Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
kt-va
Junior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Richmond, VA, US
Contact:

Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Post by kt-va » Fri Nov 01, 2019 9:39 am

I don't know what I did to change it, but now everything plays back 1/2 step flat.I don't know if its a sample rate issue with my macbook or if the midi stream is transposing.

Any ideas of where to begin would be geatly appreicated.

thanks
kim
Church Music Director/Music Producer/Arranger/Engraver
recording: windows 10 - Cubase Pro 10.5 - Wavelab 8 - RX - Ozone
EastWestQL, Kontakt, Halion, et al.
engraving: macbook pro - iOS Mojave 10.14.6 - Dorico 3.1.0.1021 (Jan 15, 2020)

User avatar
PaulWalmsley
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1935
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 9:24 pm
Location: Steinberg, London
Contact:

Re: Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Post by PaulWalmsley » Fri Nov 01, 2019 9:42 am

If it's a semitone out then that suggests that another application has changed the sample rate.
Architect & Developer - Steinberg London

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 16965
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Fri Nov 01, 2019 10:04 am

You should find that going to Edit > Device Setup, choosing another sample rate, waiting a moment, and then re-choosing the original sample rate will take care of the problem.

User avatar
kt-va
Junior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Richmond, VA, US
Contact:

Re: Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Post by kt-va » Fri Nov 01, 2019 7:22 pm

you guys are the best, thanks!
Church Music Director/Music Producer/Arranger/Engraver
recording: windows 10 - Cubase Pro 10.5 - Wavelab 8 - RX - Ozone
EastWestQL, Kontakt, Halion, et al.
engraving: macbook pro - iOS Mojave 10.14.6 - Dorico 3.1.0.1021 (Jan 15, 2020)

Peter McAleer
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 10:11 am
Contact:

Re: Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Post by Peter McAleer » Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:42 am

Just noticed the same issue here. Do we know what apps may be causing this? (Daniel's fix worked for me too)
MacBook Pro
iMac
OS X 'Catalina'
RAM: 16 GB
https://www.mcaleermusic.com/

User avatar
kt-va
Junior Member
Posts: 193
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:39 pm
Location: Richmond, VA, US
Contact:

Re: Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Post by kt-va » Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:43 am

For me, it's when I play a youtube video while dorico is open. It doesn't always happen. I suppose it has to to with the samplerate of the video being played.
Church Music Director/Music Producer/Arranger/Engraver
recording: windows 10 - Cubase Pro 10.5 - Wavelab 8 - RX - Ozone
EastWestQL, Kontakt, Halion, et al.
engraving: macbook pro - iOS Mojave 10.14.6 - Dorico 3.1.0.1021 (Jan 15, 2020)

Saxer
Junior Member
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Post by Saxer » Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:51 am

Happens here (on Mac) when Logic is open at the same time and it's set to 48KHz.

Peter McAleer
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed May 18, 2016 10:11 am
Contact:

Re: Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Post by Peter McAleer » Sun Mar 29, 2020 8:41 am

kt-va wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 4:43 am
For me, it's when I play a youtube video while dorico is open. It doesn't always happen. I suppose it has to to with the samplerate of the video being played.
That's interesting - I already had a feeling it was YouTube.
MacBook Pro
iMac
OS X 'Catalina'
RAM: 16 GB
https://www.mcaleermusic.com/

User avatar
RWW
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Post by RWW » Wed Apr 29, 2020 9:51 pm

It's possible that an external mic you had plugged in changed the sample rate. A less effective way to bypass that (if you want to keep using whatever it is that changed the sample rate) is to go change the coarse to -1 semitone in Halion, though this is the less preferable method!
Dorico user since 03/03/2020
Logic, FMOD, Illustrator, Studio One, Sibelius

John at Steinberg
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 4:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Playback is all of a sudden 1 semitone flate.

Post by John at Steinberg » Thu Apr 30, 2020 10:19 am

You can have Dorico run at 44100 or 48000, you may just want to check and use the same sample rate in all programs.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”