That "disappearing" plugin thing; still in C9?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
User avatar
djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1591
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: That "disappearing" plugin thing; still in C9?

Post by djw » Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:47 pm

Fabio Bartolini wrote:
Wed Dec 06, 2017 2:19 pm
Hi,

yes, 9.5.20 should include what was initially scheduled plus the one that didn't make to 9.5.10.
In short, only 9.5.10 is affected by the road-map change.
That's actually very good news that this is scheduled to be resolved for 9.5.
🥕
Specs: Latest versions of Cubase Pro, Dorico, WaveLab Pro, Windows 10, AMD Phenom II 1100T, 8GB RAM, AMD R9 390, YS CI1

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1208
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: That "disappearing" plugin thing; still in C9?

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Wed Dec 06, 2017 4:19 pm

Indeed good news, look forward to see how it works in general (both approaches have pros and cons, as Yvan pointed out here: viewtopic.php?f=250&t=123768&p=673631#p673631)
Fabio Bartolini, Support Representative
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

ultradust
Junior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:37 am
Contact:

Re: That "disappearing" plugin thing; still in C9?

Post by ultradust » Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:01 pm

Steve1977 wrote:
Fri Dec 01, 2017 3:13 pm
Would any of you think about selling off the UAD stuff or wait this out and see if this gets sorted ?
Not sure if you would be ideologically opposed, but quite a few people have found the Slate Digital suite (Virtual Mix Rack, Virtual Tape Machines, Virtual Bus Compressors, the tube/preamp collections, VerbSuite, etc.) to be high-performance, efficient, quality replacements for the UAD gear. Seeing as how you can get the whole lot for as low as $15/month depending on current sales, it can be an excellent solution if you like the Slate approach.

Of course, you won't have the hardware-offloading UAD approach available, but given the performance profile of the Slate plugins, they works really nicely for people who like them.

vinark
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: That "disappearing" plugin thing; still in C9?

Post by vinark » Thu Dec 07, 2017 5:11 pm

Here a thumbs up fot Jbridge. I use it for my UAD1's and other 32 bit plugs. The best news is that if this issue gets fixed you can just ditch jbridge and the normal unbridged plugins will load with settings intact. You do have to get your head around it when installing but once you do it is totally transparent. Just a tip, say you want to bridge your plugin alliance plugins. Move the PA (plugin alliance) folder out of the vst folder to anywhere. Point the jbridger app to that folder and let it create the bridged files in your vst folder (maybe in a new empty PA folder inside your vst folder). Cubase will now load the bridged files instead of the normal and they will run in a separate process each. Once this issue is fixed just delete the folder with bridged dll's and put the original PA folder back in your vst plugin folder. It is that simple. (they do need to be vst 2.4, so remember to also remove your vst3 versions

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cameron206, peakae and 11 guests