CA9 is this behavior normal?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
DitaminV
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:07 pm
Contact:

CA9 is this behavior normal?

Post by DitaminV » Sat Dec 17, 2016 1:31 am

I have a few instrument tracks with midi patterns on screen. I click on a midi pattern and it loads in the lower zone. I de-select the checkbox to show the lower zone. I click on the midi pattern again, and the lower zone is on screen again.

In preferences, under the 'Editor' settings, I have 'Open Key Editor' as the default MIDI Editor.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3783
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: CA9 is this behavior normal?

Post by raino » Sat Dec 17, 2016 1:40 am

Are you single or double clicking. Double clicking will open the lower zone unless you've set the preference to open the editor in a window. Single clicking should only select the part & not open any editor.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

DitaminV
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: CA9 is this behavior normal?

Post by DitaminV » Sat Dec 17, 2016 2:39 am

raino wrote:Are you single or double clicking. Double clicking will open the lower zone unless you've set the preference to open the editor in a window. Single clicking should only select the part & not open any editor.
Single clicking just turns the part a darker shade (selects it)
Double clicking loads the annoying lower zone

I'm on Windows 10 btw (if that matters)

Isn't the preference to open the editor in a window the one I mentioned in my OP? Or is this in another location of some preferences?

DitaminV
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: CA9 is this behavior normal?

Post by DitaminV » Sat Dec 17, 2016 2:41 am

I should point out in previous versions of Cubase, a double click on a part (midi pattern) would open the Key Editor in a new window (full size and wonderful) on my PC.

Now it seems to load that stupid lower zone that gets in my way. I'd just like to see it load the Key Editor like it has done for years before... Now it refuses to load it until I select the part and then click on 'MIDI>Open Key Editor' specifically.

Evertone
Member
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: CA9 is this behavior normal?

Post by Evertone » Sat Dec 17, 2016 5:07 am

I have my editors preferences setup like this and double-clicking opens the editor in a new window.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2016-12-16 at 7.55.31 PM.png
(25.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro 10.5
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

DitaminV
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Aug 31, 2013 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: CA9 is this behavior normal?

Post by DitaminV » Sat Dec 17, 2016 5:21 am

Bingo! That was it. I was overlooking the drop downs below the 'default midi editor' and had double-click in lower zone somehow selected. Which is odd as it wasn't set to do that before.. in any case it is back to 'normal' now opening the midi editor in a new window.

Thanks, Evertone!

Evertone
Member
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: CA9 is this behavior normal?

Post by Evertone » Sat Dec 17, 2016 6:10 am

Glad it worked out. Enjoy!

Ever
Cubase Pro 10.5
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests