plugins, macros and keycommands question

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
DRDRDR
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

plugins, macros and keycommands question

Post by DRDRDR » Sat Dec 10, 2016 10:02 am

Hi all,
Is it possible to import Cubase 8.5's
- Plugin Collection
- Key Commands and
- Macros
inside Cubase 9 or do we have to rebuild these by hand ?
Thanks

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18057
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: plugins, macros and keycommands question

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:02 pm

Hi,

Preferences of Cubase 8.5 are automatically import to Cubase 9. Key Commands and Macros are part of it. I'm not 100% sure with the plug-in collection, but I would expect so.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

DRDRDR
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: plugins, macros and keycommands question

Post by DRDRDR » Sat Dec 10, 2016 2:09 pm

Martin, you just made my day :)

DRDRDR
Junior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: plugins, macros and keycommands question

Post by DRDRDR » Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:06 pm

So I upgraded from Cubase Pro 8.5 64 bits and none of my handmade

- Project Logical Editor presets
- MIDI Logical Editor presets
- Key commands
- Macros

have been automatically imported to Cubase Pro 9.

Since reprogramming them would take me ages (between screen captures, ultra tedious chaining of presets inside macros with exotic key commands etc.) and as I always keep the following "Cubase 8.5_64" folder backed-up in a .rar to prevent losing all my Cubase tweaks after a crash, aside from deleting all the vst*.xml located in root (to let Cubase rebuild the plugin list), I copied the content of
C:\Users\Name\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Cubase 8.5_64
inside
C:\Users\Name\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Cubase 9_64

If anyone knows I'm compromising Cubase 9's stability with this move, please let me know and tell me how to migrate these tweaks properly instead.

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: plugins, macros and keycommands question

Post by ZeroZero » Sun Dec 11, 2016 1:14 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hi,

Preferences of Cubase 8.5 are automatically import to Cubase 9. Key Commands and Macros are part of it. I'm not 100% sure with the plug-in collection, but I would expect so.
That did not happen here, curiously. I had to put them all in again, no pref presets either.

Hmm,
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

grecore
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:18 pm
Location: Studio Nord Bremen
Contact:

Re: plugins, macros and keycommands question

Post by grecore » Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:56 pm

My C9 didn't import anything automatically either. Is there any chance to import manually?
Studio Nord Bremen
www.studio-nord.net

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3032
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: plugins, macros and keycommands question

Post by peakae » Fri Dec 16, 2016 4:09 pm

Any of you tried the profile manager.
Open 8.5 save profile somewhere you can find it again.
Open 9 and import profile.
Never had to use it myself as all my settings always get carried over from previous versions.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests