Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
Basdek
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:14 pm
Contact:

Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by Basdek »

Hello!

I know there have been several topics about this subject, and believe me, I tried them all. I am a software developer by profession so not unused to tinkering / troubleshooting. (When making music, however, I am in a different mood and did unfortunately not have a backup with my latest configuration too safely revert back too ;))

All of the folowing concerns the Dorico pro editions, btw.

The new features in 3.5 looked tempting and I decided to buy the update.
I installed 3.5 first alongside 3.0, the installer was not doing an update but installed a new extra Dorico.

I opened some projects that I made in 3.0 and playback via noteperformer was not working.
I then googled, came along several topics and have tried the following:

1. Removing noteperformer
2. Freshly installing Dorico 3.5, after removal of 3.0
3. Reinstalling noteperformer
4. Tinkering with the vst plugins menu, blacklist and whitelist, several restarts
5. Tinkering with xml blacklists, running VstAudioEngine.exe after changes as suggested by some topics on this forum

and lastly

6. changing the path where noteperformer is installed manually (the Noteperfomer64.dll) as suggested by viewtopic.php?t=167497, the last post in that topic.

Now everything seems more broken, Dorico 3.5 is not starting again, the audio engine crashed.
help.png
See this screenshot.

I assume that removing the noteperformer64.dll file from the path suggested will make Dorico 3.5 start up again, but then I am were I started, without noteperformer working.

Some additional information:

Tried this with
NP 3.0.x (an installation from 2019)
NP 3.1.x (the latest version of yesterday)
NP 3.1.2 (the update that was released today) EDIT: 3.3.2, the latest, corrected typo.

I have some additional VSTS, besides the Halion steinberg, namely:
VSL Synchron player
VSL Synchron surround player

Before the situation that stops Dorico 3.5 from crashing the other VSTs worked.

I am at my wits end.
Last edited by Basdek on Mon Oct 26, 2020 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

dko22
Member
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2016 8:45 pm
Location: Stuttgart
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.2.1

Post by dko22 »

first step is to update NP. to 3.3.2 which is today's version. Puzzled by your reference to 3.1.2? If that was a typo, there does now seem to be a potential fix which Ulf has made available by PM to users with such problems --- I expect he will see and respond to the thread soon and confirm the best way forward based on the latest testing results.

Basdek
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.2.1

Post by Basdek »

I am sorry, @dko22, I meant the very latest, so indeed 3.3.2 have corrected in the title. Will be awaiting Ulf's help kindly! Thanks.

odod
Junior Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 2:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by odod »

the thread is here
viewtopic.php?f=246&t=200816
Cubase 10.5, FL Studio 20, ProTools 2020, Reaper 6, Dorico, Sibelius, MacPro 2019, UA16, Kali LP8, EWQL Diamond, Pianoteq 6, Ivory II, Slate, Plugin Alliance, Soundtoys, etc./b]

zappazap

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2679
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by Ulf »

Hi Basdek, please create a diagnostics report (Help > Create Diagnostics Report) and send to 'u dot stoermer at steinberg dot de'. Thanks.
More instructions will follow then.
Steinberg employee

Basdek
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by Basdek »

I have emailed you Ulf!

User avatar
FlorentG
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 6:48 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by FlorentG »

Hello all,

I have another problem after installing the new 3.3.2 version.
Noteperformer is not listed any more in the VST instrument list in play mode.

I've tried to delele noteperformer folders in appdata subfolders, and reinstall it. Same problem.

Any idea ?
Florent
Dorico 3.5, Sibelius 8, Noteperformer, Transcribe, Reaper, Windows 10,
Conductor - orchestrator - arranger

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18948
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

FlorentG, could you please also do Help > Create Diagnostic Report and send the resulting zip file to Ulf at u dot stoermer at steinberg dot de, together with details of the problem you're experiencing (i.e. that NotePerformer is now apparently being blacklisted on your system)? Assuming you are experiencing the same problem as some other Windows users, he should be able to send you an updated component that will fix the problem.

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2679
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by Ulf »

He did already, but did not mention it. In the meantime he is up and running again :-)
Steinberg employee

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18948
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Ah, thanks, Ulf :)

Basdek
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2020 7:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by Basdek »

As am I, thanks Ulf for the patches, now everything works again!

ArnBrem
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 02, 2016 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by ArnBrem »

Do I need to disturb Ulf or is there a download link for this patch available?

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2679
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by Ulf »

Don't hesitate, but first please create a diagnostics report and send me. I want to first check if it is really that issue. Could be also something else...
Steinberg employee

Vaughan Schlepp
Senior Member
Posts: 1208
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:09 am
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by Vaughan Schlepp »

After reading this topic, I held my breath as I tried out the updated Note performer with a number of Dorico files. FWIW, they worked fine on my system.
MacPro (late 2013), 16 GB RAM, 4-core
MacBookPro (2018), 16 GB RAM, 6-core
OS 11.0.1
NotePerformer
Hauptwerk Advanced
Dorico 3.5.10
Finale 3.2-26.3, Sibelius 5-7

User avatar
FlorentG
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2018 6:48 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by FlorentG »

Yes I confirm it works with the patches.

Thanks Ulf and Daniel.
Florent
Dorico 3.5, Sibelius 8, Noteperformer, Transcribe, Reaper, Windows 10,
Conductor - orchestrator - arranger

User avatar
RedtideMusic
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by RedtideMusic »

Can you folks tell me - can Note Performer be used with other sample libraries, or only the built in ones? Is it purely for playback, or can you save the MIDI CC expression it presumably creates internally? It would be interesting to use Note Performer to create a 'roughed in' CC performance, which could be taken over to another library for refinement, since I presume NP doesn't support other libraries natively.
"Dorico is not only a writing partner, but also a composition partner." Paolo

Dorico 3.5, Cubase 11, clarinet (Bb, A & Eb Buffet), piano (Walter 6'5) and a bunch of Moog (Semi modular line)

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4177
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by MarcLarcher »

Dear RedtideMusic
You CAN use Noteperformer along with other libraries, and even automate the process, thanks to the new Playback template features. I do it all the time : keyboards and harps played by Pianoteq 6, the other stuff by Noteperformer. But you cannot access (at least, to my knowledge) any of the magic NotePerformer uses to build its musical phrases.
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.15.6, macbook pro 2019 16" (8 cores i9 @ 2.3GHz, 32GB, 1TB)
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.5.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

User avatar
RedtideMusic
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Dorico 3.5 and Note performer 3.3.2

Post by RedtideMusic »

MarcLarcher wrote:
Tue Oct 27, 2020 2:40 pm
You CAN use Noteperformer along with other libraries, and even automate the process, thanks to the new Playback template features. I do it all the time : keyboards and harps played by Pianoteq 6, the other stuff by Noteperformer. But you cannot access (at least, to my knowledge) any of the magic NotePerformer uses to build its musical phrases.
Thanks Marc! Their documentation is a little skimpy, or at least I wasn't able to find anything. Just double checking, my use case is that I need to output final stems for orchestral game music, so at some point I need to get MIDI into a DAW - so just making sure, there's no such thing? Does it have any mixing capabilities?

Or let me try it this way, can you set up MIDI endpoints in NP like you can in Dorico? If you can then I'm set, I can 'print' the MIDI to a Logic backend (e.g. Dorico->Note Performer->Logic, oh my ...)

Edit: Well I downloaded the trial at any rate, not obvious how to set up a different library ... In the included PDF documentation (rough copy of the website it appears), the only reference to playback template is on the Dorico side. Do you mean you can get this to work somehow through Dorico playback templates, or Note Performer has playback templates?


OH - scratch that. We're talking about different things - you are talking about other libraries along side Note Performer. I need Note Performer to be using another library, which doesn't appear to be supported. NP seems to phrase nicely but it was too thin compared to BBCSO, even for playback.

Yeah it's not going to be available soon I bet. My day job is in deep learning, which they're surely doing here. Problem is the training has to be done on a particular library. So they could, for example, run their training on the BBCSO Spitfire library, and if you have license for it and it is installed, they could support it and output CC's that are appropriate for that library. But yeah they'd have to train on a bunch of different libraries, which isn't a big deal really and might be in their plans.
"Dorico is not only a writing partner, but also a composition partner." Paolo

Dorico 3.5, Cubase 11, clarinet (Bb, A & Eb Buffet), piano (Walter 6'5) and a bunch of Moog (Semi modular line)

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Claude Lapalme, HeiPet, pianoleo and 7 guests