Page 1 of 1

Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 5:29 am
by Rawker
Hi, I am after a free Mellotron plugin and have found a few but I noticed being 32 but my Cubase won't allow it to install and blacklists it. Why is this? And where can I find a 64 bit Mellotron VST plugin that will suit my Cubase LA AI?

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 9:51 am
by Martin.Jirsak
Hi,

Since Cubase 9 (I hope I'm right), Cubase is 64-bit only.

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 11:46 am
by Rawker
Yes I know Martin, but you did not answer my question. I'm looking for 64 bit VST Mellotron instrument.

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 12:09 pm
by Martin.Jirsak
Hi,

Sorry, I replied Cubase related question.

I cannot recommend any because I don't use it, but what about NI Retro Machines MKII, Arturia Mellotron V, Wavesfactory Newmello I, UVI Mello, G-Force M-Tron Pro, IK SampleTron...?

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 12:10 pm
by skijumptoes
You could load these sound samples into a sample instrument:-
http://leisureland.us/audio/MellotronSa ... amples.htm

There's loads of free sample VST's, Grace is quite nice and lets you spread samples across the keys easily, which is what you need:-
http://www.onesmallclue.com/plugin/grace/

Other than that you'd need to pay i think, even if you wanted to bridge the 32 bit plugins to run, solutions such as jbridge cost money.

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 10:33 pm
by Rawker
Thanks for your advice and suggestion, especially skijumptoes, your link was the perfect solution. Can you suggest any Hammond B3 free VSTs as well?

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Thu Apr 02, 2020 10:43 pm
by Martin.Jirsak
Hi,

I would recommend to use KVRAudio for plug-ins search.

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 12:36 am
by Rawker
Thank you Martin.
Skyjumptoes - I've installed Grace Plugin, but does it come with any samples? There is no samples included in my installation, or have I forgotten to download something else that goes with it?

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 12:58 am
by Rawker
Ok, I've download the Grace Patches, but I have no idea where to unzip the file. It automatically unzipped it to the same location as the installer in Program Files, but I have a feeling this in correct? If so, where do i unzip file to, should it be the VST Plugins folder?

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:05 am
by skijumptoes
Native instruments Komplete Start is free and that has organs I believe. Has plenty of instruments that you may use in fact and is a very good freebie.

As for Grace, as it's a sampler instrument you load the samples or presets via the plug in so up to you where you store them. I'd create a folder especially for them, unzip there, and you can organize how works best.

Then simply load from that location within the Plugin. If you've not used a sampler before it may require a little bit of learning. However, you open up to a load of free content as you can use raw sample packs which are very easy to find.

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 4:50 am
by Rawker
How do you remove a plugin from the Blacklist so it can be installed into my VST plugin folder? It is a 64 bit plugin yet Cubase has blacklisted it!

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 10:17 am
by skijumptoes

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2020 9:00 pm
by Rawker
I have version 9.5 LE AI

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:03 am
by Rawker
Doesn't reactivating your account mean you loose all your saved projects in Cubase and everything else? I don't think this is good advice. Someone suggested I do this a few years back with a previous Cubase version, and I did it and lost everything!! Not going to take that chance again.

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:16 am
by Martin.Jirsak
Hi,
Rawker wrote:
Sat Apr 04, 2020 12:03 am
Doesn't reactivating your account mean you loose all your saved projects in Cubase and everything else? I don't think this is good advice. Someone suggested I do this a few years back with a previous Cubase version, and I did it and lost everything!! Not going to take that chance again.
Reactivating eLicenser is needed, when the Soft-eLicenser Number changes. What happens if you change the system (reinstall it), or if you get a new system-drive (mostly switch from HDD to SSD) or if you switch to new computer.

Cubase settings is stored in the preferences folder, which you can transfer to the new installation

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:01 am
by skijumptoes
Reactivating account?! No that's something entirely different.

You need to reactivate the blacklisted Plugin so that it can be used.

Plugins need to pass a validation scan before they can be used (to prevent unwanted issues) when they fail this validation they become blacklisted. So all you're doing is giving that Plugin validation a retry. It has nothing to do with your steinberg account.

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2020 2:58 pm
by Martin.Jirsak
Hi,

I see, I was totally out of topic. :-D

Re: Mellotron Plugin Help

Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2020 8:49 pm
by nacho1000
skijumptoes wrote:
Fri Apr 03, 2020 1:05 am
Native instruments Komplete Start is free and that has organs I believe. Has plenty of instruments that you may use in fact and is a very good freebie.

As for Grace, as it's a sampler instrument you load the samples or presets via the plug in so up to you where you store them. I'd create a folder especially for them, unzip there, and you can organize how works best.

Then simply load from that location within the Plugin. If you've not used a sampler before it may require a little bit of learning. However, you open up to a load of free content as you can use raw sample packs which are very easy to find.
Thanks for this very good advice! Is there any good Hammond type sound included with Halion SE?