fermata in barline

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
HeiPet
Member
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

fermata in barline

Post by HeiPet » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:40 pm

Hi,

I attached a fermata to a bar:
Image

The composer wants the fermata on the barline, so I switch on the option to place it above the barline:
Image

The Composer wants a fermata on every sie of the barline. So I tried to switch on the option for fermata placements, and the fermata jumps back onto the notes. The option to attach the fermata to the barline is still on.
Image

This can't be the desired behaviour!?
Is there a way to have a fermata in both ends of the barline?

Heiko
Attachments
Fermata3.png
(28.63 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Fermata2.png
(26.12 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Fermata1.png
(28.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet

benwiggy
Senior Member
Posts: 1845
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2016 8:09 pm
Contact:

Re: fermata in barline

Post by benwiggy » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:27 pm

Set them at different beat positions. Failing that, you'll have to fake it by creating fermatas as Playing Techniques.

Composers. Tsk. :lol:
MacMini 2018, 3GHz i5, 32Gb RAM | MacBook Pro 2014, 2.2 GHz i7 | Garritan Personal Orchestra 5
Ancient Groove Music

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 16965
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: fermata in barline

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Mar 27, 2020 9:15 am

I believe at the moment it is indeed only possible to show the fermata above the barline.

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: fermata in barline

Post by HeiPet » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:46 pm

Please consider this as an feature request than.

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7288
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: fermata in barline

Post by pianoleo » Fri Mar 27, 2020 12:58 pm

HeiPet, as a workaround you can construct a custom playing technique that shows a fermata glyph, attach to the final beat of the bottom instrument, flip with F, switch to Engrave mode and drag into place. In the part layout you’ll need to drag it off the edge of the page.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

HeiPet
Member
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: fermata in barline

Post by HeiPet » Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:02 pm

Thanks pianoleo and benwiggy! I'll do that. I'm preparing a playing score, so there are no parts needed.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Albione, benwiggy, Lillie Harris, pianoleo, Pietzcker, vanmeule and 10 guests