Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1426
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by In_Stereo » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:05 pm

fgimian wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:07 am
HighEnd wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:55 pm
Today 9.5.4 is out... this crazy bug still is here.... Ohh... I am with Cubase since 1997, really I need go to Logic now? Steinberg, please, take more power and time to this... it is really makes impossible to work normally...
I've actually also been working in Logic Pro X and considering making the switch due to this and just the random crashes I get with Cubase since Sierra. I think this bug probably won't be fixed until v10 when Steinberg implement retina support, I truly hope I'm wrong though!!!

I love Cubase, but it's so refreshing working in Ableton Live and Logic Pro X and having the app actually be stable.
I wonder why it's not stable for you? Must be insanely frustrating.

I have truly gigantic scoring and production sessions, some running with VE Pro alongside, and don't get many crashes. It does happen, but pretty rarely.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Mojave 10.14.5, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

fgimian
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by fgimian » Wed Oct 17, 2018 11:22 pm

In_Stereo wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:05 pm
fgimian wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:07 am
HighEnd wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:55 pm
Today 9.5.4 is out... this crazy bug still is here.... Ohh... I am with Cubase since 1997, really I need go to Logic now? Steinberg, please, take more power and time to this... it is really makes impossible to work normally...
I've actually also been working in Logic Pro X and considering making the switch due to this and just the random crashes I get with Cubase since Sierra. I think this bug probably won't be fixed until v10 when Steinberg implement retina support, I truly hope I'm wrong though!!!

I love Cubase, but it's so refreshing working in Ableton Live and Logic Pro X and having the app actually be stable.
I wonder why it's not stable for you? Must be insanely frustrating.

I have truly gigantic scoring and production sessions, some running with VE Pro alongside, and don't get many crashes. It does happen, but pretty rarely.
Thanks heaps. Fortunately most crashes occur upon exit and I still have been able to produce music without too much drama for the most part. All my software is purchased and up to date and I use plugins by reputable companies such as Native Instruments, DMGAudio, Cytomic, Cableguys, u-he .etc

The crash reports don't seem to indicate a particular plugin most of the time and I did notice the frequency of crashing increased a lot since Sierra (everything was pretty much rock solid and the mouse clicking was working perfectly in El Capitan).

I might collect a series of crash reports and send them to Steinberg Support in the near future if the situation doesn't improve. But in general, even when an issue is plugin related, almost always the same issue does NOT occur in Live or Logic with the same plugins. So Cubase is particularly sensitive it seems.
Software & Audio Interface: Cubase 9.5.30 x64 / Windows 10 / Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Computer: Intel Core i7 7700K, NVIDIA GTX 1050, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD + Samsung T3 2 TB USB 3 SSD

extralife
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by extralife » Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:36 am

fgimian wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:07 am
HighEnd wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:55 pm
Today 9.5.4 is out... this crazy bug still is here.... Ohh... I am with Cubase since 1997, really I need go to Logic now? Steinberg, please, take more power and time to this... it is really makes impossible to work normally...
I've actually also been working in Logic Pro X and considering making the switch due to this and just the random crashes I get with Cubase since Sierra. I think this bug probably won't be fixed until v10 when Steinberg implement retina support, I truly hope I'm wrong though!!!

I love Cubase, but it's so refreshing working in Ableton Live and Logic Pro X and having the app actually be stable.
Do you know that Version 10 is retina? I've all but given up on cubase lately. Logic is just so much snappier, modern and I can actually use my mouse to double click. But I miss some features in Cubase.

fgimian
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by fgimian » Wed Oct 24, 2018 11:19 am

extralife wrote:
Wed Oct 24, 2018 3:36 am
fgimian wrote:
Wed Oct 17, 2018 12:07 am
HighEnd wrote:
Tue Oct 16, 2018 6:55 pm
Today 9.5.4 is out... this crazy bug still is here.... Ohh... I am with Cubase since 1997, really I need go to Logic now? Steinberg, please, take more power and time to this... it is really makes impossible to work normally...
I've actually also been working in Logic Pro X and considering making the switch due to this and just the random crashes I get with Cubase since Sierra. I think this bug probably won't be fixed until v10 when Steinberg implement retina support, I truly hope I'm wrong though!!!

I love Cubase, but it's so refreshing working in Ableton Live and Logic Pro X and having the app actually be stable.
Do you know that Version 10 is retina? I've all but given up on cubase lately. Logic is just so much snappier, modern and I can actually use my mouse to double click. But I miss some features in Cubase.
I have no inside contacts at Steinberg to be sure that it's v10, I only know that they're working on it based on my communication with Steinberg on Facebook when I asked them about this longstanding bug.

Agreed re Logic, it's a great DAW but indeed there are a few things I miss about Cubase in there too.
Software & Audio Interface: Cubase 9.5.30 x64 / Windows 10 / Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Computer: Intel Core i7 7700K, NVIDIA GTX 1050, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD + Samsung T3 2 TB USB 3 SSD

HighEnd
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by HighEnd » Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:55 pm

So, Cubase 10 is out today. Can anyone please who already tried to confirm is double click bug gone or not? It is critical reason to upgrade or not for me, thanks!

extralife
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by extralife » Thu Nov 15, 2018 8:10 am

HighEnd wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:55 pm
So, Cubase 10 is out today. Can anyone please who already tried to confirm is double click bug gone or not? It is critical reason to upgrade or not for me, thanks!
This is what I am waiting to hear also.

HighEnd
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 2:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by HighEnd » Fri Nov 16, 2018 8:43 pm

I finally updated myself, and can say - yes,these nightmare is gone, - double click working now on Cubase 10, High Sierra, BUT! We have new critical bug, that in my case make this version impossible to use,- HiDPI bug that is reporting on many threads, - plugin GUI is not scaled properly, and You can use them.. my pain is Acustica N4 plugin, who is mine main workhorse and it is totally don't work with Mac and C10, - I can see just half of plugin GUI .. as always Steinberg... old bug is gone, new coming .brrr...

fgimian
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by fgimian » Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:22 am

Thanks a lot for the update. I’m going to hold off upgrading for a while until things with the High DPI scaling are sorted out.
Software & Audio Interface: Cubase 9.5.30 x64 / Windows 10 / Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Computer: Intel Core i7 7700K, NVIDIA GTX 1050, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD + Samsung T3 2 TB USB 3 SSD

extralife
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by extralife » Sat Nov 17, 2018 12:32 am

What annoys me is that means they have figured out the mouse problem, shouldn't that be a patch fix for previous versions? Why should I have to pay for a fix for this?

Chris_Manuel
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2016 6:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by Chris_Manuel » Fri Nov 23, 2018 10:21 pm

This may be voodoo but I found this works to fix the double click issue for me: close all windows except the main project window (obviously keep that one open). Double click a MIDI part – or other item that has been un-double-clickable previously. Once you've done that once it doesn't seem to matter if other windows are open or not.

I noticed when I was having the problem that the first click would give the clicked window mouse focus and the second click would remove mouse focus. You can see the bar across the window top get focus and give up focus. If there's only one window open then it doesn't lose focus.

BTW - running Magic Mouse, Sierra and Cubase 9.5.41

User avatar
ricardowheelock
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Dec 06, 2014 2:23 pm
Location: Nicaragua
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by ricardowheelock » Thu Jan 03, 2019 10:39 pm

I am experiencing this issue for the first time in Cubase 10 latest .10 revision and in High Sierra, its really annoying, Double click only works 15% of the time...
ricardo wheelock / steinberg trainner
www.ricardowheelock.com

User avatar
Gosha747
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2011 8:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by Gosha747 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 1:12 am

Cubase Pro 10 High Sierra and Mojave: double click only works 50% of time... In El Capitan there is no such problems at all...
Mac Pro 5.1 2 x 3,2 GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon, 48 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC, AMD Radeon HD 7970 3072 MB, El Capitan, High Sierra, Mojave, Cubase Pro 10

A-Muzic
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:47 am
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by A-Muzic » Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:45 pm

Hi There,

I also have the magic mouse and I'm suffering from this for a while and it's so frustrating i actually considered to move to Studio One.
I'm using cubase for 15 years doing editing all day long and this happens to me many times a day.
i double click to create audio/midi event when between locators and it takes 5-6 times till it creates the event.
It happens also in many other actions that require double clicking and it's frustrating a lot.
I just upgraded my Cubase to version 10 hoping this will solve it but nothing changed.
Are you still have this issue today? any good news from steinberg support team?
What can we do to make them listen to us?
Thanks,
A.

fgimian
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by fgimian » Sun Mar 10, 2019 12:12 am

I'm still have the issue with 9.5 and won't consider upgrading to 10 unless I know it's completely resolved. I moved to Logic Pro X several months ago due to this issue and the crashy nature of Cubase on macOS. I've never had a single issue like this in Ableton Live or Logic Pro X (no crashes and no weird clicking problems).

But ... I do miss Cubase which I've also been using for around 15 years too :(

Another more drastic option I've been thinking about is going back to Windows 10 and have recently installed Bootcamp on my MacBook Pro to see how Cubase behaves in that environment.
Software & Audio Interface: Cubase 9.5.30 x64 / Windows 10 / Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Computer: Intel Core i7 7700K, NVIDIA GTX 1050, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD + Samsung T3 2 TB USB 3 SSD

v-touch
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by v-touch » Fri May 31, 2019 7:29 am

Steinberg fix it? Does anybody know?

extralife
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by extralife » Mon Jun 10, 2019 1:38 pm

Doubt it. I'm basically on Logic full time now. Sad.

dyfan
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by dyfan » Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:35 am

Does anyone have an update re the double click issue? I'm on 9.5 and have been considering a move away from Cubase as a result of this insane problem and Steinberg's response to it. Like many users here, I've been a Cubase user since before it was called Cubase. Currently using a Mouse and a Trackpad (where a double click does work!) as a work around.
If I knew this was fixed in v10 I'd make the move today.
Also, can anyone confirm if the problem can be fixed by moving to a 3rd party wireless mouse?

extralife
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by extralife » Thu Aug 01, 2019 12:33 pm

dyfan wrote:
Sun Jun 16, 2019 9:35 am
Does anyone have an update re the double click issue? I'm on 9.5 and have been considering a move away from Cubase as a result of this insane problem and Steinberg's response to it. Like many users here, I've been a Cubase user since before it was called Cubase. Currently using a Mouse and a Trackpad (where a double click does work!) as a work around.
If I knew this was fixed in v10 I'd make the move today.
Also, can anyone confirm if the problem can be fixed by moving to a 3rd party wireless mouse?
I wish I knew the answers. No info. Amazing that something like this could go on for so long. Must't be many Magic Mouse users or something.

carlobandini
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:40 am
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by carlobandini » Sat Nov 02, 2019 4:48 am

Hi!
I have the same problem in Cubase 10 pro, and i think i know why it happens.
It seems like the double click only works when the mouse is not moving at all.
Moving the mouse just one pixel is enough to make it fails.
I hope Steinberg can fix it soon.

DH
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2013 9:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Double-click Intermittently Works in Cubase 9 / macOS

Post by DH » Sat Nov 23, 2019 1:14 pm

F! IT'S BACK!!!!
Had this issue for a while, then for whatever reason it was working fine for months. Started again these past few days. On Mojave, Cubase 10.0.30

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests