Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:44 pm

Here's my first test...
Cpro9_200_Nexus2_test_hd.png
200 Tracks of Nexus 2.7.4
(899.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro 9 playing 200
and yes, you read it correctly that's "TWO HUNDRED" duplicated tracks
of refx's NEXUS 2.7.4 64bit VST2 and the new Frequency on each
without ANY dropouts.
and on a stock not yet tuned for production system!
While testing, I'm also running over 120 background processes (other software) according to the
Windows 10 64bit Pro task manager at the same time as Cubase Pro 9.

Well done Steinberg!

:D
Last edited by fretthefret on Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 929
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by jose7822 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:46 pm

Yeah, but how does it compare to 8.5?
GIGABYTE X99 Designare EX | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.2 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10.0.40 64 bit | Studio One v4.5.3 | Dorico 3 | Lynx Aurora (n) 8TB | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:50 pm

jose7822 wrote:Yeah, but how does it compare to 8.5?
I could NOT do that on Cpro8.5
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by rumlee » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:53 pm

fretthefret wrote:
jose7822 wrote:Yeah, but how does it compare to 8.5?
I could NOT do that on Cpro8.5
The 200 tracks, are they audio tracks or VSTi tracks?
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:57 pm

VSTi and midi (Nexus 2.7.4 VST2 64 bit with each instance using the 65MB ballad piano patch) ,
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 929
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by jose7822 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:00 pm

fretthefret wrote:
jose7822 wrote:Yeah, but how does it compare to 8.5?
I could NOT do that on Cpro8.5
That's good news :-)
GIGABYTE X99 Designare EX | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.2 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10.0.40 64 bit | Studio One v4.5.3 | Dorico 3 | Lynx Aurora (n) 8TB | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:27 pm

jose7822 wrote:
fretthefret wrote:
jose7822 wrote:Yeah, but how does it compare to 8.5?
I could NOT do that on Cpro8.5
That's good news :-)

As for Audio 44.1 kHz - 24bit (3 second disk preload) on Cpro 9....

I've tried 2560 (two thousand five hundred and sixty) tracks and haven't even got above 40 % !!
I could probably run another 3 - 5 thousand more (for over 7500 tracks) without dropouts.
Cpro9_2560_track_test_hd.png
2560 tracks playback on Cpro 9 no dropout
(934.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

dlpmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by dlpmusic » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:28 pm

Curious....buffer settings?...ASIO GUARD 2 on/off?
Cubase 10.x, I7 8 5960k Core, 32 gb
Halion 6.x, Large VE PRO setup with about 3000 Tracks

https://www.samplefuel.com

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:38 pm

dlpmusic wrote:Curious....buffer settings?...ASIO GUARD 2 on/off?
on a UR44 and newest Yamaha USB ASIO driver
buffer at 1024 samples (at 512 samples the system is at 52% load)
ASIO Guard ON (Low).
46 ms post ASIO Guard latency, (26 ms PRE).
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by orchetect » Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:05 am

While we're on the topic...

I could never get more than 50-60 Instrument Tracks with a Kontakt on each in Cubase 8.5 before the ASIO meter went haywire and project stability went through the basement.

Just loaded 200 empty Kontakt instrument tracks in Cubase 9.0.1 and it's handling it reasonably well. I sure hope this is a good sign.

Was thinking about going back to using VE Pro to balance processing load, but I may not need to now.

Quad-core i7 3.5GHz, 32GB RAM, macOS 10.12.1
Audio interface buffer: 256
ASIO-Guard on High
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.6, Cubase 10.0.30 rc3, Cubase 10.5.0 a2, Dorico 2.1
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 383
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret » Fri Dec 09, 2016 6:04 am

Further to the 2560 audio track test
Trying to load 2560 instances of cubase's native "Compressor" (1 insert per track) with a Q-Link (all tracks) in the Mixer crashes Cubase Pro 9 !

lol.
:shock:
Cubase Pro 10.0.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10, Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus2, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, SynchroArts Revoice Pro, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 1803 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 512gb Samsung 950 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1655
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by mozizo » Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:32 am

fretthefret wrote:Further to the 2560 audio track test
Trying to load 2560 instances of cubase's native "Compressor" (1 insert per track) with a Q-Link (all tracks) in the Mixer crashes Cubase Pro 9 !

lol.
:shock:
Try loading compressor one at a time ;)
Good to know it performs better 8-)
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1353
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:12 am

This is hopeful. When the Trial is out I will test and hopefully come to same conclusion!
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Tommy80
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by Tommy80 » Fri Dec 09, 2016 12:50 pm

What appen if you send all the tracks to a group track before the main out?
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013) - OSX 10.12.5
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
Apogee Duet 2 - Steinberg UR824
Cubase Pro last version - Wavelab last version

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by ZeroZero » Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:02 pm

I would not think that comparisons across different systems are valid. Yes, Cubase can be efficient or lax, but the environment is key.

I have tested the same project in C9 and C8.5 and get the same reading here. Cubase is generally well behaved here.
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by J-S-Q » Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:38 pm

Tommy80 wrote:What appen if you send all the tracks to a group track before the main out?
From everything I've seen, I doubt it would make any real difference if there are no plugins on any of these tracks. If there are lots of plugins involved then yes, complex routing definitely impacts ASIO performance.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests