Aftertouch

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
johnabram
Junior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:06 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Aftertouch

Post by johnabram »

Does Dorico have any aftertouch capability?
Dorico 3.5, Logic Pro X, Reaper 4, Sibelius 7.1.3, Finale 2010
late 2009 iMac i7 2.8GHz, 24G MacOS High Sierra
mid 2012 MacBook Pro i5 2.5GHz,16G MacOS High Sierra

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18958
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Aftertouch

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

What exactly do you mean, John?

Derrek
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4067
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Aftertouch

Post by Derrek »

With some MIDI keyboards (like the Yamaha DX7) one can apply additional pressure to a key after the initial attack to affect (modulate) the sound. Presumably that is what John is asking about, whether Dorico can sense it or control it via a CC lane.
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3.3.1, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Catalina as alternate)
US English Keyboard

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18958
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Aftertouch

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Dorico doesn't provide an editor for aftertouch, certainly.

User avatar
johnabram
Junior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:06 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Aftertouch

Post by johnabram »

Thanks, Derrek and Daniel—Derrek presumes correctly. I'm working on and off (more off these days, since I've finally figured out how much work this will be) on an emap for XSamples Extended Edition Strings, which have an extensive variety of great-sounding solo string samples, including sul pont, flautando, body strokes, rosin noises, etc. One difficulty I've encountered is that the Kontakt programming for many of the instruments shows inconsistencies as to which CCs control which parameters. In some cases, AT is used to alter vibrato intensity, so I wondered whether Dorico can access that controller. It seems not.
Dorico 3.5, Logic Pro X, Reaper 4, Sibelius 7.1.3, Finale 2010
late 2009 iMac i7 2.8GHz, 24G MacOS High Sierra
mid 2012 MacBook Pro i5 2.5GHz,16G MacOS High Sierra

Derrek
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4067
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: Aftertouch

Post by Derrek »

John,

I did a search on aftertouch (AT) and found a couple of references that you might find helpful:

https://vi-control.net/community/thread ... o-x.34241/
and
https://steinberg.help/halion/v6/en/hal ... per_c.html

Although Dorico cannot respond to AT, if you wanted to add it as a controller lane, the articles above might be helpful.

I have seen references to AT being sent on CC#4 and CC#5, but other references said that AT was specific to input devices and not a standard MIDI CC but that it could (as in HALion--and that may only be the full HALion-- or Kontakt) be channeled into one.

(Ironically, I do not use AT. I just recognize it since it affects notes I play on my DX7 when I monitor on separate speakers the notes I am inputing into notation software.)
Dorico Pro 3.5.10.1045, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3.3.1, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Catalina as alternate)
US English Keyboard

User avatar
johnabram
Junior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:06 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Aftertouch

Post by johnabram »

Derrek wrote:
Wed Apr 15, 2020 5:53 pm
John,

I did a search on aftertouch (AT) and found a couple of references that you might find helpful
Ooh, very helpful indeed! Thanks so much, Derrek!
Dorico 3.5, Logic Pro X, Reaper 4, Sibelius 7.1.3, Finale 2010
late 2009 iMac i7 2.8GHz, 24G MacOS High Sierra
mid 2012 MacBook Pro i5 2.5GHz,16G MacOS High Sierra

User avatar
FredGUnn
Senior Member
Posts: 1032
Joined: Thu May 19, 2016 1:40 pm
Location: NYCish
Contact:

Re: Aftertouch

Post by FredGUnn »

johnabram wrote:
Wed Apr 15, 2020 3:27 pm
In some cases, AT is used to alter vibrato intensity, so I wondered whether Dorico can access that controller. It seems not.
Garritan JABB uses AT to control vibrato intensity too, but I haven't figured out how to access it in Dorico. Did you ever figure out how to use this?
Dorico Pro 3.5.1, Finale v26, HALion 6, GPO, JABB, World Instruments, CFX Concert Grand, NotePerformer, BBCSO Core
Windows 10 - Desktop: i9-9900K, 64GB, UA Apollo Twin MKII QUAD - Laptop: Razer Blade Stealth, i7-7500U, 16GB, UA Apollo Solo

User avatar
johnabram
Junior Member
Posts: 161
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:06 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Aftertouch

Post by johnabram »

Hi Fred.
I understand that there's no support for AT in Dorico at present, so I built a small utility with pd which streams incoming CC data into AT. I haven't used it for a while, but it did seem to be working. I remember there's a caveat involving doubled data or something—it's been a while.
Dorico 3.5, Logic Pro X, Reaper 4, Sibelius 7.1.3, Finale 2010
late 2009 iMac i7 2.8GHz, 24G MacOS High Sierra
mid 2012 MacBook Pro i5 2.5GHz,16G MacOS High Sierra

Xsample
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Aftertouch

Post by Xsample »

johnabram wrote:
Thu Oct 22, 2020 10:17 pm
Hi Fred.
I understand that there's no support for AT in Dorico at present, so I built a small utility with pd which streams incoming CC data into AT. I haven't used it for a while, but it did seem to be working. I remember there's a caveat involving doubled data or something—it's been a while.
Alternatively, controller CC#4 can be used to control vibrato.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gil75, harmonica, HeiPet, JesterMusician, mducharme and 8 guests