Inputting using a midi keyboard

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
harrisson
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:31 pm
Contact:

Inputting using a midi keyboard

Post by harrisson » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:26 pm

Hi there
Can anyone help me to get this working please? I have a midi keyboard but can't get dorico to recognise it. The online help video says that a green dot should appear in the corner of the screen to show that midi is being received. I don't have a green dot, but don't know how to fix this. I can record into other programs with this keyboard, but not dorico or musescore for some reason.
Thanks!

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4982
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Inputting using a midi keyboard

Post by dankreider » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:28 pm

Check Preferences--Play--Recording--MIDI input devices. Is the device showing on the list? Is it checked?
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico 3, Windows 10

harrisson
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Inputting using a midi keyboard

Post by harrisson » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:41 pm

Seems to be working now, thanks. However, recording in results in complete rubbish so I obviously haven't worked this out yet!

harrisson
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Inputting using a midi keyboard

Post by harrisson » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:46 pm

I have no playback though so I couldn't hear the metronome which probably didn't help

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4982
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Inputting using a midi keyboard

Post by dankreider » Sat Mar 28, 2020 7:52 pm

I wrote an article on this that you may find helpful. https://www.scoringnotes.com/tips/real- ... in-dorico/
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico 3, Windows 10

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”