Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owners

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Musicalkat
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 1:05 pm
Contact:

Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owners

Post by Musicalkat » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:32 am

Hi everyone,

So, I've been diligently saving for a good, clean eq with m/s capability for some time now. I've settled on Fabfilter Pro-Q 2. But now, on the same day that FF start their holiday sale on bundles, I discover Cubase 9 is out with a new eq that has these features and a few more.....grrrrr, decisions!

I have trialed Pro Q 2 (loved it!) but as there is no demo for me to try for Cubase 9 and compare the new eq, I was wondering (for those of you that own both) how are you finding it in relation to Pro-Q 2?

I really don't know which way to jump now! To be fair, Cubase 8.5 is already pushing my aging computer to its limits...though I'm hearing that 9 is a little less greedy and more stable..

Would love to hear your thoughts on the comparison. :)
Last edited by Musicalkat on Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:40 pm, edited 3 times in total.
i9 9900K, 32GB Ram, Win 10, Samsung 970 SSDs, Cubase 10 Pro, Komplete 12 Ultimate Collectors Edition, U-HE, Waves, PSP, Softube. Various other software synths/instruments. Gariton and Miroslav. Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, various sE mics, Yamaha MOX6, Roland A-49, Komplete Kontrol S61

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to Pro Q 2 owners

Post by Raphie » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:46 am

Go for cubase, EQ is GUI and same math
Both got lineair phase m/s multiple bands, analyser
FreqEQ made pro Q2 redundant for cubase users.
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

Manike
Member
Posts: 793
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to Pro Q 2 owners

Post by Manike » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:08 pm

Hmm don't agree with that.

Fabfilter Q2 is a more pleasant experience to use. Looks fantastic and the display adapts to the size of the cuts you're making. If EQ is GUI then Fabfilter wins hands down.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

SledDriver
Member
Posts: 209
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to Pro Q 2 owners

Post by SledDriver » Mon Dec 12, 2016 12:38 pm

Pro 2 offers other benefits too such as Natural Phase, and a brilliant intuitive resizeable interface.
DAW: Cubase Pro 9.5.50-SL3, OS: Win 10 Pro x64 Build 1903, CPU: Intel i7-8700K delidded O/C'd @ 5GHz (running at around 34°C on air!! in Cubase), RAM: 32GB/DDR4 @2666MHz, Mobo: Asus Prime Z370-A, SSD x4, Graphics: GeForce GTX 980Ti, 5 monitors, Audio Interface: FocusRite 18i20 Gen 2, Studio Monitors: Adam P11A+Sub8 with SonarWorks Reference calibration, MidiSport 2x2, Lexicon reverb. VST’s include FabFilter suite, Waves, Kjaerhus Classic, Syntorus, Eventide, R2, PositiveGrid, Focusrite Red, Softube, iZotope, Native Instruments, Nugen, PSP, SIR2. VSTi’s include Arturia V6, Addictive Keys, FXpansion, Kiev Legacy, MinimogueLuxus, MusicLab, Native Instruments, Sonivox, Spectrasonics, Synthogy. Others include zPlane, jBridge, Sleepy-Time, Voxengo, YouLean.

Musicalkat
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2014 1:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to Pro Q 2 owners

Post by Musicalkat » Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:26 pm

SledDriver wrote:Pro 2 offers other benefits too such as Natural Phase, and a brilliant intuitive resizeable interface.
Unfortunately, my demo ran out a couple of weeks ago, but I did love that I could have the eq full screen....I somehow found it easier to hone in and concentrate without anything else on screen.

It's a real tough call.
i9 9900K, 32GB Ram, Win 10, Samsung 970 SSDs, Cubase 10 Pro, Komplete 12 Ultimate Collectors Edition, U-HE, Waves, PSP, Softube. Various other software synths/instruments. Gariton and Miroslav. Focusrite Scarlett 6i6, various sE mics, Yamaha MOX6, Roland A-49, Komplete Kontrol S61

Razzia
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by Razzia » Mon Dec 12, 2016 5:03 pm

There's another conversation in this forum that covers a lot of what will be brought up in here as well. It's called "Frequency EQ is Fantastic" or something - check it out.

Pro Q is clearly, slightly better than Frequency. That said, if you're looking at value, a Cubase update which includes frequency for just over half of the standard retail price of Pro Q... is kind of a no-brainer if you're on a budget. Pro-Q 2 is great but I don't think it's essential/irreplaceable or anything.
Cubase Pro 9 / Ableton Live 9 Suite / Ableton Push 2 / Novation LaunchKey 25 / Steinberg CMC-CH
Audient iD4 / ART Voice Channel
Win 10 Pro x64 / i7 6700k / 200 GB SSD / 2TB HDD / 16 GB RAM

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1006
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by Sonik » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:07 pm

In fact we've more options in Pro-Q 2, more bands and 3 modes for Linear Phase, Natural Phase..
And it's resizeable. That's a feature I don't understand why the creators of VST3 plugs didn't implement that on their plugs...
MacPro 8 core 16gb HD 5770 10.11.6|Cubase Pro 10.0.30|Wavelab 9.5|Studio One 4.5|Protools 12.4|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (14 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete10|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 2|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by In_Stereo » Mon Dec 12, 2016 9:33 pm

I personally prefer Pro-Q 2 for the reasons stated already in this thread. More options and a better GUI. Fabfilter is super hard to beat or even match at their game, so I don't think Steinberg should bother with new plugs like this, though I totally understand that some will disagree with that.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
playz123
Junior Member
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by playz123 » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:30 pm

I can't speak for anyone other than myself, but I'm definitely sticking with FabFilter's Pro Q. Steinberg also offers some decent reverbs, but again I much prefer a product from another developer.
Cubase 10.0.50, Cubase 9.5.50, WaveLab 9.1.0, 2014 Mac Pro, 3.5 GHz, 6 core, OS 10.14.6, 32 GB RAM, RME Multiface II with HDSPe interface, CC121.

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 790
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by Steve Helstrip » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:49 pm

Pro Q 2 all the way for me.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by fretthefret » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:53 pm

So as long as each EQ has a different coloring to offer it's users, there's room for many, if not all, of the equalization tools in the market.
Each recording we treat could benefit in a different way from the various algorithms or circuits of different plugins and hardware EQ's.
As FabFilter's ProQ2 is my goto in-the-box EQ, I challenged myself during my last mix to use the new CPro9 Frequency EQ instead and not use ProQ2 at all.
Did my mix suffer in the slightest or lack in quality compared to my previous? No, not at all.
In fact, I dare say it may have even benefited in the immediate from the challenge of using an unfamiliar tool to do the job. Forcing me to pay even more attention to the fine adjustments and their results as I learned the new tool.

Would I wholesale abandon ProQ2 for Frequency?
No. I feel each has its place in the VST toolbox and each will find its place in my future mixes.
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by In_Stereo » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:12 pm

fretthefret wrote:So as long as each EQ has a different coloring to offer it's users, there's room for many, if not all, of the equalization tools in the market.
Each recording we treat could benefit in a different way from the various algorithms or circuits of different plugins and hardware EQ's.
As FabFilter's ProQ2 is my goto in-the-box EQ, I challenged myself during my last mix to use the new CPro9 Frequency EQ instead and not use ProQ2 at all.
Did my mix suffer in the slightest or lack in quality compared to my previous? No, not at all.
In fact, I dare say it may have even benefited in the immediate from the challenge of using an unfamiliar tool to do the job. Forcing me to pay even more attention to the fine adjustments and their results as I learned the new tool.

Would I wholesale abandon ProQ2 for Frequency?
No. I feel each has its place in the VST toolbox and each will find its place in my future mixes.
Agreed! This reminds of a song I mixed last month where I challenged myself to only use native plugins in Cubase, and...the mix came out every bit as good as when I used any number of "boutique" plugins. Probably different in some ways, but without a doubt just as good. It all comes down to what one prefers GUI-wise, one's mixing skills, and also as you said: if there's a certain sound/color that one wants. ProQ2 and Frequency are both very neutral sounding to my ears, so I wouldn't use either for any kind of specific coloring -- in that way they're pretty much interchangeable.
Last edited by In_Stereo on Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:25 am, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
jimknopf
Member
Posts: 224
Joined: Sat Jul 05, 2014 6:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by jimknopf » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:00 am

I see no reason why anyone should regret having bought Q2. But as someone having considered it, and now having used Frenquncy for some days, I see no urgent reason at all for that buy any more.

I think in fact that's the basic question: Does Frequency offer enough to skip the immediate need for a third party EQ replacement? For me that's a clear yes, and money value of about 150 bucks which I can invest for more urgent things. Of course all other EQ options are still open to all of us.

dmbaer
Member
Posts: 327
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to Pro Q 2 owners

Post by dmbaer » Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:58 am

Raphie wrote:FreqEQ made pro Q2 redundant for cubase users.
Unless there's some killer features not mentioned in the FreqEQ promotional material (disclaimer: I have not as yet acquired CB 9), that statement is pure nonsense. I seriously doubt you could find even one single Q2 user world-over who would willingly switch from Q2 to FreqEQ.
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 4-core hyper-threaded; 8M RAM; Dual hard drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 7 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 7.5 64-bit (and SONAR X2 64-bit)
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to Pro Q 2 owners

Post by Raphie » Tue Dec 13, 2016 6:42 am

dmbaer wrote:
Raphie wrote:FreqEQ made pro Q2 redundant for cubase users.
Unless there's some killer features not mentioned in the FreqEQ promotional material (disclaimer: I have not as yet acquired CB 9), that statement is pure nonsense. I seriously doubt you could find even one single Q2 user world-over who would willingly switch from Q2 to FreqEQ.
If you didn't buy proQ yet, you now no longer need it, same for waves h-eq, same for DMG.
if I would have bought ProQ before, I would have sold it now.
Freq EQ is great.
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 929
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to Pro Q 2 owners

Post by jose7822 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:05 am

Raphie wrote:
dmbaer wrote:
Raphie wrote:FreqEQ made pro Q2 redundant for cubase users.
Unless there's some killer features not mentioned in the FreqEQ promotional material (disclaimer: I have not as yet acquired CB 9), that statement is pure nonsense. I seriously doubt you could find even one single Q2 user world-over who would willingly switch from Q2 to FreqEQ.
If you didn't buy proQ yet, you now no longer need it, same for waves h-eq, same for DMG.
if I would have bought ProQ before, I would have sold it now.
Freq EQ is great.
How are you able to speak so confidently when you haven't even compared both EQs side by side? -_-

To OP,

This is why you have to be careful who's advice you take into account when asking for them online. Some people will reply without actually having done a side by side comparison of the products in question (even when you specifically asked for the advice of Pro Q-2 owners, which he clearly is not).
GIGABYTE X99 Designare EX | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.2 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10.0.40 64 bit | Studio One v4.5.3 | Dorico 3 | Lynx Aurora (n) 8TB | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by Raphie » Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:46 am

Ofcourse I compared them, what makes you think I would post uneducated statements?
ProQ and DMG stuff have been demo-ed by me many many times. I had H-EQ, but sold it.
ProQ was even on my xmas list this year, but xmas came early.
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 929
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by jose7822 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 8:03 pm

Raphie wrote:Ofcourse I compared them, what makes you think I would post uneducated statements?
This:
ProQ and DMG stuff have been demo-ed by me many many times. I had H-EQ, but sold it.
From the FabFilter site:
Free 30-day trials
This page offers fully functional 30-day trial versions of all plug-ins. When the demo version expires, you can simply unlock it with a personal license key, available for purchase in our online shop.
Source:

http://www.fabfilter.com/download/

Unless you're "demoing" a pirated version, I'm not sure how you're able to do that many, many times.
GIGABYTE X99 Designare EX | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.2 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10.0.40 64 bit | Studio One v4.5.3 | Dorico 3 | Lynx Aurora (n) 8TB | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by Raphie » Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:31 pm

Windows test image? very simple: clean install no reg, so just re-install and you have another 30 days, 60 days is a lot of testing in my book.
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1287
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by silhouette » Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:10 pm

To be honest I would not be without Pro Q 2. Actually it is difficult to have too many eq's or compressors as they all have their own unique flavours. Pro Q 2 is a very surgical and precise tool that you get better at the more you use it, The GUI is a thing of genius like all FabFilter plugins. (Actually I am really loving the Pro R reverb at the moment.)

I usually find that if one eq is not doing it for me I can swap to something with more character like the Lindell Audio PEX-500 which oozes character. I also have all the UAD Neve stuff which I love too. My experience tells me that whilst there are good and really good eq's there is no "best" eq. They all have their own strengths. The more the merrier.
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 8.1 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 8.5.20/9.0.1 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 10 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

User avatar
djdione
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 10:05 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by djdione » Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:20 am

Raphie wrote:Ofcourse I compared them, what makes you think I would post uneducated statements?
ProQ and DMG stuff have been demo-ed by me many many times. I had H-EQ, but sold it.
Then you would have found out that Pro-Q2 and Equilibrium are not restricted to just 8 bands with only 2 bands for filtering, like FreqEQ. Or that Equilibrium is fully customizable, with optional analogue phase and q behaviour per band. Or that Pro-Q2 has funtionality like eq-match or gain-q interaction, plus a much better interface. That both FF and DMG have a piano roll built in for tuned eq boosts or cuts. And the list goes on....

Sorry man, FreqEQ is a really nice eq and a giant step up from the old built-in eq in Cubase. But it is no competition for both Pro-Q2 or Equilibrium. Not by far.

User avatar
S4410
Junior Member
Posts: 181
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by S4410 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:57 am

If Frequency was part of Cubase channel strip i would surely use it very often .As it is,it 's one of my various quality eqs. No, it's not as good as DMG Equilibrium (i don't own Pro-Q2).
Windows 10 Home | i7 3770k | Intel DZ77BH-55K | 32GB | Asus AMD 6450 | RME HDSPe AiO | Cubase Pro 10 | Wavelab Pro 9.5 | Dorico Pro 2| iC| NI Komplete 11 | VSL Special Editions | Ableton Live Intro (rewired) | UAD-2 Quad

Macbook 2.4 | Mac OS X 10.7.5 | Cubase Elements 8

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1370
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by In_Stereo » Wed Dec 14, 2016 2:14 am

djdione wrote: Sorry man, FreqEQ is a really nice eq and a giant step up from the old built-in eq in Cubase. But it is no competition for both Pro-Q2 or Equilibrium. Not by far.
Agreed. Fabfilter's GUIs generally are moving forward, not staying rooted in the past if it's not as efficient and fast as a new/alternative way (Studio One thinks the same way). I would love for those guys to get with the GUI design team of Cubase. I bet some highly useful and more forward-thinking ideas would come forth!
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
A.j.
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by A.j. » Wed Dec 14, 2016 3:22 am

Does C9's new FreqEQ plug-in allow you to solo each individual frequency you are modifying?

Fabfilter offers this capability, and I found it to be almost revolutionary when carving out resonances and other unwanted frequencies. All of sudden I was able to really hear the problem spots and zero-in on their exact location and width. I don't know why this isn't a standard function in all plug-in equalizers.

Also, I can't seem to find any documentation for FreqEQ. Can someone provide a link? It doesn't seem to be mentioned in the C9 Operation Manual.
+ listen to druckmanbros (100% Cubase tracked/mixed): http://www.youtube.com/user/druckmanbros
Intel 8700K/Win10/32GB/Cubase 10 64-bit/RME 9652 HDSP/SSL AlphaLink MADI AX

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 929
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase 9's new EQ - A question to FabFilter Pro Q 2 owne

Post by jose7822 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 4:10 am

In_Stereo wrote:
djdione wrote: Sorry man, FreqEQ is a really nice eq and a giant step up from the old built-in eq in Cubase. But it is no competition for both Pro-Q2 or Equilibrium. Not by far.
Agreed. Fabfilter's GUIs generally are moving forward, not staying rooted in the past if it's not as efficient and fast as a new/alternative way (Studio One thinks the same way). I would love for those guys to get with the GUI design team of Cubase. I bet some highly useful and more forward-thinking ideas would come forth!
Agree!

Another plugin manufacturer who's innovating is Izotope. Has anyone checked out Neutron? It's more than an EQ, sure. But the EQ section alone is crazy innovative with its Track Assistant that creates presets catered to your tracks, and the Masking features that shows you a graphical representation of conflicting frequency ranges between tracks.

I wished Steinberg would go back to be innovative like they used to and stop trying to compete with 3rd party plugin companies. They're not gonna win, EVER! Just focus ALL development on the DAW itself.
GIGABYTE X99 Designare EX | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.2 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10.0.40 64 bit | Studio One v4.5.3 | Dorico 3 | Lynx Aurora (n) 8TB | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

Locked

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: SledDriver and 13 guests