them.
And if you have tool tips enabled, I have discovered several tool tips where the KC is labeled something totally different than the tool tip. I think they should be labeled the same for consistency.

For example: Mouse over the "audition" button in the sample editor it says "audition," but then open key commands, type "audition" in the search and the only result is "MIDI-audition through midi inserts/sends? :?:

So how was I able to assign the "audition" KC? I opened the sample editor tool bar set up, and discovered it's called "StartStop Preview" not "audition." Consistency anyone?
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:43 pm

Don't know why i didn't think of this simple 1 earlier.

Changing
Alt G: Add Group to Add Group to selected
Alt F: Add Fx to Add FX to selected
Everytime we add a Group or FX it will want a track or 2 routed to it. No reason to not want the short cut key at it's simplist level to do the most work. Fits with Alt V: VCA to selected

Alt Β¬ is now add Marker track as M was taken up by Midi, Shift Alt M was too much.
Off line Process History has gone, its a new window in 9.5 f7.
Ctrl Backspace: Delete overlaps mono, Ctrl Shift Backspace: Delete overlaps poly

And... I've changed Return to be Bounce selected. Shift Return: Selected to Sample Track. No need for Return to open a window.

Still a few more to work out like Edit active part only, I can't settle on this one.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
raino
Senior Member
Posts: 2710
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by raino » Sat Dec 02, 2017 12:47 am

Stephen57 wrote: ↑
Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:45 pm
The other impressive set-up I've seen recently involves Metagrid and i-pads.
I bought an iPad just to get this. Not only can you assign Key Commands to pads, you can also assign Macros and Logical Editor Presets. Also you can create macros on the Metagrid that combine all three of the above.
rodger

Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Win7 Home Premium 64bit (downgraded after disastrous Win10 upgrade), Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 929
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by J-S-Q » Sat Dec 02, 2017 11:09 am

Stephen57 wrote: ↑
Wed Aug 23, 2017 7:45 pm
Others have gone outside of Cubase with add-on macro programs, but that seems to be only adding another layer of complexity. However, if there are functions that can not be put under KC with the Cubase set, as suntower mentions, one of those programs may offer a solution. I'm not sure about that, but I'd take a look.
I've done quite a lot of this with Autohotkey. e.g. I use it to make a key command that switches between the A/B settings of an open plugin window, which cannot be done with standard Cubase key commands (unless they've added it in 9.5 - I haven't checked).

Anyway... I think key command use in general is the number one way to speed up your work,
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 635
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Steve Helstrip » Sat Dec 02, 2017 3:28 pm

Anyone serious about key commands just needs to buy metagrid for iPad. Game changer.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.13.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.13.4
Cubase Pro 9.5.21
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by mitchiemasha » Sat Dec 02, 2017 8:23 pm

Yeah they seem good... there's little chance i'll be adding anything extra to my set up. I like to utilise what is already there.
AMD Phenom II x4 965 3.75GHz (OC). Obsidian 6Gb Ram (2 died). Geforce 8600GT. 2x500 Sata 3 HD Raid 0. Carillon Case.
Cubase Pro 9.5. Virus TI (Integrated!) Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080.
2x Presonus Firestudio. Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1404
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Lets Talk KeyCommands... The ULTIMATE KeyCommands

Post by Stephen57 » Sun Dec 03, 2017 5:17 pm

mitchiemasha wrote: ↑
Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:43 pm
Don't know why i didn't think of this simple 1 earlier.

Changing
Alt G: Add Group to Add Group to selected
Alt F: Add Fx to Add FX to selected
Everytime we add a Group or FX it will want a track or 2 routed to it. No reason to not want the short cut key at it's simplist level to do the most work. Fits with Alt V: VCA to selected

Alt Β¬ is now add Marker track as M was taken up by Midi, Shift Alt M was too much.
Off line Process History has gone, its a new window in 9.5 f7.
Ctrl Backspace: Delete overlaps mono, Ctrl Shift Backspace: Delete overlaps poly

And... I've changed Return to be Bounce selected. Shift Return: Selected to Sample Track. No need for Return to open a window.

Still a few more to work out like Edit active part only, I can't settle on this one.
I like these, good ideas. Thanks. :-)
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.30; PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converter, Scarlett 2I4; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST Instruments: Steinberg: HSSE, Retrologue 2, Groove Agent SE, Padshop, Mystic, Prologue, Spector; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Generic Remote setups: viewtopic.php?f=226&t=102993
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

Post Reply

Return to β€œGeneral”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: James K and 10 guests