Rehearsal Marks below stave

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
steveparker
Senior Member
Posts: 1627
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Rehearsal Marks below stave

Post by steveparker » Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:41 am

I've started a new file (no xml import or anything). In the score the rehearsal marks are above the stave. But in the parts, the rehearsal marks are below the stave. I can't find any setting that has caused this?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 16965
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal Marks below stave

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:44 am

There's an option for this on the 'Bar numbers' page of Layout Options, 'Show rehearsal marks below bottom staff'.

steveparker
Senior Member
Posts: 1627
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 4:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal Marks below stave

Post by steveparker » Thu Mar 28, 2019 2:57 am

Thank you. Couldn't see it for looking..

User avatar
johnabram
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:06 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal Marks below stave

Post by johnabram » Tue Mar 31, 2020 6:18 pm

I'd like to request that this option be included in the Rehearsal Marks page. Why would it be in Bar Numbers?
Dorico 3.5, Logic Pro X, Reaper 4, Sibelius 7.1.3, Finale 2010
late 2009 iMac i7 2.8GHz, 24G MacOS High Sierra
mid 2012 MacBook Pro i5 2.5GHz,16G MacOS High Sierra

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4982
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal Marks below stave

Post by dankreider » Tue Mar 31, 2020 8:02 pm

johnabram wrote:
Tue Mar 31, 2020 6:18 pm
I'd like to request that this option be included in the Rehearsal Marks page. Why would it be in Bar Numbers?
Because it is usually layout-specific, not project-wide, so it needs to be in Layout Options. And there’s no submenu in Layout Options for rehearsal marks at present. I assume that’s why.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico 3, Windows 10

User avatar
johnabram
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:06 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal Marks below stave

Post by johnabram » Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:43 pm

dankreider wrote:
Tue Mar 31, 2020 8:02 pm
Because it is usually layout-specific, not project-wide, so it needs to be in Layout Options. And there’s no submenu in Layout Options for rehearsal marks at present. I assume that’s why.
This doesn't make sense to me. Rehearsal Marks are System Objects, why aren't options for them in the System Objects submenu?
At present, I don't know how to have RMs only at top and bottom, but show tempo marks above the string section…
Dorico 3.5, Logic Pro X, Reaper 4, Sibelius 7.1.3, Finale 2010
late 2009 iMac i7 2.8GHz, 24G MacOS High Sierra
mid 2012 MacBook Pro i5 2.5GHz,16G MacOS High Sierra

User avatar
dankreider
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4982
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2018 3:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal Marks below stave

Post by dankreider » Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:51 pm

johnabram wrote:
Tue Mar 31, 2020 10:43 pm
dankreider wrote:
Tue Mar 31, 2020 8:02 pm
Because it is usually layout-specific, not project-wide, so it needs to be in Layout Options. And there’s no submenu in Layout Options for rehearsal marks at present. I assume that’s why.
This doesn't make sense to me. Rehearsal Marks are System Objects, why aren't options for them in the System Objects submenu?
At present, I don't know how to have RMs only at top and bottom, but show tempo marks above the string section…
At present, there's no way to differentiate between the locations of different categories of system objects.

As an aside, I'm not defending the reasoning, merely pointing out why some options are Engraving Options and others are Layout Options. I don't disagree that more control over rehearsal marks on a per-layout basis would be nice.
Dan Kreider
hymnworks.com
Dorico 3, Windows 10

User avatar
johnabram
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2020 6:06 pm
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Rehearsal Marks below stave

Post by johnabram » Tue Mar 31, 2020 11:17 pm

Thanks, Dan. Hopefully all these minor challenges will disappear in future versions of Dorico.
Dorico 3.5, Logic Pro X, Reaper 4, Sibelius 7.1.3, Finale 2010
late 2009 iMac i7 2.8GHz, 24G MacOS High Sierra
mid 2012 MacBook Pro i5 2.5GHz,16G MacOS High Sierra

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”