Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
CipheredDesigns
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by CipheredDesigns » Sun May 14, 2017 9:48 am

Windows 10, dual Xeon user here.
As expected, absolutely nothing changed after this work-around.
Cubase continues to make life harder with its audio dropouts
Cubase Pro 9
Wavelab Pro 9.5
Halion 6
UR44
WIN 10 Pro 64bit


Dual Xeon E5-2630 v3
ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS
64GB Registered ECC DDR4-2133
Nvidia Quadro M5000
512GB SSD Samsung 850 Pro Series
2x 2TB WD Caviar Black (no raid)

vinark
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by vinark » Mon May 15, 2017 10:50 am

This is a heavy one. You have 2X8 core and 2X16 threads. What happens if you disable hyperthreading? If still as bad then this work around will do nothing either. You could limit Cubase to one CPU and see how that works.

CipheredDesigns
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by CipheredDesigns » Mon May 15, 2017 4:34 pm

vinark wrote:You could limit Cubase to one CPU and see how that works.
If you mean disabling multi-processing in the device setup, it doesn´t make any difference.
I can´t see any perfomance improvement even after disabling hyperthreading in the bios setup.
Working with cubase is a nightmare for me.
Cubase Pro 9
Wavelab Pro 9.5
Halion 6
UR44
WIN 10 Pro 64bit


Dual Xeon E5-2630 v3
ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS
64GB Registered ECC DDR4-2133
Nvidia Quadro M5000
512GB SSD Samsung 850 Pro Series
2x 2TB WD Caviar Black (no raid)

Cat
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by Cat » Mon May 15, 2017 4:38 pm

Have you tried the audioengine.properties workaround ?

CipheredDesigns
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by CipheredDesigns » Mon May 15, 2017 4:45 pm

Sure, see my post above.
Cubase Pro 9
Wavelab Pro 9.5
Halion 6
UR44
WIN 10 Pro 64bit


Dual Xeon E5-2630 v3
ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS
64GB Registered ECC DDR4-2133
Nvidia Quadro M5000
512GB SSD Samsung 850 Pro Series
2x 2TB WD Caviar Black (no raid)

vinark
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by vinark » Mon May 15, 2017 4:49 pm

No I meant limiting cubase to one cpu. In task manager you can set cpu affinity. If you select the first half of all available you are running on one physical cpu. It is stupid fix if it even is a fix but it will help with the diagnose.

CipheredDesigns
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2012 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by CipheredDesigns » Mon May 15, 2017 5:05 pm

Thanks, didn´t know about that. Changed to one core only but this makes things worse. Now I´m getting crackles and more dropouts when I play some notes. I´ve only one instance of a simple piano instrument open.
Cubase Pro 9
Wavelab Pro 9.5
Halion 6
UR44
WIN 10 Pro 64bit


Dual Xeon E5-2630 v3
ASUS Z10PE-D8 WS
64GB Registered ECC DDR4-2133
Nvidia Quadro M5000
512GB SSD Samsung 850 Pro Series
2x 2TB WD Caviar Black (no raid)

vinark
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by vinark » Mon May 15, 2017 6:24 pm

Depending on if you see 32 cores (with HT) or 16 cores change to running on 16 or 8 cores. One core is to few. And leave multi processing on!

matkeller
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 9:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by matkeller » Mon May 15, 2017 9:54 pm

I wanted to chime in and say I've been having audio dropouts in Win10 64 bit on Cubase 8 and 9 on both a 4 core (8 logical) single Xeon workstation and on my new 8 core (16 logical) i7 6900K. I bought the new machine and upgraded to 9 to get around the random dropouts but to no avail. I've tried dropping the CPU's to 14 in BIOS (which I've confirmed a few different ways) and using the audioengine.properties workaround. I have ASIO guard off, it's set to background services, all Intel speed step, C-states, and power saving features are off, no extra audio devices, all drivers up to date, etc. I tried switching video cards today and busted my soft e-licenser somehow.

I'm tracking a full band on Wednesday and we'll see if I get through it or not. I'm on a monster machine and still getting dropouts that stop recording. My Passmark benchmark ratings of my machine vs every machine in it's database: CPU: 99th percentile, Disk Mark: 99th percentile, Memory Mark: 93rd percentile. Exporting projects on my new machine is no faster than my old Xeon machine. It's really frustrating.

I've wasted so much time and money on this I'm about to jump ship after roughly 20 years of Cubase. I'm still hoping for a stability release or some workaround so I can focus on recording and mixing again. I record with every VST disabled and huge latencies and I'm afraid to touch the mouse like it's 1998 again. WHAT IS GOING ON???

Best of luck everyone!
Mat

Cat
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2011 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by Cat » Tue May 16, 2017 3:37 am

Do you use, by chance, Ewql Spaces?

I have a Xeon 12 cores/ 24 threads, I worked today the whole day watching the Asio meter and no problem. Stable and no spikes, without any workarounds implemented. I usually don't care about the asio meter because I render offline (not real time). I have a huge template with lots of VEPro instances both on the DAW computer and on 2 other slave PCs. However, once I add ewql Spaces, things go hectic; the ASIO meter starts to jump up and down like crazy. I try to avoid using Spaces (I run lots of other reverbs) but sometimes I just have to, before I render.

Maybe I am not pushing it hard enough?...I will do more tests tomorrow, watching the ASIO meter.
matkeller wrote:I wanted to chime in and say I've been having audio dropouts in Win10 64 bit on Cubase 8 and 9 on both a 4 core (8 logical) single Xeon workstation and on my new 8 core (16 logical) i7 6900K. I bought the new machine and upgraded to 9 to get around the random dropouts but to no avail. I've tried dropping the CPU's to 14 in BIOS (which I've confirmed a few different ways) and using the audioengine.properties workaround. I have ASIO guard off, it's set to background services, all Intel speed step, C-states, and power saving features are off, no extra audio devices, all drivers up to date, etc. I tried switching video cards today and busted my soft e-licenser somehow.

I'm tracking a full band on Wednesday and we'll see if I get through it or not. I'm on a monster machine and still getting dropouts that stop recording. My Passmark benchmark ratings of my machine vs every machine in it's database: CPU: 99th percentile, Disk Mark: 99th percentile, Memory Mark: 93rd percentile. Exporting projects on my new machine is no faster than my old Xeon machine. It's really frustrating.

I've wasted so much time and money on this I'm about to jump ship after roughly 20 years of Cubase. I'm still hoping for a stability release or some workaround so I can focus on recording and mixing again. I record with every VST disabled and huge latencies and I'm afraid to touch the mouse like it's 1998 again. WHAT IS GOING ON???

Best of luck everyone!
Mat

jpbanks
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by jpbanks » Tue May 16, 2017 11:41 pm

I'm running an Athlon 2.6GHz with 4 cores with 16GB and Win10 and I continually get spikes. It's very annoying but I've come to accept it. Guess I'd rather deal with this than to go back to Sonar but there may come a day when enough is enough.

JP
AMD Athlon II X4 620 @2.60 GHz, 16.0 GB, GeForce 9500 GT, Steinberg UR22, 64-bit Windows 10 Home

oyyzz1
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by oyyzz1 » Thu May 18, 2017 7:40 pm

Has anyone else tried this simple fix? - really helped on my system.

viewtopic.php?f=226&t=97152%20-%20p537505
Truth is God is Love is Light is Why is How is You.
So let the Light of Love of God of Truth return you to yourself. TTW 1978

http://www.thomastheodorewelborn.com/We ... tudios.htm

Main DAW: Cubase Pro 8.5.20; 64bit, WIN10 64bit on Dell XPS 8500, Intel i7, 32 GB Ram, MOTU 2408mk3, UAD2 Duo and UAD2 Solo, VSL SE extended, EWQL SC & SO;

soundpeaks_net
Junior Member
Posts: 185
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:14 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by soundpeaks_net » Mon May 22, 2017 7:49 am

I have audio dropouts on basic 11 wav tracks played at once. Is that an issue for me?

PeppaPig
Member
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by PeppaPig » Mon May 22, 2017 8:40 pm

soundpeaks_net wrote:I have audio dropouts on basic 11 wav tracks played at once. Is that an issue for me?
Make sure you have a proper professional audio driver selected - not the default one.
Cubase Pro 9.5, Pro9.0.20. WaveLab 9 EL. UA Apollo Quad FW, UA PCI Octo, UA Satelite Quad, US Golden Audio pre73 DLX, Intel i7 6850x@4.2Ghz (6C/12T), Asus x99 Deluxe II, AMD 6450 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Samsung 840 and 850 SSDs, 64Gb RAM - Melodyne Studio, Komplete ultimate 11, Halion 6, GA,GA2,GA3,GA4 (+sp), OZ6, OZ7, OZ8 adv, Neutron Adv, BFD3, SoundToys rack, Panorama P1, M-Audio Oxygen, Yamaha YPP55 - outboard: PRO VLAII, Digitech Time machine RDS4000, 1950s Ferrograph Series 5, Mics: AKG C1000S, Rode NT2A and M5 pair, SE2200A, SE X1R, Fame-VT67, Heil PR20&PR22

GPnicolett
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:11 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by GPnicolett » Tue May 23, 2017 6:34 am

Will the audioengine.properties file work on Cubase 8 systems?

Is an OS level update expected? Seems like this would affect all DAWs, no?

Also, I don't understand what I'm looking for when running the mmcss-test file. I run it, and I get this:

starting 128 threads
threads with MMCSS priority: 32
threads failed to set MMCSS priority: 96
Press any key to continue . . .

What does this tell me?
Greg Nicolett | Composer
http://www.gregnicolett.com
Cubase 8.5, MacPro 12-Core 3.4gHz 2010, 32gbRAM, Apogee Fireface 802, VSL Ensemble Pro and Kontakt 5

vinark
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by vinark » Tue May 23, 2017 11:15 am

GPnicolett wrote:Will the audioengine.properties file work on Cubase 8 systems?

Is an OS level update expected? Seems like this would affect all DAWs, no?

Also, I don't understand what I'm looking for when running the mmcss-test file. I run it, and I get this:

starting 128 threads
threads with MMCSS priority: 32
threads failed to set MMCSS priority: 96
Press any key to continue . . .

What does this tell me?
That you do not have this problem. On a 12 core machine you need at most 12X2 + 4 is 28 mmcss threads so 32, which every machine has is enough. 16 cores with hyperthreading are the lowest core count to have this isuue.
But... are you running win10 on your mac? And what problems do you have?

User avatar
Prock
Senior Member
Posts: 2370
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by Prock » Tue May 23, 2017 5:29 pm

Suggest that this topic (locked) be posted in the "Computer/Studio Hardware Setup" section of the forum.

I'm not sure why my other post about this was deleted but I will suggest it again as I see several topics in the "Computer/Studio Hardware Setup" section of this forum where the poster might benefit from the knowledge shared here.

Regards.... again. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.10, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: VB3, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

GeoMax
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by GeoMax » Tue May 23, 2017 5:53 pm

oyyzz1 wrote:Has anyone else tried this simple fix? - really helped on my system.

viewtopic.php?f=226&t=97152%20-%20p537505
It does work...as I have used it on more than one system. I now run my 10 core without hyper-threading enabled and I just leave the last core (core10) restricted from Cubase. FYI-If I try to restrict core 0, it will crash cubase.

I am not likely to go over 100 tracks in a project, but I do have some resource consuming plugs and VSTs. I have not upgraded to 9.0.20. Still sitting on 9.0.10.
Cubase Pro 9.0.1, Wavelab Pro 9
Platforms: OSX - 2014 Mac Book Pro -Yosemite 10.10.3
MASTER DAW PC - Windows 10 Pro, i7-6950x (10core), ASUS X99-DELUXE II, 128GB Ram, all SSD Harddrives, GeForce GTX 970, DELL P4317q 43" 4K Monitor
Interfaces: PCIe RayDAT, X32 Rack via ADAT, UA 4-710d via ADAT
Preamps: UA 4-710d, Avalon 737sp, ISAONE connected via ADAT on UA 4-710d
VSTi: Vienna Symphonic Library - Strings Complete,Woodwinds, Imperial Piano, VE Pro 6, HALion 5 - Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2 & Trilian Bass - The Grand 3 - Addictive Drums 2
Plugins: WAVES (64bit) Mercury + Studio Classics Native, MeldaProduction mTotalBundle, Eventide Anthology X
Midi Interfaces: Roland A-88, Alesis QS8
Recording Mics: Neumann U87ai, TLM103, Matched Pair KM-184, Shure SM81, SM7b
Other Toys: Kemper Profiling AMP, BIAS FX Desktop

GPnicolett
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 12:11 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by GPnicolett » Wed May 24, 2017 1:01 am

vinark wrote:
GPnicolett wrote:Will the audioengine.properties file work on Cubase 8 systems?

Is an OS level update expected? Seems like this would affect all DAWs, no?

Also, I don't understand what I'm looking for when running the mmcss-test file. I run it, and I get this:

starting 128 threads
threads with MMCSS priority: 32
threads failed to set MMCSS priority: 96
Press any key to continue . . .

What does this tell me?
That you do not have this problem. On a 12 core machine you need at most 12X2 + 4 is 28 mmcss threads so 32, which every machine has is enough. 16 cores with hyperthreading are the lowest core count to have this isuue.
But... are you running win10 on your mac? And what problems do you have?
I'm pretty sure this issue effects "logical cores," which are physical + hyperthreaded cores - which means I have 24 logical cores, and would be affected. This was discussed on page 1 of this thread, unless I misunderstood.

And yep, running Win 10 on the Mac. Recently upgraded and definitely noticed more performance problems then under Windows 8. I'm doing this partially because Cubase generally performs better under Bootcamp, but also because I'm working on a few game projects that require I have quick access to a PC environment. Just made sense to work in Bootcamp.
Greg Nicolett | Composer
http://www.gregnicolett.com
Cubase 8.5, MacPro 12-Core 3.4gHz 2010, 32gbRAM, Apogee Fireface 802, VSL Ensemble Pro and Kontakt 5

jpbanks
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by jpbanks » Wed May 24, 2017 1:03 am

GeoMax wrote:
oyyzz1 wrote:Has anyone else tried this simple fix? - really helped on my system.

viewtopic.php?f=226&t=97152%20-%20p537505
It does work...as I have used it on more than one system. I now run my 10 core without hyper-threading enabled and I just leave the last core (core10) restricted from Cubase. FYI-If I try to restrict core 0, it will crash cubase.

I am not likely to go over 100 tracks in a project, but I do have some resource consuming plugs and VSTs. I have not upgraded to 9.0.20. Still sitting on 9.0.10.

I've tried it and it doesn't work for me unforuntatelly
AMD Athlon II X4 620 @2.60 GHz, 16.0 GB, GeForce 9500 GT, Steinberg UR22, 64-bit Windows 10 Home

vinark
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by vinark » Wed May 24, 2017 8:16 am

GPnicolett wrote:
vinark wrote:
GPnicolett wrote:Will the audioengine.properties file work on Cubase 8 systems?

Is an OS level update expected? Seems like this would affect all DAWs, no?

Also, I don't understand what I'm looking for when running the mmcss-test file. I run it, and I get this:

starting 128 threads
threads with MMCSS priority: 32
threads failed to set MMCSS priority: 96
Press any key to continue . . .

What does this tell me?
That you do not have this problem. On a 12 core machine you need at most 12X2 + 4 is 28 mmcss threads so 32, which every machine has is enough. 16 cores with hyperthreading are the lowest core count to have this isuue.
But... are you running win10 on your mac? And what problems do you have?

I'm pretty sure this issue effects "logical cores," which are physical + hyperthreaded cores - which means I have 24 logical cores, and would be affected. This was discussed on page 1 of this thread, unless I misunderstood.

And yep, running Win 10 on the Mac. Recently upgraded and definitely noticed more performance problems then under Windows 8. I'm doing this partially because Cubase generally performs better under Bootcamp, but also because I'm working on a few game projects that require I have quick access to a PC environment. Just made sense to work in Bootcamp.
Sorry no, the problem starts with 28 logical cores. So 12 cores with HT is unaffected. 16 cores with HT is affected though. The limit is 14 cores with HT. I agree about bootcamp being a good idea! But the way Microsoft is managing win 10 (frequent forced updates that break things badly) I am staying on win 7 as long as possible.

sempondr
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Tue Jul 30, 2013 12:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by sempondr » Tue May 30, 2017 5:06 pm

vinark wrote: Sorry no, the problem starts with 28 logical cores.
According to Steinberg the problem starts with more than 14 logical cores, not 28.

PeppaPig
Member
Posts: 754
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by PeppaPig » Wed May 31, 2017 11:46 pm

jpbanks wrote:
I've tried it and it doesn't work for me unforuntatelly
How many cores do you have and what are you setting the affinity to? What you must understand is the enabled cores are based on the binary representation of the hex number you put in the command lime, the cores are from right to left, lowest to highest.

For example, for an 8 core machine the cores would be numbered 7,6,5,4,3,2,1,0 and turning the bit on enables each core, so to use cores 0 to 6 you'd need to flip bits 1-7 on, 01111111 in binary = decimal 127 = hex 7F - "7F" is the affinity you pass.
for a six core machine to use cores 0-5 you'd need to flip bits 1-5 on, 011111 = decimal 31 = hex "1F" and so on.
Cubase will crash if core 0 (bit 1) is disabled and it seems to prefer contiguous unbroken strings of enabled cores.
Cubase Pro 9.5, Pro9.0.20. WaveLab 9 EL. UA Apollo Quad FW, UA PCI Octo, UA Satelite Quad, US Golden Audio pre73 DLX, Intel i7 6850x@4.2Ghz (6C/12T), Asus x99 Deluxe II, AMD 6450 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Samsung 840 and 850 SSDs, 64Gb RAM - Melodyne Studio, Komplete ultimate 11, Halion 6, GA,GA2,GA3,GA4 (+sp), OZ6, OZ7, OZ8 adv, Neutron Adv, BFD3, SoundToys rack, Panorama P1, M-Audio Oxygen, Yamaha YPP55 - outboard: PRO VLAII, Digitech Time machine RDS4000, 1950s Ferrograph Series 5, Mics: AKG C1000S, Rode NT2A and M5 pair, SE2200A, SE X1R, Fame-VT67, Heil PR20&PR22

KiloWatts
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 4:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by KiloWatts » Thu Jun 01, 2017 1:04 am

I have the dropouts also. I'm running an i7-3820 with 4 cores (8 logical processors). I tried the audioengine.properties, but it didn't help. (no surprise)

These are big honking work-halting dropouts too. Hoping for a fix soon.

User avatar
LarsErik
Junior Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows 10: audio dropouts on multi-core CPU setups

Post by LarsErik » Fri Jun 02, 2017 12:43 pm

Disabling hyper-threading apparently was the trick on my computer.

Before when I was recording, like just a single stereo track, I got "recording error audio drop outs detected" now and then.
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Cubase iC Pro, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX970

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gwhizz44, Magnus_N and 9 guests