Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
Posts: 900
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Contact:

Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by Ed Doll » Wed Dec 07, 2016 2:53 pm

In case you have issues with your plug-ins being blacklisted by Cubase 9, please have a look at this article on why this might have happened and what you can do - if you really have to.

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... r-Cubase-9
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by suntower » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:19 pm

1. IMO, there needs to be a way to turn 'Sentinel' OFF--like ASIO Guard. At least until you guys have more real-world feedback. Disabling 32 bit support is too huge a leap with no prior warning.

2. Said it before, say it again: you guys need to COMMUNICATE. A big change like this should have been communicated to users MANY MONTHS ahead of time. I'm sure there would've been yelling, but so what? At least users like me would've had -time- to prepare!

My work is constantly re-using material from many years ago. So almost the biggest thing -I- need is backward compatibility--or at least a way to migrate older work to the newer versions without too much pain.

With no prior warning, I feel stuck... I like the new features of C9, but the unexpected cost of losing a TON of plugs is a real gut punch.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1027
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by ZeroZero » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:22 pm

To be fair Suntower - they did communicate this, I knew a month or two before

Z
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 5820K Corei7, Asus x99a, 32 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by jose7822 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:30 pm

Not only that, but you can always go back to a previous version of Cubase if you need to work on older projects. It's not like you have to get rid of all of them today.

That said, there are plenty of 64 bit plugins available nowadays. I'm sure you can replace any 32 bit plugin with current 64 bit ones.
ASUS X99 Deluxe II | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.0 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro 64 bit | Cubase Pro 8.5 64 bit | Studio One v3.5 | RME FireFace UCX | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by jose7822 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:36 pm

ASUS X99 Deluxe II | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.0 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro 64 bit | Cubase Pro 8.5 64 bit | Studio One v3.5 | RME FireFace UCX | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

User avatar
JACKnight
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 2:23 am
Location: Little Britain, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by JACKnight » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:38 pm

I agree with the need for 32bit support.

I use some very cool old organ and percussion vst's that are obsolute, never be 64 bit, and I have tons of projects with them.

Imagine if your old 1176 hardware would no longer work because, new connectors.

Cheers
Dell Precision Workstation - 2x Xeon QuadCore 2.4Ghz / 24GB ram / NVidea GTX580 / 4x 600GB 15kRPM SAS drives / RME HDSP 9652 w/MIDI add-on / UAD 2 Duo / Mackie MCU Pro - Cubase 9, Nuendo 7, Wavelab 9

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 908
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by jose7822 » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:46 pm

Yes, I get it. But how long have developers, and users alike, have had to switch to 64bit? There's a point where you need to move forward, and sometimes that means not supporting old code. It's been 11 years since the first 64bit DAW came out, which I believe was Sonar 5. I think it's time to move forward, especially considering that most problems encountered by users is due to unsupported and/or bad behaving 32bit plugins. This is a smart move by Steinber, IMO.
ASUS X99 Deluxe II | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.0 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro 64 bit | Cubase Pro 8.5 64 bit | Studio One v3.5 | RME FireFace UCX | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

psvennevig
Member
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by psvennevig » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:18 pm

I haven´t used 32bit plugins for 4 years. Best stability upgrade I ever did.
And also to be fair, we knew this was coming. It should have happened already with C7 if you ask me.

And on the other side. Avid broke the 32bit plugin path years ago. Loud cries there as well. But getting rid of the horrendous RTAS architecture was a bliss for PT users in the long run.

Pål
Nuendo 7.0.x, nMP 8-core with 2xD700, 64GB, Macbook Pro Retina15" i7, RME UFX, RME Babyface, Artist Mix, Control and Transport, CC121.

ricksankey
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 9:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by ricksankey » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:27 pm

i just tried to re activate ozone 5 ...it failed....how could that be....????

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by suntower » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:30 pm

How did you know this? How was it communicated?

TIA,

---JC
ZeroZero wrote:To be fair Suntower - they did communicate this, I knew a month or two before

Z
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1592
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by djw » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:46 pm

suntower wrote:How did you know this? How was it communicated?
This news article from June: https://www.steinberg.net/en/newsandeve ... -3778.html
The support of 32-bit technology in our applications will be discontinued.
🥕
Specs: Latest versions of Cubase Pro, Dorico, WaveLab Pro, Windows 10, AMD Phenom II 1100T, 8GB RAM, AMD R9 390, YS CI1

c2d
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2012 8:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by c2d » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:53 pm

I have a few plugs that I don't want (or can't) replace. I've been trying to put all 32bit plugs under jbridge. Perhaps I was foreseeing the day like this would come some day :-P.

It's a little too early to tell, but so far jbridge seems to be working fine with C9.
Cubase Pro 8.5.30 x64
Windows 7 Pro x64, Core i7 3770K, ASUS Z77 MB, DDR3 32GB, SSD 1TB+
Fireface UCX, MSP5, Shure SRH840, Bose QC-20
Omnisphere 2, HALion Sonic v2, HSO, Forest Kingdom II, Iris, Komplete 10U, EZD, BFD/JTP,
Amplitube3, some Waves, Pro-Q2/L, PSP 608MD, Lexi MPX, VVR, Chor'X and some more...

Released - FLOW iTunes / Amazon / Google Play

geko
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:17 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by geko » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:31 am

well I have the same problem with my UAD-1 but I think i will open a new post for this so maybe i will get more direct answer, but its very disappointing
Intel i7-2600 3.60GHz, 16GB, Windows 10-64-bit, Cubase 9 Pro, Access Virus TI, Novation Remote SL, Steinberg FD, Steinberg CH, UAD-1

fgimian
Junior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by fgimian » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:55 am

I have two 64-bit plugins that are affected:

Relab's LX480 Complete (pretty much a Lexicon 480L, amazing verb!!!!)
Cableguys ShaperBox (just released)

I've emailed both companies.

Do you guys have any other 64-bit plugins disabled?

Cheers
Fotis
Software & Audio Interface: Cubase 9.0.1 x64 / OS X El Capitan / Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Computer: MacBook Pro 15" Retina 2015 i7 2.6 GHz 16 GB RAM 512 GB PCIe SSD

fgimian
Junior Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by fgimian » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:57 am

P.S.: Is there any further information I can gather to send to devs? I can't see some sort of validation log or diagnostic report as to why these failed that I can send them.
Software & Audio Interface: Cubase 9.0.1 x64 / OS X El Capitan / Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Computer: MacBook Pro 15" Retina 2015 i7 2.6 GHz 16 GB RAM 512 GB PCIe SSD

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1490
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by suntower » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:04 am

fgimian wrote:P.S.: Is there any further information I can gather to send to devs? I can't see some sort of validation log or diagnostic report as to why these failed that I can send them.
DITTO! If a plug-in refuses to be 're-activated', there should be some sort of Reason Code or Log.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

gregsimon
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:12 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by gregsimon » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:16 am

On OSX 10.11.6 Pro9 Steinberg's own "The Grand 3 (3.1.1) is blacklisted despite being a 64bit VST3. Hmm. Should I update to macos sierra then? Seems like that will just add more problems. :-(

User avatar
musicbeat
Member
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 9:11 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by musicbeat » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:33 am

gregsimon wrote:On OSX 10.11.6 Pro9 Steinberg's own "The Grand 3 (3.1.1) is blacklisted despite being a 64bit VST3. Hmm. Should I update to macos sierra then? Seems like that will just add more problems. :-(
Clearly, you didn't read this thread/article: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... r-Cubase-9
i7 3.4 ghz 16go L2|W10 x64
Cubase Pro 8.5|HALion 5|Cubasis|Groove Agent Pro|Spectrasonics Bundle
RME BabyFace|AxiomPro49|Focal Pro-CMS 40

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1208
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:50 am

Hi all,

dropping 32-bit has been announced in June, right.

The new VST Scanner have been announced to developers in advance as well of course (in August), providing a tool to check if their plug-ins crash on scanning (here is part of the communication, obviously omitting code / tools / download / contacts: viewtopic.php?f=250&t=107322#p588614).
So, VST developers didn't wake up to a surprise yesterday. Many of those affected by issues / blacklisting, have contacted directly by our developers, some actually have fixes ready.

For those who still rely on a few 32-bit only plug-ins, jBridge still works fine.

If you have VST2 / VST3 64-bit plug-ins getting blacklisted, please let the developer know, they usually know where to get in touch for VST SDK related info, if not, they can contact Steinberg Support, we'll forward the info to the proper people.
Fabio Bartolini, Support Representative
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

vinark
Member
Posts: 376
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by vinark » Thu Dec 08, 2016 9:56 am

geko wrote:well I have the same problem with my UAD-1 but I think i will open a new post for this so maybe i will get more direct answer, but its very disappointing
UAD1 runs fine under jbridge here on C9 win7 64!

Down Jones
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 10:39 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by Down Jones » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:18 am

JACKnight wrote:I agree with the need for 32bit support.

I use some very cool old organ and percussion vst's that are obsolute, never be 64 bit, and I have tons of projects with them.

Imagine if your old 1176 hardware would no longer work because, new connectors.

Cheers
Use Cubase 8.5 next to C9. There is no issue. Bitbridging always has been an achilles heel, other DAWs have kicked 32 bit a few versions ago.

Dharp
New Member
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2015 6:57 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by Dharp » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:20 pm

fgimian wrote:I have two 64-bit plugins that are affected:

Relab's LX480 Complete (pretty much a Lexicon 480L, amazing verb!!!!)
Cableguys ShaperBox (just released)

I've emailed both companies.

Do you guys have any other 64-bit plugins disabled?

Cheers
Fotis
My EastWest Play engine is blacklisted. That seems like a big one.

User avatar
EricM
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by EricM » Thu Dec 08, 2016 1:31 pm

DSarp: you can reactivate the East West Play 5.0.0 Plugin in the Plugin Manager. East West will release very soon an update for Play 5.0.0 that will pass the Scanner without problems.

User avatar
EricM
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2016 4:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by EricM » Thu Dec 08, 2016 2:42 pm

"DITTO! If a plug-in refuses to be 're-activated', there should be some sort of Reason Code or Log."
If a plug-in refuses to be re-activated this usually means on Windows that the dll is not a valid plugin dll. IZotope for example installs dlls into the VST Plugin folder that are no valid plugins. The scanner sorts them out.
All iZotope plugins should be available in Cubase on Windows.

User avatar
Quietly
Junior Member
Posts: 166
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Plug-in Sentinel: Blacklisted plug-ins

Post by Quietly » Thu Dec 08, 2016 5:59 pm

Izotope Ozone 5 picked up and running perfectly on 9 here.
https://soundcloud.com/gerry-cooper-855281238
Cubase Pro 9.5. Windows 10 Pro 64 bit. Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz 4GB RAM. ASUS Radeon R7-259 Graphics Card , Focusrite Scarlett 2i4. Komplete Kontrol S61 and HS80M Monitors. Komplete 10 Ultimate, Symphobia, Ozone 5 etc

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests