MixConsole History

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 783
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

MixConsole History

Post by Steve Helstrip » Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:29 pm

So, unless I'm missing something, you can step back to any point in your mix history, but cannot undo just 1 parameter tweak from the history without wiping everything else that followed.

Please tell me I'm wrong, otherwise this is an almost pointless addition.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 746
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by islandmusicpro » Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:36 pm

Steve,
isn't that pretty standard behavior for a "history" style setup? Photoshop and pretty much any other software with an extended undo capability work just like that...

B.
Cubase Pro 10, Windows 10
Synthogy Ivory 2, UAD2 Duo PCIe 9.1,
Superior Drummer 2, PLAY 5,
Kontakt 5, Ozone 7 Advanced
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3
i7 3770K Gigabyte Z77-UD5H 32GB
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 783
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by Steve Helstrip » Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:50 pm

Perhaps so but I was hoping for more flexibility & innovation.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by J-S-Q » Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:52 pm

That's the way it looks from the videos (haven't installed the update yet). I think you're being a bit harsh though Steve. As pointed out above, this is pretty standard for any undo/history feature although what you are suggesting would certainly be very nice.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2165
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by marQs » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:05 pm

Having a mixer history at all is a good start. They could indeed enhance it and 'branch' it from a global level down to the history of selected events, channels, plugins.

But what do I say - don't have it yet, in the middle of projects, no time for updating yet, but curious ;)
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by HughH » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:13 pm

marQs wrote:Having a mixer history at all is a good start. They could indeed enhance it and 'branch' it from a global level down to the history of selected events, channels, plugins.

But what do I say - don't have it yet, in the middle of projects, no time for updating yet, but curious ;)
That might involve quite a few "branches", considering the number of variables.

I believe, however, that Nuendo has "Branch" undo function where if you back up and continue on you can create a new "Branch" from that point and not lose the old mix undo history.

Not sure what it includes, though. Probably not mixer stuff?

But it's a cool concept in line with what you suggested.

Hugh
Nuendo 10, 64 Bit
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home (1703), Dual Monitors
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine #1
i7 Sony VAIO Laptop 8G Win 7 Slave#2/Remote Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
VEP6
RME Digiface PCIe for All
UR22 for portability
Pro Tools Ult cause I have to

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2165
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by marQs » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:21 pm

Guess it won't happen, at least not within the next years. For the moment let's just be thankful for the mixer history which has become long overdue since it's so easy to unintentionally change parameters while just trying to scroll in the mixer.

Anyway, another guess is that a kind of mixer scene/snapshot system will be introduced in 9.5. Call me a prophet if that's going to happen 8-)
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

User avatar
HarrySound
Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by HarrySound » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:37 pm

Imagine a game of Jenga where you've decided to take the middle section of the tower away to put it on top.

User avatar
shagazulu
Junior Member
Posts: 121
Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2013 12:24 am
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by shagazulu » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:47 pm

marQs wrote:Guess it won't happen, at least not within the next years. For the moment let's just be thankful for the mixer history which has become long overdue since it's so easy to unintentionally change parameters while just trying to scroll in the mixer.)
Speaking of scrolling around in the MixConsole... is there actually way to globally turn off the scroll wheel functionality on parameters?
Cubase 8 Pro & Cubase AI 7 (on 2nd PC running VST System Link for 16-track recording) | Windows 7 x64 | Intel Core 2 Quad & Cord 2 Duo | 8MB & 6MB RAM | Tascam FW1884 & M-Audio Delta 1010 | UAD-1 | M-Audio Axiom 61 | Kawai MP9000 | CMC-AI | Frontier Tranzport | FX Teleport | Various & sundry outboard gear that's rather spacial

hotchickenbone
Junior Member
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by hotchickenbone » Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:34 am

Does it keep the history from session to session? Or does it start over with each project activation like the standard history.
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, Mini Moog V, HP Quad Core Windows 10, 16 Gig Ram, Alesis Multimix 8 USB, Nektar Impact LX49

jimmys69
Member
Posts: 807
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by jimmys69 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:45 am

Save and open project again, no history. Just the same as project window.
PC Win7-64-16G i7-4790k/Cubase 5-6-7 32 bit, Cubase 8-9 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7X/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne Editor

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1201
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by greggybud » Thu Dec 08, 2016 3:51 am

HarrySound wrote:Imagine a game of Jenga where you've decided to take the middle section of the tower away to put it on top.
:lol: Great analogy.
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3680
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by raino » Thu Dec 08, 2016 4:04 am

It seems like if you wanted to undo a single event in the mixer history you could step back and undo that event plus everything after, take a look at what that parameter was before the change. Then change the history so it is current, including the event you want to undo, after that manually change the parameter to the earlier value.

Personally the value of having a mixer history is to recover from the "oh f*^V$ what did I just accidentally change" rather than a desire to go back to how the mix was 10 minutes ago. On the occasion I want to try different mix ideas I just save them as different projects.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

digitalson
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:34 am
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by digitalson » Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:59 am

Let us save different mixes,,,,that would be nice like snapshots.....then on the same project we can have multiple mixes
i7 ,64gb 1866 mem x79 chipset, ssd os,4 x ssd drives raid 0 motu pci 96 ins and outs @96k for external gear
tons of vintage outboard gear 3 monitors and 42" LCD for spotting to film
Windows 7 pro 64 sp1
Gtx 780 ,all liquid cooled CPU overclocked to 4 ghz

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1656
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by mozizo » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:05 am

raino wrote: . On the occasion I want to try different mix ideas I just save them as different projects.
exactly that's the reason a scenes/snapshot system for mixing is needed.some of us do mixing with virtual instruments loaded , loading such projects to just compare mixes is a bummer. (also for large audio projects)
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by ZeroZero » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:49 am

HarrySound wrote:Imagine a game of Jenga where you've decided to take the middle section of the tower away to put it on top.
Very well put, but we could save mixer snapshots, then A B them.

Z
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by J-S-Q » Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:54 am

What I'd really like to see in the future something like 'Mix Recall' in Sonar:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NWsDmTn ... e=youtu.be

You can save/recall all mixer/plugin/VSTi settings AND all automation data. Very powerful. Still, MixConsole history is a GREAT start.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 783
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by Steve Helstrip » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:06 am

I save projects as a new version almost hourly, making it very easy to step back. What I would find more useful is, say, going back 3 minutes to undo just 1 change that may not be working out (simple undo button next to the event). That's how mixer history would benefit me the most. Perhaps this is a coding nightmare, I don't know - I'm just a producer! But I agree this is a step in the right direction, but not a complete solution.

We have the same situation with Render In Place, and Import Tracks from Projects: both amazing additions, and used many times every day, but they could be implemented so much better, IMO.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

maceasy
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 5:05 pm
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by maceasy » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:38 am

Yes, as others are saying, it would seem to be a small step from a history to the ability to save snapshots of that history. Being able to compare mixes quickly would be invaluable, as well as the creative possibilities of switching mixes at the touch of a button. Come on Steinberg, you are tantalisingly close.

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by orchetect » Fri Dec 09, 2016 12:22 am

When I heard "MixConsole history" announced I just assumed it only applied to changes made to parameters face-up on the MixConsole (fader moves, EQ changes etc.) but only now discovered that it also includes parameter changes made INSIDE inserted plugins, including 3rd-party plugins. That's a game-changer. Color me impressed.

But agreed, a snapshot feature or granular restore of individual changes in the history without having to rollback everything up to that point would be great. At least for most parameter changes you can see the value written into the history entry's Action or Details column, ie: "StereoDelay / Feedback 18.5".
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.6, Cubase 10.0.30 rc3, Cubase 10.5.0 a2, Dorico 2.1
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 865
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: MixConsole History

Post by toader » Fri Dec 09, 2016 3:17 am

There may be room for expansion in this new undo capability...

However, for now, THIS IS AWESOME! Thank you Steinberg! :-)
Computer 1: Cubase 10.0.15, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 9.5.40, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: WERNER-BROS and 2 guests