[Feature Request] Show flow number in "Layout Options"

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
prko
Member
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:35 am
Contact:

[Feature Request] Show flow number in "Layout Options"

Post by prko » Fri Jan 17, 2020 8:39 am

Dear developers and users,

In "Layout Options", there are "Show above flow heading" and "Hide above flow heading" for "Flow title in header" as follows:
Screenshot 2020-01-17 16.34.38.png
(507.16 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I would like to suggest to add the same thing for "Flow number in header".

How do you think about it?
Last edited by prko on Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
- MBP (15" 2018, 2.9GHz i9, 32GB)
- mac10.15.3 for Dorico Pro 3.1
- Win10 for Dorico SE
- Dorico (mac, 2018-), Finale (mac & win,1993-), Sibelius (mac & win, 2002-, occasionally)
- PhotoScore Ultimate, AudioScore Ultimate
- Cycling 74 Max, SuperCollider, Logic Pro, Ableton Live, Adobe CC, ProTools HD, Nuendo, Cubase 10.5
- KOMPLETE 12 ULTIMATE, NotePerformer 3, Waves Mercury, GRM Tools Completes
- RME FireFace800, MOTU UltraLite-mk3 Hybrid, KOMPLETE KONTROL S88
- ADAM S3X-V (2), GENELEC 8040B (6), GENELEC 7060 (1)

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17108
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: [Feature Reques] Show flow number in "Layout Options"

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Jan 17, 2020 8:43 am

That's something you can adjust by setting a different flow heading to be the default one. Or are you saying you want the flow number to appear in the header? If so, again, you can edit that via the master pages.

prko
Member
Posts: 786
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: [Feature Request] Show flow number in "Layout Options"

Post by prko » Fri Jan 17, 2020 9:32 am

Yes, you are right! I know it.

Please look at the followings:
In Default of Master Page, I edited the head as follows:
Screenshot 2020-01-17 17.23.53.png
(77.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I want to hide the followings on each page where "Flow Heading" appears.

I can hide {@flowTitle@} via "Layout options". It is very simple.
However, I should edit each page in which "Flow Heading" appears. It is repetitive works, and it is not simple if the project has lots of flows.

Currently, I removed {@flowNumber@} to resolve it because showing the flow numbers on each page is not a must for this project...
- MBP (15" 2018, 2.9GHz i9, 32GB)
- mac10.15.3 for Dorico Pro 3.1
- Win10 for Dorico SE
- Dorico (mac, 2018-), Finale (mac & win,1993-), Sibelius (mac & win, 2002-, occasionally)
- PhotoScore Ultimate, AudioScore Ultimate
- Cycling 74 Max, SuperCollider, Logic Pro, Ableton Live, Adobe CC, ProTools HD, Nuendo, Cubase 10.5
- KOMPLETE 12 ULTIMATE, NotePerformer 3, Waves Mercury, GRM Tools Completes
- RME FireFace800, MOTU UltraLite-mk3 Hybrid, KOMPLETE KONTROL S88
- ADAM S3X-V (2), GENELEC 8040B (6), GENELEC 7060 (1)

spin
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [Feature Request] Show flow number in "Layout Options"

Post by spin » Tue Mar 31, 2020 1:31 pm

I also have this request. It would be nice to hide the flow number from the header above a flow heading automatically.

spin
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [Feature Request] Show flow number in "Layout Options"

Post by spin » Tue Mar 31, 2020 1:36 pm

In the attachment you can see the first page of a flow. Flow number is 2, using roman numerals. The flow title is hidden from the header, but the flow number isn't.
Attachments
Screenshot 2020-03-31 at 13.35.15.png
(90.45 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Derrek
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3502
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2016 6:23 pm
Location: East Coast, USA
Contact:

Re: [Feature Request] Show flow number in "Layout Options"

Post by Derrek » Tue Mar 31, 2020 2:41 pm

Change the token in your Master Page(s) to show what you want: {@projectTitle@} might be one option.
Dorico Pro 3.5.0.1020, Finale (v26), GPO, JABB3, GWI, NotePerformer 3, CuBase Pro 10.5 newbie
Windows 10 (also Mac Catalina as alternate)
US English Keyboard

spin
Junior Member
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 3:49 pm
Contact:

Re: [Feature Request] Show flow number in "Layout Options"

Post by spin » Tue Mar 31, 2020 4:29 pm

It's possible to find a workaround and I've found one which is to create a custom Master Page and apply it to the first page of flows. But it would be nice to this feature incorporated automatically as so many pieces are in the form of

Project Title
I. First movement title
II. Second movement title

etc...

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3768
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: [Feature Request] Show flow number in "Layout Options"

Post by MarcLarcher » Tue Mar 31, 2020 7:11 pm

You can use the combination of tokens {@flownumberromanupper@}.{Flowtitle} in the default masterpage's header (I use it all the time)
Marc Larcher

OS X 10.14.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.1.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rkrentzman, Tkearneyone and 9 guests