Uppercase and medieval numerals

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
Pepinello
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:29 am
Location: Vienna/Austria
Contact:

Uppercase and medieval numerals

Post by Pepinello »

Hello!

I’m wondering, if there is a possibility to switch between uppercase and medieval numerals.
In my case I am using a typeface with a broad range of glyphs and Dorico only uses the medieval numerals which looks imho disappointing e.g in rehearsal marks:
Bildschirmfoto 2020-10-25 um 15.25.56.png
(34.29 KiB) Not downloaded yet
(I didn’t find any possibility to center the letters by adjusting the spacings of the frame – up, down, left, right.)
Is there any possibility to change to uppercase numerals?

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
benwiggy
Senior Member
Posts: 2378
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Uppercase and medieval numerals

Post by benwiggy »

Do you mean 'lining' and 'non-lining' figures?

Dorico does not provide any means to choose one or the other, so it will use whatever the default is in your font.
MacMini 2018, 3GHz i5, 32Gb RAM | MacBook Pro 2014, 2.2 GHz i7 | Garritan Personal Orchestra 5
Ancient Groove Music

User avatar
Pepinello
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:29 am
Location: Vienna/Austria
Contact:

Re: Uppercase and medieval numerals

Post by Pepinello »

Ok, thank you, benwiggy! :)
I am sorry, I am not skilled in using english typography terms, my mother tongue is German. So I don’t know what you mean with lining and non-lining figures. I am talking about this: https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/ ... iffern.svg

But I think I understand: if the font has medievals by default and not uppercases, I have to change the font, if I want to use the uppercases for rehearsal marks. And: there is no possibility to use both, medieval and uppercase numerals of the same font within one project … right?

User avatar
benwiggy
Senior Member
Posts: 2378
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Uppercase and medieval numerals

Post by benwiggy »

Yes, that's the term: either they all line up, or they don't line up.

Dorico doesn't have any controls for advanced OpenType features, like choosing different numerals, or small caps, etc. You'll have to choose a different font for now.
MacMini 2018, 3GHz i5, 32Gb RAM | MacBook Pro 2014, 2.2 GHz i7 | Garritan Personal Orchestra 5
Ancient Groove Music

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lillie Harris, PjotrB and 15 guests