Is MIDI timing rock solid?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Is MIDI timing rock solid?

Post by WellBassd » Fri Dec 16, 2016 4:53 am

Hi there,

Is the MIDI timing rock solid on Cubase?

test:
1 Open sampler / kontakt ( instrument channel )
2 Load a drumsound - and create some notes - loop the region for playback
3 duplicate instrument
4 Create midi track
5 pull duplicated instrument midi notes to the midi track
6 set midi track output to loopbe ( internal midi 1 )
7 set duplicated ( sampler ) instrument midi in as loopbe ( internal midi 1 )

8 press play

Now if the timing is solid you should hear the same drumsound played with higher volume
Inverting the phase should result in silence

my system gives a swing resulting in delayed - and when time corrected, phased - sound

How could i fix the midi timing?

User avatar
estrica2000
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Is MIDI timing rock solid?

Post by estrica2000 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 5:35 am

you made me curious : )
OSX Mavericks, Cubase 7.5.4 64 bit

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Is MIDI timing rock solid?

Post by peakae » Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:55 am

Midi is not sample accurate!
That's just how it is.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
WellBassd
Member
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:35 am
Contact:

Re: Is MIDI timing rock solid?

Post by WellBassd » Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:04 pm

peakae wrote:Midi is not sample accurate!
That's just how it is.
No, when midi is solid ( like earlier versions ) then midi timing is ( nearly ) 99.5% sample accurate ( depending on your Quantize grid )

Maybe slight phasing, but not delayed phasing

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1378
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Is MIDI timing rock solid?

Post by mroekalea » Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:07 pm

Well it's better then my own timing ;-)
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 981
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Is MIDI timing rock solid?

Post by J-S-Q » Fri Dec 16, 2016 8:53 pm

I have done some tests in the past (not in C9) and found it to be pretty much 100% accurate. i.e. two copies of the same VSTi playing the same MIDI part would null perfectly. This may not apply with some VSTi's but from memory, I used Sylenth and the timing was perfect.

You might want to try a test that does not involve looping/cycling as this can complicate things and give some timing errors at the loop point.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests