How do I use the grace period?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

How do I use the grace period?

Post by alexis » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:21 pm

I have an unactivated 8.5.


What are the next steps?

Thanks!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by Grim » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:40 pm

i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

atze100
Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by atze100 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:48 pm

Its explained here:
https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/gr ... _info.html

The question is, what does "customers receive from Steinberg once (!) a so-called free Grace Period update" mean?
Does it mean once in a lifetime? And if so, is it per owner, per dongle or per account?
Cubase Pro 8.0.40 64 Bit, Win7 Ultimate 64 Bit, Core i7 2600k, 16GB RAM

Cubase Safe Start: https://www.steinberg.net/fi/support/kn ... ences.html

Cubase Einstellungen: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by Grim » Wed Dec 07, 2016 8:30 pm

Once just means within that period....so if you were two or more versions behind and activated last week you might have got updated to 8.5 for free but you won't now get 9 for free.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

atze100
Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by atze100 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:15 pm

Grim wrote:Once just means within that period....so if you were two or more versions behind and activated last week you might have got updated to 8.5 for free but you won't now get 9 for free.
Sure? I dont think so, because they also say that its possible to use it if you are "activating an older version of Cubase (from version 6)".
Cubase Pro 8.0.40 64 Bit, Win7 Ultimate 64 Bit, Core i7 2600k, 16GB RAM

Cubase Safe Start: https://www.steinberg.net/fi/support/kn ... ences.html

Cubase Einstellungen: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by alexis » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:23 am

Thanks Grim and atze100!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by Grim » Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:10 pm

atze100 wrote:
Grim wrote:Once just means within that period....so if you were two or more versions behind and activated last week you might have got updated to 8.5 for free but you won't now get 9 for free.
Sure? I dont think so, because they also say that its possible to use it if you are "activating an older version of Cubase (from version 6)".
Yes, this is possible...if you activate C6 after C9 is released your Grace period update is direct to C9, but if you activated C6 before release (but in the Grace period) and claimed the Grace period to C8.5 you cannot now claim another to C9.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by alexis » Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:43 pm

Grim wrote:
atze100 wrote:
Grim wrote:Once just means within that period....so if you were two or more versions behind and activated last week you might have got updated to 8.5 for free but you won't now get 9 for free.
Sure? I dont think so, because they also say that its possible to use it if you are "activating an older version of Cubase (from version 6)".
Yes, this is possible...if you activate C6 after C9 is released your Grace period update is direct to C9, but if you activated C6 before release (but in the Grace period) and claimed the Grace period to C8.5 you cannot now claim another to C9.
This is what I did, replacing C6 in your post with C7.5.40.

For some reason I can't recall, I installed C8.5 as an intermediate step before installing and activating C9. Perhaps I didn't have to do that, or maybe I read something that said I needed to go in that order.

In any case, C9.0.1 is installed here, is functional graphically, and I hope to be testing it sonically this weekend.

Thanks again for your suggestions, and that great link above!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

mtps
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:48 am
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by mtps » Sat Dec 10, 2016 8:47 pm

Hello,
I have a problem with the procedure of Maintenance in LCC. I have already the licence for cubase 8.5. Now I want to update in version 9 because I am in Grace Period Update.
After a lot times I run the LCC and Maintenance stop in Step 5 (Recovering License Transactions) and I get a FAILED message.
How can repair it?

ps. I have already created a request to Steinberg three days ago but no answer.

atze100
Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by atze100 » Sun Dec 11, 2016 9:54 pm

Grim wrote:Yes, this is possible...if you activate C6 after C9 is released your Grace period update is direct to C9, but if you activated C6 before release (but in the Grace period) and claimed the Grace period to C8.5 you cannot now claim another to C9.
Right, that's what I was thinking. But still, it doesn't really explain what "once" means.

The reason I'm asking is, I already bought a 8.5 version which I haven't activated yet, because I was busy finishing songs in C8 and didn't want to risk to mess up my system.

In the next couple of weeks I want to update all my programs including Cubase. Right now, I only want to switch to C8.5, because C9 is maybe a bit too fresh and I also wanna test the new Sentinel in the demo first.

BUT, if I activate my 8.5 it will be automatically a Grace Period update now.

So that's why I'm asking what "customers receive from Steinberg once (!) a so-called free Grace Period update" means. If it means once in a lifetime, I would ruin my Grace Period option for ever for no reason...
Cubase Pro 8.0.40 64 Bit, Win7 Ultimate 64 Bit, Core i7 2600k, 16GB RAM

Cubase Safe Start: https://www.steinberg.net/fi/support/kn ... ences.html

Cubase Einstellungen: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

misohoza
Member
Posts: 867
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by misohoza » Sun Dec 11, 2016 10:18 pm

Grim wrote:
atze100 wrote:
Grim wrote:Once just means within that period....so if you were two or more versions behind and activated last week you might have got updated to 8.5 for free but you won't now get 9 for free.
Sure? I dont think so, because they also say that its possible to use it if you are "activating an older version of Cubase (from version 6)".
Yes, this is possible...if you activate C6 after C9 is released your Grace period update is direct to C9, but if you activated C6 before release (but in the Grace period) and claimed the Grace period to C8.5 you cannot now claim another to C9.
When you activate a license you get the current latest version, grace period or not.
If you did that two weeks ago you would get 8.5 first and now after running the maintenance 9.0

It's not really claiming the grace period twice.
Win 10 Home, 64 bit, 8 gb ram,
Cubase Pro 9, Wavelab Pro 9, Halion 6, Dorico,
NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Ozone 7,
UR 44

atze100
Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by atze100 » Tue Dec 13, 2016 3:45 pm

atze100 wrote:
Grim wrote:Yes, this is possible...if you activate C6 after C9 is released your Grace period update is direct to C9, but if you activated C6 before release (but in the Grace period) and claimed the Grace period to C8.5 you cannot now claim another to C9.
Right, that's what I was thinking. But still, it doesn't really explain what "once" means.

The reason I'm asking is, I already bought a 8.5 version which I haven't activated yet, because I was busy finishing songs in C8 and didn't want to risk to mess up my system.

In the next couple of weeks I want to update all my programs including Cubase. Right now, I only want to switch to C8.5, because C9 is maybe a bit too fresh and I also wanna test the new Sentinel in the demo first.

BUT, if I activate my 8.5 it will be automatically a Grace Period update now.

So that's why I'm asking what "customers receive from Steinberg once (!) a so-called free Grace Period update" means. If it means once in a lifetime, I would ruin my Grace Period option for ever for no reason...

Okay, I also searched the "older Cubase versions" forum now and there are only controversial answers but I couldn't find an official one.
Would be really nice if someone from Steinberg could reply on this or PM me! :D
Cubase Pro 8.0.40 64 Bit, Win7 Ultimate 64 Bit, Core i7 2600k, 16GB RAM

Cubase Safe Start: https://www.steinberg.net/fi/support/kn ... ences.html

Cubase Einstellungen: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

atze100
Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by atze100 » Fri Dec 16, 2016 10:50 am

Still looking for an answer...
THANKS!
Cubase Pro 8.0.40 64 Bit, Win7 Ultimate 64 Bit, Core i7 2600k, 16GB RAM

Cubase Safe Start: https://www.steinberg.net/fi/support/kn ... ences.html

Cubase Einstellungen: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

vinark
Member
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by vinark » Fri Dec 16, 2016 12:19 pm

If you activate 8.5 now (if you have an unused code to input into elicencer software) you will get 9. Simple as that. And what else can you do but activate it? In 2 years you can activate 9.5 and get 10. I am sure I did this with 7.5 and 8.5.
You will have to ask for a download link for 8.5. Or do you already have the 8.5 installer?

Cheers and don't worry!

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: How do I use the grace period?

Post by Grim » Fri Dec 16, 2016 12:24 pm

You've pretty much been given the answer a few times already....if you activate any version Cubase now you will get C9 license. You can run 8.5 on this license if that's what you want to do.

It has absolutely no bearing on what happens when you activate C15 in the C16 Grace period.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests