about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
jonalynkrauth
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:43 pm
Contact:

about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by jonalynkrauth » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:07 pm

Hello Steinberg guy , I am on osx 10.10.5 , some shop online said the minimum required is OSX 10.10 but you said on your site it is only for 10.11 minimum.

Can you tell me if cubase 9 is compatible with OSX 10.10.x ?

Thx.Nicolas

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by resomedia » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:47 pm

I would like to know this too. Running Yosemite quite happily at the moment with 8.5. I'm not touching this until I see some kind of confirmation of stability on 10.10.5. A new computer is inevitable, but not until next year at the earliest.
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

jonalynkrauth
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:43 pm
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by jonalynkrauth » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:52 pm

resomedia wrote:I would like to know this too. Running Yosemite quite happily at the moment with 8.5. I'm not touching this until I see some kind of confirmation of stability on 10.10.5. A new computer is inevitable, but not until next year at the earliest.
The stability of cubase 8.5 under 10.10.5 is just perfect , I am about to upgrade to V9 but i will not upgrade my OS/computer.

User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
Posts: 1104
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by Ed Doll » Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:59 pm

It's not officially supported and we cannot say anything regarding the compatibility and performance on any older systems. It would be trial and error unfortunately.
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud!

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by resomedia » Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:40 pm

jonalynkrauth - please report back with with how things go with CB9 on the older OS!
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by Weasel » Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:59 am

Cubase 9 works perfectly on Yosemite 10.10.5. No issues whatsoever. I've been running it on two machines with Yosemite for hours today. BTW, I'm also running Sound Radix's 32 Lives and every one of my 32 bit plugins work like a charm as well.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

jonalynkrauth
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:43 pm
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by jonalynkrauth » Thu Dec 08, 2016 8:47 am

thx for the info weasel

i don't have upgrade yet , but i will report if everything work properly.Wait for confirmation ;)

jonalynkrauth
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:43 pm
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by jonalynkrauth » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:00 am

upgrade downloading.... in about a few hours I will tell you if you can do it too.

jonalynkrauth
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:43 pm
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by jonalynkrauth » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:54 pm

Okay , Cubase 9 is running on 10.10.5 but the plugin blacklist is a nightmare !! don't upgrade to V9 until you are under sierra....

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by resomedia » Thu Dec 08, 2016 4:50 pm

Explain nightmare. Weasel seems up and going fine...?
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 682
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by Weasel » Thu Dec 08, 2016 6:36 pm

Explain nightmare. Weasel seems up and going fine...?
I think I know what he means but I wouldn't use the word "nightmare". PITA is more like it. Once C9 initially goes through your plugs, it throws a lot of stuff into the blacklist...deservedly or not. The PITA part is scooting through that list and recognizing what needs to be reactivated and what doesn't. There no search function and the entries list location first....so it's hard to read. Fortunately, you can look down the right side column for the 32/64 bit identifier to see what plugs have the possibility of being reactivated and go for them first. It's time consuming, but once you're done, that's it.

I looked at it the same way I did when I began to rebuild my workspace and preference settings...just part of the process of setting up the latest version as I have with every other major Cubase upgrade. And since this is basically a Mac thread, I will once again highly recommend 32 Lives if you have some old 32 bit plugs you simply can't live without because they are no longer supported or have no real 64 bit equivalents. In my case it brought NI's B4, Pro53 and Hypersonic 2 back to life with full GUIs and better CPU performance that they had under C8.5.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

jonalynkrauth
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2015 4:43 pm
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by jonalynkrauth » Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:27 am

okay it work under yosemite , but i had a lot of blacklisted plugins .
I have upgraded to sierra , and C9 work better / quickly and in the end , only 2 blaclisted plugins.
I think it is a waste of power to use it under yosemite.

User avatar
resomedia
Junior Member
Posts: 123
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 10:06 pm
Contact:

Re: about cubase 9 pro upgrade , minimal base OS ?

Post by resomedia » Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:19 pm

I've found 9 to be nice and snappy so far. Yes, waving goodbye to several 32-bit blacklisted plugs was a shame, but I'm not holding SB responsible for this. Honestly, some of these software developers really need to get up to speed. Installation went fine and spent a full day testing everything out on 10.10.5. All seems to be working fine. Enjoying working with the updated EQ and Compression plugs.
CB Pro 9.5.21 / Elements 8 (MacBook Air) / Mac Pro 2x2 (mid-2010) 4G 8-Core / OSX 10.5 "Yosemite" / 17GB RAM / PCI-e MOTU 2408mk3, MOTU 24 I/O / MOTU USB MIDI Express 128 (2)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests