Mixer History Doesnt Save With The Project? SOLVED

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
shanabit
Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Mixer History Doesnt Save With The Project? SOLVED

Post by shanabit » Sat Dec 10, 2016 4:53 pm

If this is true someone explain to me the logic behind this?

Mixer history is basically a SCENE save if you will. Why oh why doe it NOT save this with the Project????

Here ya go:
Mix a song one day and then two days later come back to it to fix something and you are hosed, history is not save, I dont get this at all. Someone explain it to me
Last edited by shanabit on Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Non-participating in perpetuity. Enjoy your forum

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer History Doesnt Save With The Project?

Post by djw » Sat Dec 10, 2016 5:01 pm

You could report this as a feature request or issue in the appropriate forums.
Last edited by djw on Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:32 am, edited 1 time in total.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4418
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer History Doesnt Save With The Project?

Post by alexis » Sat Dec 10, 2016 7:16 pm

shanabit wrote:If this is true someone explain to me the logic behind this?

Mixer history is basically a SCENE save if you will. Why oh why doe it NOT save this with the Project????

Here ya go:
Mix a song one day and then two days later come back to it to fix something and you are hosed, history is not save, I dont get this at all. Someone explain it to me
I believe I saw a Steinberg youtube that confirms your observations.

That is consistent with Cubase earlier versions where the project history was trashed once the project was saved.

It would be great if it were saved as you suggest. Feature request?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
TEEF
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Sat May 21, 2016 2:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer History Doesnt Save With The Project?

Post by TEEF » Sat Dec 10, 2016 7:36 pm

I figured this would be the case. It didn't resemble a mixer snapshot to me because of the undo history. Snapshots are current states. Incremental saves are your friend.

Still though it is handy to have undo. I think 9.5 will have snaps. Would make sense.

More talk about it here:

viewtopic.php?p=588751
TEEF

Razzia
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2016 3:31 am
Contact:

Re: Mixer History Doesnt Save With The Project?

Post by Razzia » Sat Dec 10, 2016 7:47 pm

I think this is actually ideal. To me, it doesn't make a ton of sense for it to keep everything you've done for the entire life of the project, as it would grow enormous and unwieldy, and probably take up a gang of memory after a while. So basically you have two options:

1) it could be as it is now. Where you have unlimited undo steps, but only as long as the project remains open; or

2) Your undo history survives closing/reopening of the project, but the number of undo steps are limited, and probably definable.

Myself, I'll option 1 any day of the week, but that's just me. It seems more reasonable to me to assume that you might have made an error 50 steps ago and want to revert, than to assume you want to revert to something you did before you saved and closed the project.

On a slightly tangential note, I like the way this is implemented. It's pretty intelligent. For instance, if you adjust a plugin parameter a new step will appear in the mixer history... but if you adjust the same parameter back to where it was before touching anything else, instead of adding a new step it just erases the last added step. Good way to avoid clutter and keep things streamlined.
Cubase Pro 9 / Ableton Live 9 Suite / Ableton Push 2 / Novation LaunchKey 25 / Steinberg CMC-CH
Audient iD4 / ART Voice Channel
Win 10 Pro x64 / i7 6700k / 200 GB SSD / 2TB HDD / 16 GB RAM

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3661
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Mixer History Doesnt Save With The Project?

Post by raino » Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:21 am

Yeah, it works just like the undue/redo history already in Cubase, and Photoshop, and MS Word, and Chrome, and well most of the other software out there that uses a history. Why would you expect something different?

I'm not saying the ability to save scenes wouldn't be cool (it would be very cool). But scenes are a different thing than history. Lots of folks asked for an independent history for the Mixconsole & SB gave us one. This is a bit like complaining that your car doesn't behave like a tank or helicopter. ;)

Make a feature request for a Mixconsole scene capability and I'll give it a +10. But really you shouldn't expect that a history feature behave differently than it does on thousands of other software packages out there.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

shanabit
Member
Posts: 911
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer History Doesnt Save With The Project?

Post by shanabit » Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:27 am

Razzia wrote:I think this is actually ideal. To me, it doesn't make a ton of sense for it to keep everything you've done for the entire life of the project, as it would grow enormous and unwieldy, and probably take up a gang of memory after a while. So basically you have two options:

1) it could be as it is now. Where you have unlimited undo steps, but only as long as the project remains open; or

2) Your undo history survives closing/reopening of the project, but the number of undo steps are limited, and probably definable.

Myself, I'll option 1 any day of the week, but that's just me. It seems more reasonable to me to assume that you might have made an error 50 steps ago and want to revert, than to assume you want to revert to something you did before you saved and closed the project.

On a slightly tangential note, I like the way this is implemented. It's pretty intelligent. For instance, if you adjust a plugin parameter a new step will appear in the mixer history... but if you adjust the same parameter back to where it was before touching anything else, instead of adding a new step it just erases the last added step. Good way to avoid clutter and keep things streamlined.

This makes sense to me know, I get what your saying. Just save a version here and there would cover it
Non-participating in perpetuity. Enjoy your forum

User avatar
Henry1970
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 8:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer History Doesnt Save With The Project?

Post by Henry1970 » Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:44 am

shanabit wrote:This makes sense to me know, I get what your saying. Just save a version here and there would cover it
You can can do this allready, simply select all mixer channels and save them as a track preset.
Mac Pro 5.1 (2010) 2x 3,0 Quad Core, 12 Gig RAM, Cubase 9.5 Pro, WaveLab Elements 7, RME Fireface 800 Audio Interface, Icon Qcon Pro X + XS, Emagic Unitor 8 Mk II, Alesis D4, Kemper Profiling Amp.

MT_
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:17 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Mixer History Doesnt Save With The Project? SOLVED

Post by MT_ » Sun Dec 11, 2016 6:15 pm

Such feature (when/if implemented) should be optional (probably per-project) to prevent project file from getting too big for those who don’t need to save mixer history.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tosza111 and 8 guests